Thrifty Tips in Buying Holiday Gifts

23 49
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Most of us would like to give and receive gifts in the Christmas season, in the holidays. Gifts for our family, gifts for our friends or for our special someone. We enjoy seeing happy faces of people receiving gifts and we also glad when we receive gifts from our loved ones.

It is my practice to give gifts to my aunts, nephews, niece, cousins, in-laws and other friends during holidays. It is an act of sharing to them some things that I can share. Things that I can afford. For how many years of practicing it, I learned some "tipid" - thrifty tips in buying holiday gifts and let me share it to you.

  • Making a list of the people that I wanted to give gifts.

Having a list makes me plan of what items I am going to give to that person. I can also set aside a budget for the gifts that I will be buying. I usually buy those gifts which are practical, those that I am sure that they can use it.

  • Buying Ahead of Time.

As early as October, I am starting to buy items for my gifts. Whenever I have an extra amount in my pocket I would buy. Or if ever there are good deals about the products I also buy and collect them little by little until I complete my gifts. I also avoid last day purchases because it would really give me few options and the energy of last-minute-buying is really exhausting. Learn this from OFW's, they consistently buy items for their Balikbayan Box before it will be sent to their families.

  • Taking advantage of sale or promotions.

This is relevant to buying ahead of time. Whenever, I see sale and promotions on an item, let's say in Watsons or in a grocery, I buy those. Promotions like 11.11 of some online platforms could also be a good option. When there are promotions on Lazada, Shopee, I can buy the products on a cheaper price with lesser shipping fee. So, time to decide what items should be added to cart for checkout.

Image from Pixabay
  • Setting aside a budget for gifts.

I make a plan of how much will is spend for my gifts and as much as possible stick to that budget. I believe gifts doesn't need to be expensive. Most of the time, I give gifts that would be useful for the person, personal necessities like Lotion, Shampoo, Grocery items.

  • Wrapping gifts using recycled materials.

I also practice wrapping gifts out or newspapers, brochures, re-used gift wrappers and gift bags. Instead of buying gift wrappers that would just be torn by the receiver, why not use recycled materials to lessen the expenses. This way, I could also clean up some paper mess in our house.

Image from Pixabay
  • Making or creating the items for the gifts.

This one is not my practice but I see people who are doing this one. If you have a talent in baking, creating an item like those who are talented in creating items out of crochets, making crafts. This could be another option. Making the gifts out of your hands.

Those are the "tipid" tips that I usually practice. How about you? What are your practices, I would love to know, so please share in the comment section.

Closing Thoughts

Giving gifts is an act of love. But if you still do not have a budget, you can create greeting cards instead and write messages. You can give your time for your loved ones and show them that you care. Gifts again needs not to be expensive as long as it comes from the heart, it's alright. Though, it is hurtful sometimes that people would show discontentment, about our gifts and would like to have another item instead. But, if it comes from our heart, it is not our problem anymore, it's theirs because they did not have a grateful heart. Most of all, let us not forget that the season is not about gifts but the time of remembering God's love towards us, it is a celebration of the birth of Jesus. The most wonderful gift that we receive, the salvation that is so full and free for those who accepted Him.

Lead Image: Image from Pixabay


Links :

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

👉https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

👉https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine


9
$ 6.50
$ 6.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @annayks
$ 0.03 from @Ellehcim
+ 3
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

I have similar tips for myself! heheh, I am looking at Lazada now for possible Christmas gifts for the fam.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hindi pa ako nakapili. Ano ba kadalasan binibili mo? clothes?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If Bitcoin Cash keeps moving lower, there won't be any gifts for this Christmas.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Let's have faith that BCH will pump so that we can but more gifts for Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because of this I am so excited for the Christmas. I love giving gifts too, it became my yearly hobby. Yung sa Akin naman bumibili ako ng pare-parehong items with different colors and design para pantay-pantay ang lahat:D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehehe. ako nga din, excited na din kasi sa lahat ng celebrations sa isang taon, this one is the happiest, remembering God's love to us. Ay magandang tip din yan sis, yong different colors and design para pantay-pantay. Gusto ko yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Believe me here you shared some really good tips,about how to buy some good gifts while managing our budget. Next I will try to do the same.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you very much. I hope it can help you too in your budgeting.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung nagwowork pako usually sa baclaran ako nabili ng pangregalo hehe pero ngayon since pandemic Tru Gcash nalang Ang paskuhan

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Baclaran talaga maraming pagpipilian Sis no, ay magandang idea din ang Gcash nalang, iwas hassle lalo na yong nasa malayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo hehe. Kahit si anak sa Gcash nalang din binibigay Yung pamasako

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

'Yung first time kong magbibigay ng mga gifts this Christmas kaya advance din akong mag-isip. Nag-start na akong mag-ipon last September and now? May naipon na ako na enough para sa mga gifts na naiisip ko. I am planning din, Ate na mag-start na na maglist this week tapos makapag-place na ng orders by third week of the month. Grabe, nae-excite ako. First time kasi eh. 🙈

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow, congratulations! Nakaka excite nga yan na may mashare ka sa iba. I am also excited for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awee I feel the essence of christmas already. Huhuhu Its time to think about as early for all my guardian babies.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, mas maigi yong maaga para marami pa tayo pagpipilian, ang kailangan nalng budget.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh ahhaha more bch to come pra mai budget na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haays ting bigayan nanaman sa mga inaanak pero tayo hindi na binibigyan ng mga godmother natin

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha. It is always better to give than to receive sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabagay sis. Haha. Kaso wala pa sa budget sa susunod nalang pag successful na si ninang babawi HAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This a good ideas how to prepare for giving a gift this coming Christmas, thanks for sharing

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for the appreciation I hope it can help you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sa mga "tips" mo sis e apply jud ni nko for sure karong christmas,samot na naay kay daghan mga pagumangkon. tinuod jud nang mag lista sa mga dapat hatagan kay kung di,ahw goodluck sa atong budget 😅,

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Lagi oi, need pa gyud apodon, mao lista lista. You are welcome, I hope makatabang nimo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago