Why Did I Chose A Federal University?

7 35
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago

I keep asking myself this question. What made me make such a grave mistake? What was I thinking? I do not know the answers to these questions but I'm sure I will soon find out. I am probably going to rant in this article because I am boiling right now. I am like a volcano about to erupt. I am really angry at the moment. Let me explain why.

I woke up this morning to the news that the Non Academic Staff Union of University (NASUU) has gone on a strike. It isn't all over the nation but only in my University chapter of the union. They didn't say for how long it is going to be but anytime they strike it isn't for a short period of time. They decided to strike the same time ASUU is on strike coincidence? I think not.

Everyone knows that anytime they embark on a strike they make sure everyone knows. They disrupt any movement or activities going on in the campus whether it relates to them or not. They make sure their presence is felt and their absence from their workplace also felt. Nobody regardless of who you are will know peace until there demands are met. It is always a total, complete and comprehensive strike.

That was why I was concerned when I heard about it. ASUU going on strike is not a good thing but NASUU also doing likewise is worse. The University will be in a total lockdown. What then is left for the average student if not to go back home to their family. There are no lectures and no staffs to make sure there are. It is a terrible situation.

What do they want exactly? More money as always. Not like they are not paying their salary but they want more bonuses, allowances and incentives even though they have more than enough already. All of them are just looking for their own selfish interest not caring about the betterment of Tertiary education in the country.

So this is what got me angry. The industrial action of both unions. Of all the time they decided to go on a strike they just had to do it the same time, totally grounding academic activities on campus. I have already spent 4 months at home because of ASUU strike and God knows how many more I will spend now. Everything is just going in the wrong direction. What will happen to my academics? What will happen to my life? What am I supposed to be doing?

There are many questions that I am asking but with no answers. I am really angry at the government and the union. Why can't they resolve their difference for once and for all. The reason why an industrial action was declared was because the government hadn't honoured an agreement that was made back in 2009. That's over 12 years. The issue keeps getting dragged and I am starting to get angry.

The fact that this issue hasn't been resolved is what I can't wrap my head around. This is why strikes have been declared over and over again. Just two years ago, a whole year was spent on strike. So much time was wasted that a whole year was 'struck off' so as to fix the academic calendar.

It's at times like this I wonder why I chose to go to a federal university. It is not worth it. It might have a lot of history and very cheap school fees but the amount of time wasted due to strikes just isn't worth it. I think it is better to go to a private university where you will finish at the due date and continue with your life. The only downside which I think is starting to look better is the high tution fees.

In the end it is all about chosing between two devil's. One with low tution fees but lots of strikes to one with high tution fees but no strike. I just think it is better to go to private universities. Pubic universities aren't just worth it again.

Sponsors of Mofif
empty
empty
empty

6
$ 1.01
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @George_Dee
$ 0.03 from @youngdim12
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hello. The service combines efficiency with reliability, delivering top-notch solutions within tight deadlines. The ease of communication with the programmers ensures that my specific requirements are met, and the code is not just functional but also adheres to best practices. I tecommend this service https://programmingdoer.com/do-my-c-homework The attention to detail in debugging and optimization has saved me countless hours of frustration.

$ 0.00
4 months ago

Bro, I really can't say how I also made such a mistake and I don't have answers yet too

We here for ever

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can totally relate the frustration, the delay. So annoying. God will help us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amen but it's getting really tiresome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I understand your situation and I wouldn't want you to beat yourself too much about it because Nigeria's education system is crippled.

We can only hope that things get better.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's not worth it at all. My friend who gained admission in 2018 is supposed to graduate this year. But no. Due to covid19 and strikes, she may graduate next year or 2024. May God deliver us in Nigeria 🙏.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Both parties, the striking lecturers and the government are to be blamed, i had to spents more than 5 years in school before i could graduate from a four years course . those people are fighting for their stomach infrasructure not for any betterment of student's academic excellence . considering the continual striking in federal university, it is better to go for desirable option.

$ 0.01
2 years ago