Stressful Registration

5 29
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: School

Hey guys. I trust that you are fine and doing well. I also hope that you're okay. My day has really been busy and I have been all over the place. I had to go to school today to sort out some issues particularly my hostel accommodation.

For those of us that school in federal universities we know how stressful it is to do any kind of registration. Federal and infact public universities are known for frustrating and stressing students out in any imaginable way. Whether it is in paying school fees, course registration, departmental and faculty registration they will always make it unnecessarily difficult.

This happens mostly due to negligence on their part. Not to sound harsh or generalize, most if them are lazy and nonchalant towards work. They do this because there is no system to check their excesses. Most of them do as they like and do not care after all there is no one to stop or question them.

Another reason is that they workload is too much for them. This happened as a result of them being understaffed. There might just be two or three people employed for a job that requires at least six people. As a result of this, they will be stressed out and inevitably burn out. They might even get tired and share some of the workload with the students. This is what happens most of the time especially in my school. The work will be too much for them and they have to give some of it to the students for there to be progress. This is what exactly happened today.

I went for my hostel registration because fortunately I was given a room. Thank God for connecting. The room allocation list was released at the end of last week and I had to pay immediately because payment for accommodation was closing the following week. Also I wanted to get the registration done with so that my room wouldn't be given to another person because of late registration. I needed to do this before I can be given a room.

It was a very sunny day as it has been through out this month. I left the house around 10am and headed for school. Before I went to my Hall of residence I need to make some photocopies and get certain required documents ready. I got to my hostel few minutes pass 11am and surprisingly a lot of people were not there.

I asked the people in charge what I needed to do to start the registration process and they said I should look for my file. I looked to my left and saw a mountain of files on the ground. I had to look through them one by one. After checking almost all of them and I couldn't find mine, I told the porter and she said that I should go inside the office and check another set of files. Luckily after searching for close to 10 minutes I finally found my file. I proceeded to the secretary office and got my room number. Thereafter I had to look for my accommodation booking form and in less than three minutes I found it.

I sat down and waited for close to 40 min before I was finally attended to by the Porters. From there on out it was a smooth process. He checked my documents to make sure that they were intact. He took my passport photographs. I filled out some forms and documents and I was finally through. I was given my room key and told to check the room out.

It was okay and everything seemed to be in good condition. I reported back to him and told him that everything was okay. I was then free to go and finally through with my registration which took me almost the same amount of time as a football match.

This is just to tell you about the stress involved in federal universities and the things students and workers alike go through. I can tell from the facial expressions of the Porters that they were physically and mentally tired. It is definitely not easy and the government needs to do something about improving their working conditions.

Sponsors of Mofif
empty
empty
empty

My sponsors. Please do well to go check them out.

That's the summary of my stressful day and I hope it wouldn't be a reoccurring one. I am definitely not built for that kind of stress.

Till next time.

9
$ 6.89
$ 6.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: School

Comments

In situations like that, it is good to cut the staff some slack and have patience too. Glad you had your hostel secured :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything in the Nigeria higher institutions is a hassle and hustle. I understand boh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The stress you people go through every day in school is too much, now I see the reason the graduating students shout for joy after leaving the school cause it's not easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow... you were given a room, I'm happy for you.

I was also given but I hope my registration won't be too stressful.

Were you given the key to the room?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The good thing about your day was that you finally got your room. Sometimes we have a hard time getting things and we go through a lot of obstacles. Thank God you got your final reward. Good luck with your room.

$ 0.00
2 years ago