My Firsts: Dish, Crush, Love, and Hobby

25 37
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

I have seen a new prompt again and after reading some especially @BreadChamp 's, I decided to try it as well. So I picked the questions here: Tag questions.

So, let’s go into the questions immediately!

Tell me about your first cooking experience

Before getting married, I am not into cooking, I felt like it was a complicated thing and so as much as possible, I would shy away from the kitchen. But really, the root cause was because when I was in high school, my mother was angry at us one weekend, I am the type of child who would become nervous when my parents are mad so when mama told me to cook escabeche since we have leftover fried fish, I went ahead to the kitchen, there was no YouTube yet at that time so I was out of idea what to do. I used to fry fish, yes, fry eggs, and so on. In short, I only know how to fry so this escabeche was the very first thing that I will be cooking.

And so I went and turned on the stove, put the pan with oil, I had to prepare the onions and garlic so the pan was already very hot. I was only basing whatever I was trying to do on my memory as I try to remember how my father cooks when he is in the kitchen.

By the way, my mother didn’t teach us how to cook too, she was well is not a kitchen person, maybe a foodie but not someone who will cook.

And so the horror came when I put the sliced garlic and onions, they burn right away! As in totally black! I could hear my mother shouting at the back as she could smell the burnt fragrance.

So my first cooking experience was a failure.

But today, after getting married and having my own family, I have learned that cooking is not that complicated. In fact, most of the recipes start with stir-frying the garlic and onions, and then the process goes on. I can cook many dishes today!

I surely feel accomplished and happy when my family appreciates what I cook for them.

Tell me about your first crush

As early as grade school, I already have a crush, I guess it all started in grade two, Woah! That’s too early I guess but that’s how I felt and that liking had been there until grade six! But I never told anyone about it because he’s a classmate and he likes someone else, ouch!

So as I have said, we were classmates, he is a son of a town councilor so his family is a bit well known and since we were classmates, I get to see him every day.

He became an inspiration though, I’d love to go to school early so we can play together, sweep the floor together too as we were group mates.

In grade five, he was one of the bullies who ran after me on a bicycle. I hated him for that but I still smile when I get to see him at school.

Until today, I guess it’s just my husband who knows that I had a crush on that person. The funny thing was that when I got positive with COVID, that grade school crush messaged me because he works with the contact tracing team. My husband was teasing me about it. He has a family of his own now.

Tell us about your first love

As for the first love, this happened in high school. I have this friend who is a year older than me and is also top of his class. He is the president of the science club, he was also part of the student government and he is very bright that he is usually being sent to school competitions and such.

He wasn’t that very attractive, physically but his intellect and school records got me attracted to him. I was part of the student government too and secretary of the science club that we usually see each other at meetings and many other activities. 

When I was in my third year and he was a senior, he courted me and we became very close. I fell in love with him. It was the best year of my high school life. He was also crazy in love as his test papers contain my name and our teachers would tease us but then our principal intervened for reason that they said we were so close to each other we might do something bad. They sent us to the principal’s office and advised us that we should split up! It was funny and I can’t believe the school could do that. We didn’t split though only when he went to college and I was left in our little town. He was in the city and during those times, mobile phones were still very expensive, he couldn’t afford one. I thought he had forgotten about me. He had never visited me anymore and so on, I had sent him a message via a friend that I needed a break.

I thought he’d come back to my life but he didn’t and so my first love ended like that. It was my bad-breaking up without even knowing what he was up to back in the city.

Today, we are friends, we live in the same neighborhood in Cebu City. And funny thing is that his wife and I have the same name.

What is the first hobby that you adopt?

I had many hobbies but what I could remember is that since elementary days, I have always loved taking photos. I remember my parents got me a point-and-shoot camera and I would take photos of everyone in our class, go out to the field to take photos, I even took pictures of my brother sleeping inside a mosquito net!

When I was in high school, I was known for someone who would bring a camera around every single time there was an event at school. I had many many photo albums at home.

In college, when printing on paper was introduced to me, I went on printing those pictures I took using the first digital camera I got after receiving our DOST stipend. 

I spent a lot on developing films back then, and I still spent a lot printing our photos on paper in college and then keeping them in a scrapbook.

When I started working, I bought my first DSLR or it was actually given to me as a gift but that was the first DSLR and then it had progressed and until today, I still take photos, document every single event of my life. I was even able to influence my husband and he too is very much into photography and filming.


I didn't know that I have been typing and now this has become very lengthy. I will make a separate article for the other questions instead. Thanks for reading!


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

10
$ 6.51
$ 6.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 4
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Kaya pala gaganda ng mga kuha mo sis😍 yun pala unang nagpatibok sa puso mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe yes sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bonggaha sa first love sis oy. Pero ka try pod ko ana nga ning intervene ang school sa ahong pag uyab2. Kuyawa no? Ahong uyab gipa bilin sa amo maestra tinga sija abi nija wa sija kamao sa klase nila. Diay to gisultihan nga di kuno mi mag dikit2 kay naay dghang lower grades makakita manundog daww 🤣 samoka

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a no? Ahong u

hehe in ana sad amoa.. lols...every lunch break raman sad mi mag uban .. OA kau sila hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang kayo nung first love mo ate Jean. Feeling ko di ka nya talaga nakalimutan noon. Hays, nanghihinayang akoooo huhu. Dami tuloy What if's sa isip ko hahahhaah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ng akoooo huhu. Dami tuloy Wh

hahaha uu dami din what ifs sa akin..tagal ko din di naka move on dun sa ginawa ko... mga 3 years.. hanggang college ako iniisip ko pa din siya..lols

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This made me remember my experience in kitchen several years ago ate hahaha. Nag try akong mag prito nun, tanghaling tapat hahah. Tas habang pinapainit ko yung mantika sa kawali, nanuod ako ng cartoon and nakalimutan kong may ginagawa pala ako hahaha. Pgbalik ko, ang lakas na nang apoy. Buti nlang hindi umabot sa bobobg namin. Grabe yung sermon sa akin bg tiyhain ko hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hala.. grabe haha nakakawala talaga ng focus yung cartoon hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang funny ng parents minsan. Uutusan ka tas pagagalitan naman lol!

Cute nung pareho kayo ng name nung asawa ni ex. Reminder sa yo? hehe

Kaya pala galing mag pix e dami na experience :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ganun talaga si mama ko..haha malakas pa ang boses...

Diba? Para siguro maalala nya ako haha charot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a first timer it always imperfect hehe. Marami na dn akong na fail sa pagluluto hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din even until now may mga fail pa din hehe pero di na ako ganun ka takot magluto compared before

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ang cute nung sa perslab same name oh yes may maaarticle na ako ngayon hahaha save!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis..laking tulong talaga ng prompts.. di ko nga namalayan 1k words na pala eto hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda ng hobby mo sis. I somehow lost that na although masaya sana gawin ngayon hehe. And it's nice that you find cooking not so complicated. It is one I am still challenged with, lalo yung mga ulam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe i mean compared to before sis .. pero may mga recipes pa din na mahirap lalo na kung walang available ingredients sa kusina...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha zero din ako sa cooking pero hindi umabot sa nasunog ang ang bawang hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha good for you dear...hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan talaga pag hindi pa masyado marunong sa cooking ma'am. Nasusunog mga garlic, onions at iba pa pero sa bandang huli matuto rin tayo. Ganyan din ako ma'am jean noon. Hehe tas kabado pa ako magluto baka magkamali. 😅 Yes ma'am, na feel ko talaga na ang hilig niyo mag take ng mga pictures. Ang ganda nga po ng mga photography niyo po.🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May entry kanaba sa prompt na to?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pa ma'am jean. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

gawa ka na sis..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis.. it's a hobby that I still love to do until today

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ma'am jean. Ang gaganda po ng mga pictures niyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

maraming salamat sis...

$ 0.00
2 years ago