A New Year, A Different Me.

3 23
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago

It's a new year for all of us, at least for most of us if you are on my side of the world. When a new year begins people experience varying emotions. Some are happy, excited, enthusiastic, sad and indifferent. People just celebrate and experience it in different ways.

In my part of the world, most people mark the new year with a cross over service. It is a church service that is done on the night of the last day of the year into the morning of the new year. So you get why they call it 'cross over' service (no pun intended). I would say majority of the people who attend this service are the ones that haven't been going to church the entire year and as such try and use this to bribe or should I say deceive God. They go to church with a long list of prayers (or demands) telling God what they want for the new year as if he is a fairy of genie with three wishes.

It doesn't work like that and no man can deceive God. Nonetheless most Christians go to church and dedicate the new year to God. They pray for themselves and their families. They prefer to spend the last night of the year in the presence of God than their home. That's their preference and no one should judge them for that, let everyone spend the last day of the year as they wish.

A few number of people also have some sort of 'ritual' that they do at this time of the year. You could say that they are superstitious. They like to do this probably because it brings blessings to them in the incoming year and it is also a way of warding away bad omens. In summary, people just have their different ways of doing things.

Personally for me, I am indifferent. It is just like any other day/night to me. I don't really see anything special in it and I don't think I have any reason too. People start the new year with new year resolutions, a new beginning, a fresh start. To me, I am just wondering why you couldn't have started on any other day. Why did you have to wait for the new year before starting.

I see it as you being lazy or procrastination at it's peak. If you want to do anything the best time to start is now, not waiting for a special moment. Don't get me wrong, I am not against new year resolutions or goals or plans. I just think that it is better to begin now than waiting because who knows, it might be too late.

I attended a cross over service and I didn't make it something big. I just told myself that it might be a new year but I need to keep going harder, bigger and stronger than ever before. Not relenting or giving up because that is for the weak or fainthearted. To survive in this world you have to be resilience. The world is not a bed of roses and you have to work hard to get what you want. I know this already that is why I am putting in extra work this year to improve myself and make me a better person.

Sponsors of Mofif
empty
empty
empty

I am saying a Happy New Year to my awesome sponsors. Thank you for the encouragements throughout out the previous year, you guys have been awesome. I look towards more collaboration between us this new year. The sky is our starting point.

Now on to new year resolutions. This is easily defined as the goals and plans people set out for the new year. They hope and wish that by the end of the year, they must have achieved them. This is not the case most of the time but we can at least appreciate them for their efforts if they make any.

For any resolution, you do not need to put any unnecessary pressure on yourself. It is not the end of the world if you do not achieve the goal you set out to. Just make sure you made an effort and that you improved on yourself within that period. It could be in terms of skills, talents or jobs. It is all about taking yourself to a higher pedestal and making yourself more valuable.

In the process you might even meet people that will change your life for the better and move you forward. There are a thousand and one things you could possibly achieve.

Also make your goals or resolutions realistic, something achievable and not extreme. You can start with something small and then walk your way up. Rome wasn't built in a day and so it is a step by step process not an overnight journey.

All in all just make sure this year is different from all other years and you are better off at the end of it.

This is just what I have to say about the new year. I want to wish everyone a Happy New Year and I pray we all grow in this year.

Till next time.

6
$ 0.53
$ 0.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 2
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

The way people handle this cross over of a thing baffles me. Just like you said, a lot of them that take it very serious are the ones that have not been attending church for the years, they'd just go and return to their normal ways.. Happy new year!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year. A new year shouldn't be something you take like a normal day because some people can't experience this year again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new year. Sir it's tradition that we together make a fun and enjoy as like on every tradition day,no anything changes just another day started from it,but people feel happy to this. Stay blessed and happy

$ 0.00
2 years ago