We Need Nicer Healthcare Workers

2 16
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Healthcare

I think the title is pretty direct and will define how this article goes on. I decided to make it really direct and straightforward because it is a matter of urgency if we want to help lives.

I decided to write on it because everyday it is becoming increasingly concerning and also disheartening. I went to a clinic recently and the way they treated people was sad. So I said that I will write on it so that people will be aware of what is going on in our health institutions.

The whole world is going through a ravaging pandemic and that has strained our already weak health care system. Doctors and nurses are going through a lot more than ever before. The veracity of the pandemic might have reduced overtime but that doesn't mean it isn't causing problems. Even in 2022 numerous countries particularly the United States of America are still battling with the virus. Doctors, nurses and even scientist are working harder than ever before. I am saying all of this because I appreciate their efforts and I am not taking anything away from them.

They have really tried by treating numerous sick patients and risking their lives in the process. Some even contracted the virus while treating others. Unfortunately some lost their lives while helping people. This is one of the many sacrifices they make daily for humanity. Like they always say medicine is not to take life, it is to save it.

Even before the pandemic, doctors and other health professionals have been awesome. They have been breaking frontiers in numerous fields such as cancer and sickle cell treatment. In short, I wonder where the world will be without them.

Most of them have been nice towards patients and kind and compassionate. Helping people beyond administering physical treatment but others have been the opposite. There are some of them that aren't kind or nice or compassionate they just do it for what they can get not for impacting and changing lives. This is what is really bothering me.

They are one of the many problems with the health care system. They are one of the major reasons that people detest going to the hospital. They literally make life difficult for people. Let me tell you an experience.

In my school, we have a campus clinic where students and lecturers go to whenever they do not feel well. It was established so that people can easily get treatment there instead of going to a general hospital and they also provide services there at a discounted rate.

So that is where most students go to whenever they are sick but the service there is extremely poor. The nurses there are nothing short of wicked and the doctors are extremely lazy and nonchalant. It is not like they do not pay them their salary or they are working under terrible conditions, they just have a poor attitude to work.

Numerous students have gone there and have complained about them but till today nothing has been done about it. Because of this most students if not all have resorted to self medication and go to the nearest chemist to procure drugs. This is dangerous especially for our youths because if they begin like this it wouldn't take long before it results into drug addiction.

I personally have gone there when I was ill and I regretted it. I waited for hours under the heat of the sun outside with no canopy covering my head for the doctor to attend to me. Funnily enough, the doctor wasn't even around and the nurses came up with a shameless excuse that most of their doctors had run away. Why wouldn't they?

I had to wait outside because of the Covid restrictions which I taught was nonsense because no one in the school had tested positive for the virus in months. In short, I wasted my time there and I wasn't attended to at all. I had to resort to self medication because I had no other choice.

The workers there were not even sympathetic to our conditions. I wonder how they would have felt if that was their children or family. A bunch of heartless people. I am just saying that a lot of people in the health care system need to change their attitude to work and people. They need to improve on their social skills. It is not enough to have the knowledge, your approach on how to solve the problem matters.

Sponsors of Mofif
empty
empty
empty

We still have a long way to go and I hope this pandemic has taught us that. We need each other in other to grow and thrive and everyone should have the right attitude.

Those are just my two cents and I hope you were able to understand where I was coming from. I just needed to talk about it.

Till next time.

5
$ 0.20
$ 0.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Tomi-Ajax
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Healthcare

Comments

It's actually really annoying in healthcare centers set up in universities. Their bad attitude to sick patient is alarming. I've never gone there before, cause my friends and people who had gone there, testified that the place is nothing to write home about.

And the saddest thing is the fact that nothing is changed despite the complaints

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think the stereotype of health workers as not being nice is over flogged and becoming stale. Not every health worker is unkind or rude. The behavior of a few should not be used in judging or characterizing the whole most especially when it involves a very large group of people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago