To continue or not?

4 44
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

Last time, I have shared with you that finally I got a contract from Upwork-My First Job in Upwork.

That actually paved the way for another contracts in Upwork. But now, I have a problem with one of my clients. In the job posting, it said that is hourly but I when I was hired, I was given a fixed amount for a number of outputs. But because I wanted to have experience in Upwork and for my portfolio, I accepted the offer even if the offer is very little for the task given. Which is actually a mistake on my side.

Now, the salary is based on the approval of the client to my output. He divided the whole project in 3 milestones. The first milestone was funded in escrow but what we have agreed in amount of payments was not followed and I was able to do the tasks given to me. I am asking him about it and he is not responding. Now I am contemplating if I will be continuing the contract or not considering the mode of payments and the tasks.

On the other hand, in terms of deadlines, he is not that strict of deadlines in submitting, the only problem is that the pay is not right for the task given which is based on contract. He is actually asking for the 2nd milestone, but he did not fund it yet in escrow so I did not submit it to him.

My fear if I end the contract is that I will have a bad review in Upwork. That is actually not good for my Upwork Career. If you were me? Will I continue this work even if underpaid? or will I end the contract instead.

For those who have experience in Upwork I really would love to know your thoughts.

1.18.2023

MizLhaine

4
$ 5.17
$ 5.00 from @ewyr
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
+ 2
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

Comments

I'd love to try that. Daming nag tatrabaho dyan. No ideas on that yet

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't have yet with Upwork, but if you can support yourself while working for the second and being underpaid is not really a financial issue to you, I guess that would create you a better portfolio.

I wish you find better clients next time. Go with your momentum.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the very nice insight you have there. I will think about it. I have another client, a good payer, but the work is just limited no.oh hours, but at least I have an extra income for the month.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess scammers are also there? They are everywhere and I hoped Upwork can lessen them too because a bad review doesn't fully mean you are a bad worker.

$ 0.00
1 year ago