How’s My MacBook Air Experience?

8 100
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

The husband’s company was very generous this year to all who are loyal to them, my husband was one of those who are part of the #5yearclub.

This club is for all those who had stayed with the company for at least five years. As for my husband, in a few months from now, he’s going to celebrate his 9th anniversary, I had blogged about getting a MacBook Air instead of an iPad in this article: MacBook over iPad Mini + Accessories

Please read the article so you can check on their job listing too and maybe you might be interested in joining the company.


Ever since I learned to use a computer, I had been a Windows user. I used a Mac for the very first time only when I was working as technical support back in 2009 after graduation but that’s only a simulator. The official first time that I used one was in my current company where we have to test our software on a Mac, so we do have Mac mini and some other MacBooks with different OS versions. I got familiar with using it but not really the in-depth one, not even until today that I am already a MacBook user.

So, what are the things that I like about the MacBook?

  1. The nice keyboard

    I have to admit, when I was using my laptop, I still do have my Windows laptop here with me which is a Lenovo Legion Y520, I hate using the keyboard, well, hate is a strong word, I mean I dislike using it, I instead use my Bluetooth external keyboard from Logitech. But with the MacBook Air, I love typing on it. I noticed that I can type faster with it! Also, there are faster shortcut keys compared to Windows, while I still have to use the Fn + some F buttons on the Lenovo laptop, with the MacBook Air, I can right away press on these buttons, examples are the volume up and down as well as the mute buttons and the screen brightness too. So far, those are really helpful!

  2. I don’t need a mouse

    Unexpectedly, I don’t use a mouse with my MacBook Air! I was surprised in fact when I started using it and with the trackpad, I can easily navigate on the browser or whatever application that I am using. In fact, I already got the hang of it in just an hour of using the laptop. I found myself able to work on my blogs and browsing activities without a mouse! It was unexpected because I had been dependent on my mouse ever since. With my current Windows laptop, I am not a mousepad fan at all! Clicking on the trackpad is definitely a fun thing to do! I am enjoying it and even opening browsers in different tabs is an easy task!

  3. Lighter, more portable

    One of the things that my husband had been telling me was that with this new laptop, I can write and create blogs even in bed. While I can sure do that with my Lenovo laptop, which is a heavy laptop, it also comes with a heavy charger and thus I would only just leave it on my table, I have never tried putting it on my lap while in bed and typing there, I find it a big one because the Lenovo Legion Y520 is supposed to be a gaming laptop. We bought them because we use heavy applications like Adobe Premiere, Lightroom, and Photoshop. 


    So with the new MacBook Air, due to its small size and lightweight, I can bring it with me in bed, or wherever I wanted to. When we went to Birds of Paradise on November 26, I was able to blog on the bed and publish that blog in less than an hour! We didn’t even bring out the Lenovo laptop from its bag.

So far, the only problem that I had bumped into with this is when I am using the Da Vinci Resolve application. I use this app in editing videos, it is free software and the issue usually occurs when I am already rendering the video that I had edited. At first, I get an error at a specific percentage, later on, we found out that it was due to the cable that we used with our external SSD.

The second time was just recently when I encountered some permission issues. We were not able to fix it so I ended up exporting the file on the Lenovo.

Aside from that, I had not experienced any trouble at all.

Conclusion

Someone told us that once we go to Mac, we can never go back. 

I guess it’s true, in fact, in less than a month of using this system, I am already a bit lost in using my Windows laptop. I always try to work on the mousepad like it's a trackpad. And when selecting the texts and copy and pasting, I would often use the Alt keys because that’s where the Command button is on Mac.

So far, I am loving my experience with the MacBook Air. Although I have not explored the other apps, I am mostly just using it with Chrome, Notes when writing drafts, and Da Vinci Resolve, I am fully satisfied with it. Soon, I might also dive into other apps and see how my experience would be, I wonder if I still need a mouse in the future but for now, I am all good with this setup.


xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

7
$ 10.98
$ 10.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 2
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

Very interesting article; thanks for sharing your experience with us. I've been a Mac user for some time, and I've never regretted the decision to switch to it. I'm really satisfied with the laptop, and the apps you can get from the AppStore are great. There I can find everything I need for my work tasks, and just for everyday things. And I also like that there is so much info available online, and although being a user for such a long time, I can still find something new for me. This is the article I read just yesterday https://setapp.com/how-to/how-to-post-multiple-photos-on-instagram, and there I read some info on Instagram for posting multiple photos, and also, there was info about the app called Grids. I've not tried it yet, but I'm going to. It is a functional Instagram experience for Mac that allows you to do everything on the app. I think it's something for sure worth attention.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

I've already used an HP laptop, an Asus laptop, and some time ago switched to Mac, so that I have some experience. And I can say that Mac is the best one for sure. It's a very functional laptop, I can synchronize all the files with my iPhone easily. It's light, works quietly, and I can easily take it with me everywhere. And it's true that once we go to Mac, we can never go back.

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Thanks for sharing your experience! I'm also a Mac user, and I'm so satisfied with everything

$ 0.00
8 months ago

Ang nasa wish list ko maliban sa iPhone 13 Pro Max 256GB. Hahahaha.

Months pa lang ako nakaandroid phone pero nilalamon na ako ng iPhone. 😭 kapag hinihiram ko phone nila Ate at Kuya eh nilalamon ako. Kailangan makabalik na ako sa iPhone kung hindi baka tuluyan akong kainin ng Apple. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I love your Macbook, they say that Macbook is very nice and durable as well. I hope I'll have mine soon 💖

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda talaga siguro gamitin nang macbook

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko rn yan madam. Kaso ang mahal 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Any Mac computer can outperform Windows anytime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago