Easter

9 36
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Easter, Christian

It is that time of the year again where Christians all over the world celebrate Easter. For those of us that don't know what Easter is all about, it's about celebrating the death, burial and resurrection of Jesus Christ. It is celebrated in all churches regardless of the denomination. It is the biggest christian celebration after Christmas.

As I said earlier it is all about celebrating what Jesus did for all of us believers and unbelievers. He gave himself up for our sake and because of that we are grateful. Now I am not going to go into a sermon today (at least for now). I am just going to talk about the different traditions and ways in which Easter is celebrated around the world.

Well here in Nigeria it is all about the food. Infact in any celebration it is all about the food. You have the Jollof rice, fried chicken, turkey, beef and plantain (dodo). Then salad and a cold bottle of your desired beverage. The perfect combination. You might even have desert in the form of cake, ice cream and cookies. It's all about self indulgence. You wine and dine till you can't no more. It's all about the food baby.

Also most churches celebrate Easter in one unique way. Some might decide to host a special Easter thanksgiving like what was done in my church today. Today's service was longer than usual because of this. Some might also decided to organize a Easter feast where members of the church come under one roof and eat together. Lastly on this day the pastor delivers a special sermon preaching about the reason for the season. The reason why we are all celebrating Easter so that we do not forget thereby trivializing it.

Also certain churches might decide to organize a Easter camp or retreat. Most churches do this especially for their youths or teenagers. Like, I think I was the only one among my friends who didn't go for camp. Not because I didn't have one to go to but because I decided not to. I had my reasons and I think they were enough.

Easter is also about Easter eggs. We don't observe this tradition in Nigeria so I don't really know much about it. All I know is from the little I watch in Hollywood movies. I think it has to do with gathering colored eggs and a rabbit is involved in someway. I do not know the history behind this and I will probably go and read up on it but it seems fun with the way it is portrayed on TV.

Little children gather a certain number of eggs with a particular color and the first person to gather all the eggs win. The eggs are scattered all over an open field or any place in particular and are hidden in places that you can't expect it to be. I think it is a very fun game and it tests a person ability to take note of certain changes in the environment and how observant a person is. I would really love to play this game but I'm a little bit too old for it.

Sponsors of Mofif
empty
empty
empty

During this Easter period we should take time to reflect and understand the reason for the season.

To all my Christian subscribers Happy Easter.

9
$ 1.61
$ 1.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
+ 3
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Easter, Christian

Comments

Happy Easter Bro, hope you enjoyed yourself?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I did thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Easter friend though I’m not a Christian but this article is good even educationally.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just made me remember Easter Retreat for youths. I attended twice when I was at home church and I must admit that those Easter celebration were top-notch. Happy Easter my brother

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You went to camp too woah! I guess I wasn't the only one πŸ˜… Happy Easter too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwwwwn, Happy Easter to you my dear friend, thanks for educating us about Easter's celebration. You talked about eating food during Easter and you didn't invite us to come and merry with you.πŸ₯Ί Not fair πŸ₯ΊπŸ˜­

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ don't worry next time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aah, no ooh, tomorrow is Easter Monday, don't worry I can forgive you for today's own and come tomorrow to eat πŸ€²πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ no problem I will text you my address and we will feast from the Word of God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago