Adulthood is a Scam

12 39
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Adulthood

I am sure you're thinking that I'm pained right now and you're definitely right. The title looks like what a pained person would write and that's true. Not to mince words I was deceived or I let myself to be deceived. Adulthood is not easy at all and it takes a lot to pass through this stage of life. In today's article I will be talking about some of the difficulties of being an adult and how we were all scammed.

Adulthood is not easy at all and to all the adults out there keep on pushing all your hard work will pay off one day. The hustle as they say is real. Being an adult is one of the most difficult things in the world. The responsibilities are so enormous not forgetting the financial ones.

From the moment a child is born and is growing they as aspire to be a fully grown adult one day. When growing up they see the adults around them as big strong people who can face anything in the world. If only they knew the truth.

I personally when growing up couldn't wait to clock 18 and be regarded as an adult even though that isn't how things work in a Nigerian home, you still have to grow older a pass through some certain things before you are regarded as such. I dreamt of ways I will use my freedom to go anywhere, do anything I want without a single soul questioning me. I thought it was heaven on earth. How wrong was I.

I didn't know what it means to be an adult. What it entails and what you have to grow through. The responsibilities, pain, suffering and bills. It takes a lot for somebody or even anybody to grow through this. So I was wrong all along, I only saw the good part and not the whole picture. I let myself to be deceived. Being an adult is a lot more than what I thought.

This doesn't mean that there aren't the good sides of it. There is the feeling of joy, happiness, fulfilment and love that come with the experience. It is not all doom and gloom. There are happy moments that will be encountered such as falling in love, marriage, child birth, getting a good job and achieving a lifetime goal. It is just a combination of both, the good, bad and ugly. There will be ups and downs but in all enjoy the experience because that is just life.

I think I may have deviated from the title of the article a bit so let me get back on track.

The reason why I said being an adult is a scam is because I wasn't ready for the things that come with it particularly the bills. So it is my bad and my problem to deal with. I was not prepared at all. What even got me talking about it was the amount of money I had spent by just going out in the space of two days. I hadn't budgeted for it at all and I was already running low on cash.

I had spent a reasonable amount of money on transportation and food and it was from there I realized that eating outside is very expensive. Even just going outside your house is expensive. It is like the world wants to take the little money you have outside. Even the money I spend on mobile data is already choking me maybe I should stay offline for a month. Just joking but seriously I don't think I can take it anymore. I have spent way too much money for someone who's only source of income is asking his father for money and when I don't get it I will be in a financial quagmire.

In short you start to feel the effect of your spending when you have a limited amount of it for a specific time.

Also the stress is out of this world. At this stage of your life if you want to get something done you have to do it yourself, you can not be relying on your parents for everything. You have to grow up and do your things yourself. Nobody is going to help you. You face the consequence of your decisions whether good or bad and I think this is where most youths and teenagers get it wrong. The decisions you make right now actually affect your future.

Sponsors of Mofif
empty
empty
empty

I just got a new sponsor and I would like for you guys to check his page out. As usual, I appreciate your continual support and encouragement. Thank you.

In summary, adult hood na scam. To me the disadvantages outweigh the advantages particularly in my country where everything is out to get you. Things are not easy financially and that's what makes it extra difficult. Everything is difficult but we just have to keep hustling to stay alive. No one is going to help you. You're On Your Own (OYO).

I am not trying to paint a gloomy picture but it is just the reality.

8
$ 1.82
$ 1.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @Ling01
+ 3
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Adulthood

Comments

Adulthood is not a scam as I'd say, I feel we were not told what we're going to face ahead, sure adulthood is damn hard or so I'll say. We outside is so expensive, even staying indoor is more expensive lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So either ways it still choke πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adulting is challenging, yes, but not a scam, lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Okay then πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me adulthood is a scam, because when I was a kid I thought being adult is just easy but then it's really not haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Its not easy being an adult, so many bills to take care of, and not just that, you have to take responsibility of your action and make decision yourself and one your decision is wrong things go wrong.. This kinda relate to my recent article "YOUR DECISION, YOUR LIFE"

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are a lot of responsibilities that come with growing up, sometimes nothing accurately prepares you for the things that come your way. We do just have to find a way that works for us to push through and do what we can while also making the most out of the experiences.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right actually. Adulthood is crucial stage in life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Growing up, all we could think about was the freedom adults seems to have, we never thought about the responsibilities that comes with that freedom

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We all wanted it while staying with parents, we want to stay alone and do big things and eat as much as we want, especially big meat🀣. But adulthood is far beyond freedom and eating. It comes with a lot of battles to be won.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is only the eating of big meat I planned for πŸ˜©πŸ˜©πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Adulthood is just a stage in the growth process and the contribution of one determines the significance of one's life and not the age duration!

$ 0.01
2 years ago