Mañanita on my Birthday

10 125
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty

The husband and I had intended on checking in at a resort in Panglao for my birthday but when I had a low-grade fever and some mild cough a day before the 31st, I knew that was a sign for us not to pursue the trip. I also pondered about the family, what will they think if we tell them we are going somewhere without them? This is one of the challenges in living together with the parents and very close to the rest of the family, it’s just hard to go out with just the husband and baby, there’s a pang of guilt somehow and we can’t deny it.

So, we decided to just remain at home. I had no plans of preparing food or whatever, I was just too tired because of the headache I was having, the clogged nose, and the developing cough was just slowing me down. My husband, on the other hand, is also someone who doesn’t want to be bothered with so many things like cooking or preparing for a birthday so he was also just going with the flow, if I say this, he will do but if I have no commands, he will also just sit there. He already told me to communicate if there’s anything I needed and not just assume. He is not someone who could read minds anyway.

And that’s how we ended the 30th, welcoming 31st, my birthday without anything in mind. I just want to rest really. I was in bed at an early hour on the night before the 31st. I took my medicines, paracetamol, some herbal juice for the cough, vitamin C for boosting the immune system, and my mother gave me another turmeric drink which was soothing in the throat. I slept well.

By five in the morning, I was awakened by the sound of the guitar strums and some individuals’ voices singing outside our house. At that, I got out of bed and checked that they were our church friends, one of the pastors and his wife together with the young people. I was so shocked and stunned about this, it was my first time!

I have heard of Mañanita before, it was used to be a tradition in our local church for members who celebrate their birthdays. Unfortunately, it stopped when a certain member who usually keeps a record of birthdays had to move to another location. But now that they had come back, the tradition is awakened once again and they drew first blood on my birthday!

Mañanita means little morning and it’s not just a tradition in the Philippines, there are other countries which has the same tradition, perhaps we got it from the Hispanic influence.

As the singing group came into the house, all I could think of is the old harana tradition too. I believe this was how every single lady felt when they receive a suitor singing with his guitar outside their house, looking down at him from the window and just appreciating his voice and the sound of his guitar. It’s a nice feeling, I can’t stop myself from smiling. 

I welcomed every single one of them, these were the young people at church, they had to wake up very early to get here, considering their house locations, I bet they had to get up very early.

As we settled down, they sang one more song. I can’t anymore remember the songs being sung. I was just overwhelmed and I can’t even close my mouth from the smiling, thankfully, I was wearing a mask, I had to because I had colds and cough.

Then came the part where Pastor Pedot shared a verse in Psalms. To which the next one was the wishes to the celebrant. Every single one of them gave their messages which I appreciated a lot, especially those coming from the young people and the family. Also, one of the greetings and wishes which strike the most was from this young man who is being used by God now as a pastor at a church. His prayer for me was that I may continue to be used for God’s glory, that my quiet and prayer time with God will be strengthened this year, and that I become a blessing for others as well.

After all the greetings, it was time for me to also talk, a response to all the greetings. It was surprising of course as I thought they were the only ones who’ll get to talk but I was able to deliver my thank you for their presence and the efforts they had done. I also appreciate my parents who were the accomplice for this to happen, they prepared food for everyone to share with after.

It was already seven in the morning when they went home. I am super grateful and my heart was indeed full for that surprise Mañanita.

Have you experienced this guys?


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

9
$ 4.26
$ 4.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @andrianlover
$ 0.05 from @keeneek
+ 3
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Belated happy birthday to your momshies, that was so nice of being heard about manyanitas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belated happy birthday momsh...mao jud ni ako gusto ma experience this year kay mag tibuok na ko hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belated happy birthday mamshieeee! I pray for more years and blessings pa sayo. 🥰❣️I bet you enjoyed your special day that's great to know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oii madamsss belated Happy Birthday 🎂🎉🎂🎉🎂.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belated happy birthday 🎉 I already experienced manyanita too. It is usually conduct by the church. It was my first time when I turn 21 years old. Super Blessed and enjoy ng ganyan hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy belated birthday sis I'm hearing the term 'Mananita' for the fast time , it seems that it gave you lots of pleasure and happiness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakasama ako once sa manyanita sis. Ang saya nga. Pero di ko pa din naman minsan na try na may nag manyanita para sa akin.. Again, happy birthday sayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I missed Mañanita too. I think I was 15 when I had one. Back then we have a youth pastor and the church is always filled with young people even on weekdays haha. Many returns of the day sis. Praying that God will give you the desires of your heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aweeee, very overwhelming siguro ang feeling ng ganyan sis noh. Siguro kung sa akin yan eh baka naiyak na ako😂.

Anyways, belated Happy birthday and get well soon sis..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Belated Happy Birthday ma'am!🎉❤️ Good health always. More years and blessings to come.🙏 Get well soon po. Sobrang hirap po magkasakit ngayon.

Mañanita I never experience once in my life that I encounter a mañanita to the celebrant. I always saw it in Facebook only since my friend have mañanita too during her mom's birthday maam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago