20 Things to Ask a Traveler Part 2

14 41
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Previously, I answered 10 questions to ask a traveler and anything under the sun regarding travels and places. I originally planned for posting the entire Q and A in one blog post but then I didn't realize that the first ten questions were already long that it went to a whooping whopping thousand words.

Anyway, thanks to thecareerbreaksite.com for providing the questions. In fact, they posted 100 questions but I can not definitely answer all those hundred marks. You may click the link if you want to answer these questions. You can just choose from the list.

So as mentioned, this is the second part, let's get started! Here below are the next ten travel questions!

11. Which country makes the best coffee or tea?

This question is quite hard as I have not yet traveled to a lot of countries. I have been to Taiwan, Tokyo, and South Korea, and let's count UAE as well.

So far, UAE has good coffee as well as that in Mt. Kitanglad's locally brewed Arabica coffee. But note that I am not a coffee-expert person so I guess I am not a legit person to be asked about that.

Perhaps, I should start on indulging my tastebuds in the different coffee types. But for sure Taiwan has good tea too!

12. If you could only ever eat rice or potatoes, which would you pick?

I am Asian so you know already my choice and that's obviously rice! Absolutely rice! A hundred percent rice! But I am not closing my doors to potatoes because I love french fries and mashed potatoes too!

13. Who would win in a fight: a polar bear with a rifle, or a shark with a laser gun?

All right, this is some funny question and I am having fun reading these questions one by one and thinking of the answer. Of course, I don't have to be very serious about it but I still use my brain in choosing these options.

For me, it would be the polar bear with a rifle! One, a polar bear has hands that it can use to pull that trigger while a shark even if it has a laser gun can't push that fire button or whatever that would be.

14. Which country has the friendliest people?

I can't think of any other country but my own, the Philippines! Well, this is not because I am a Filipino but because most of the foreigners who would visit the country can attest to that. It is really amazing to know that other citizens would consider my fellow Filipinos the friendliest and most hospitable people in the entire world!

15. Who is the most interesting person you've met so far?

This had me thinking of such a person whom we met during travel who is very interesting and perhaps would be our tour guide and driver during the trip to Lake Sebu in South Cotabato. Our driver was a local T'boli and was also the head of the Lake Sebu "habal-habal" drivers.

During the trip, he provided me with so much information about their tribe and how their tribe name was even made up as well as the lakes' names because they don't really have any specific name before until some foreigners or those who were not from South Cotabato itself would start calling them as the "taga-bili" then it became T'boli.

16. What's been your scariest moment?

I could think of two instances that scared me the most. First and the top was when James and I traveled from Sagada going back to Manila. I ate a lot of Lemon Pie and although I have a strong stomach, it ruined my trip because I had a very very bad stomachache and LBM.

Imagine traveling 12 hours with a very grumpy tummy and that I wasn't able to sleep properly during the trip plus I always look forward to the next stopover so I can go to the comfort room.

The good thing though was that the trip came to an end and I successfully held my exit well but I was very scared the entire travel that I would cause trouble inside the bus!

The second would be when we were in Mindanao, specifically in Tandag and our flight was canceled because of the weather. So what I was scared about at that time was that I was together with my friends and my brother. So we were six people and my friends have to be in Bohol the next day for their sister's birthday.

Good thing that I was just calm about calling the airline and getting a new ticket from Butuan to Cebu. After that event, I always get a little scared of group trips.

17. Toilets: squat or Western?

To set the records straight, I do Western 99% of the time but squat whenever I feel like the toilet is not clean enough for me to sit on. In fact, I always try to bring lots of tissues when traveling so I can spare a few flaps for the bowl, yes I clean it first before sitting on it.

Although I read somewhere that squat is better when pooing because of the way our intestines and the anus are aligned when seated in that way, lols, I am a little embarrassed now stating that.

18. What was your most embarrassing moment?

I don't think I have anything so embarrassing but there was one time when James and I were in Baguio and I was lining for the washroom and this cleaner just told me the funniest and a little embarrassing if others had heard it but since it was just me and her who heard it, it was not that embarrassing.

I asked her if I can use this certain cubicle. And she answered:

"Oo pwede jan sa mga buntis."

"Yes, you can use that for pregnant women."

She was referring to a special cubicle for pregnant and oldies! I was laughing inside but I used it to my advantage so I can pee right away. I told James afterward about it and he was laughing really hard and was bullying me about my huge tummy. That was perhaps the reason why the cleaner told me I was pregnant.

19. How many foreign words have you learned so far?

Of course, this is very applicable to those who had traveled internationally but I also learned a few words which I use a lot of times because I have friends who are also using them on a daily basis over Skype or even in person.

Kamsahamnida!

Arigato gozaimasu

De Nada

Gracias

As-salaam 'alaykum

Chotto Matte Kudasai

20. How many different currencies are you carrying?

I do keep some foreign currencies but I don't keep them in my pocket instead, they are just left at home. So, to answer this, I only bring one currency which is the Philippine Peso since we only had domestic travel. My husband keeps a dollar and a Swedish bill in his wallet though.

When we traveled to different countries, it is better to bring dollars, exchange a few at the Mactan Airport and look for a money exchanger in the foreign country instead of the dollars. It is much better than bringing the Philippine pesos. Someone told me that.

Thanks for reading! Check out my previous articles here:

xoxo,

momentswithmatti

Mother | Boholana | Cebu | Philippines | Travel | Photography Enthusiast | Calligraphy | Art | Crypto Noob

Noise | Hive | Steemit | YouTube IG Twitter

9
$ 3.42
$ 3.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Pichi28
$ 0.01 from @yoieuqudniram
+ 2
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
1 year ago

Comments

Now I want to book a flight.... Lols.... Soon.

Ack that 12-hour bad tummy ride! Huhuhu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i won't forget that sis hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakangawit magsquat parang mapapagod ka na lang while taking number 2 eh. Pero ako din depende if clean or hindi ang toilet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes momsh..hehehe isa sa mga factors talaga ang toilet sa travel... need iconsider mabuti

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Friendliest people indeed! Also the smiley Asians. People always can recognise a Filipino as we smile a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

that's true... sweet and genuine smiles

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had fun reading your experiences sis. It's always nice to make a lot of memories.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it is sis.. i don't regret a single one of our travel experiences

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yun talaga nag katakot kapag nag LBM habang nag babyahe sis. tapos di mo pa maeenjoy yung byahe aksi nag aanxiety kana kapag kumukulo ang tyan mo at kapag bumoy yung road. tapos malamig pa dahils a aircon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nag aanxiety kana kapag kumukulo ang tyan mo at kapag bumoy yung road. tapos malamig pa dahils a air

grabe mao to akong nightmare jd... taas pa jd kaau ang byahe ato

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ma'am ang dami niyo ng napuntahan. Yung Tokyo tyaka UAE gusto ko puntahan. Magandang lugar yan. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

gusto ko din balikan ang UAE sis kasi nagpunta ako dun konti lang pics ko kasi work ung priority ko at that time

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Balik ka dun ma'am jean at sulitin mo na talaga ma'am.🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

soon sis.. hhehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago