My Love for Stationeries

20 37
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Who among you here participated in stationery swaps back in your high school days? Who among you here have those scented papers, colorful pens and stickers? I am asking because I am one of those people who loves stationeries, may it be paper, pens, envelopes , stickers, notepads and everything that looks cute.

Since I was high school I really love to collect stationeries. Whenever I earned an extra amount I will buy stationeries and then swap it to other collectors who are also my friends. We used those supplies for our journals and also for writing letters. When I reached college I still have some for my letter writing for my aunt. I also cut brochures, art papers for decorations of my letters and cards.

When Eilan was born (my first baby), I made an Instagram account and there I found a community - "The Planner Community" who loves stationeries as much as I do. That was the start of another level of love for stationeries, planners and journals. In the Planner Community there are many giveaways and I am joining by reposting IG posts, following the account or joining some challenges. And I fell very blessed because I was able to win stationery supplies, even branded ones from different countries. Here are some of my winnings.

I could not imagine myself taking hold of those planners because I could really not afford those, but thanks to God for the blessings. Even in this kind of winnings, I find it fulfilling.

Aside from joining giveaways, I also participated in swaps. There are Facebook groups and planner girls that welcome and organize swaps. One of the swaps that I joined was the Advent Swap last year and I am so amazed that my partner was able to prepare this kind of stuffs, makes me guilty because I just gave her a random of my collection. I can see her dedication in curating and preparing all of these.

I also buy stationery supplies but in moderation, just when I have extra or there is a promotional. I buy supplies from local shops and also in shoppee because there are a variety of cute stuff there as well. What I usually do is I also resell some so that the things I buy would be compensated with my profit. I also buy from thrift shops like Japan Surplus. And yes as time goes by my collection is growing,one cabinet is intended only for my stationeries. I am a a bit of a hoarder of stationeries, please don't judge me. ^.^. These are some of the stuffs I buy from different shops, the 3rd one was for resell.

What I gained from this hobby of collecting stationeries? You may wonder why. It is one of my stress relievers, I feel happy seeing my the cute stuffs and I am also using them for my planners and journals. I am able to express my creativity through them. Here is another entry from my journal using Hobonichi and Chic Sparrow TN.

So whenever I have time, I play with my stationeries for them to be put on use. Another one is I am able to gain friends from the many sides of the country and of the world who also love stationeries. The friendships go even beyond the stationery thing, they became my helper, my encourager in my trying times. Just like here in read, I gained friends that are my constant support group. I was able also to know people here who also loves journals to name @CrazyRichFilipina and @Momentswithmatti. I love to see read their articles about journals and planning.

Closing thoughts

All of us has its own likings, in Filipino "hilig". We tend to collect those and even at the point of hoarding them, just looking on them and not using it at all. I love my stationery collection and it makes me happy to see them.

How about you? Do you have collections too? I would love to know your thoughts.

Note: This article is inspired by post of @FarmGirl - Winning, What's in it for You? where she shared some of her winnings and I shared about the stuff I won too and it triggered me to share my hobby. Hope that you can relate on this.


LINKS

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

πŸ‘‰https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

πŸ‘‰https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine

10
$ 12.36
$ 11.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.10 from @LykeLyca
+ 3
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

Same here! I love stationeries too. Back then, I was collecting/hoarding stationeries slowly. I buy when I have some extra money. But when I was around SHS, I somehow stopped cause I wanna priorities saving money. Sabi ko sa sarili ko, dapat siguraduhin kong gagamitin ko muna sila bago bumili nanaman ng mga bago. Wala na rin akong mapag-lagyan eh 🀣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ayh, naimagine ko na gaano karami kasi wala nang mapaglagyan. Pero relate ako dyan, more of the planner girls hoard rather than use it. Yong sticky notes na hindi na mgstick kasi di naman ginagamit, yong stickers na di na din makadikit kasi ang tagal lang nakatago. Minsan naman nag dedestash din ako to buy new stuffs. Pero now, wala pa talaga time to play with my stationeries and busy talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo. Pero now, medyo sakto na lang ang stationeries ko kasi I make sure to use them na talaga instead of just accumulating spaces.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was young I couldn't like that because my money when I was a high school student was only 5 pesos 😊 then my Mother just buried me with bread. So I really just focus on reading and assignments hehe. Pero nakikita ko yan da mga kaklase ko na nag gaganyan sila. Mahiyain kasi ako kaya nasa gilid lang palagi ako at walang kibo πŸ˜…

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ako wala din ako halos baon sa highschool, mahilig na kasi ako rumaket noon pa. tinda tinda ako ng mga kahit ano ano.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to that heheh! elementary until 2nd year in high school yata ako obsess sa stationeries. After nyan stamps nmn at pens/pencils.. when I left for work abroad nawala lahat yan except the stamps kc nka album sya... sayang pero sabi ng mom ko hoarder daw ako hahha! dami kung basura sa kwarto kya ayon tapon lahat.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha. basura para sa kanila pero para sa atin they are precious. Anong stamps ang na collect mo? yong stamps sa post office?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the look of stationaries and know a lot of people who loves it. However, it never catch my interest πŸ˜…. Huhuhu tamad kasi talaga ako sa ganyan and di din ako creative ahhaha. But yung bestfriend ko, gusto niyang gumawa ng ganyan.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes ika nga, iba ibang hilig, iba-ibang trip.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang boring nang life ko nung kabataan ko.hihi.. I've seen a lot of things like that but it never came to the point that I collected or kept them.. Maybe, it not my "hilig" lang talaga,. panay bola lang yung gusto ko nuon..hihi SKL..πŸ˜…

anyways, sa nakikita ko Ma'am, ang cute niya, and I see that your happy with it..😍☺️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, iba iba talaga tayo ng hilig. naglalaro din naman ako noon, gumagala din kasama mga kaibigan ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung akin naman, hindi ko sila tini.treat na kaibigan lahat, kasi yung iba sa kanila pala-away..hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

On my primary and secondary schools days, I do swap the books I used in the previous classes for the ones I will be using in my next class, with my senior's friends and family

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow that's so interesting. You love books then! I have tried swap with pocket books back in my secondary days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also love stationery!!! Even until now i still have though I don't buy much anymore... Used to have a box full of stationeries thay i lost in school way back elementary days.... And boy i cried the whole day πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow hi5! If I would lost a box of stationery I would really cry too and feel sad. It's an investment for us right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep that's true... Imagine I'm planning to by die cut machines too 😹 d ko lang magawa ngayon dahil sa pandemic lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Look at that collection! You kept them in pristine condition too.

I have my own stationery, cards, and stickers collections too, and way too many planners/diaries back in the day but they're locked away somewhere in the attic somewhere distant hehe. I now wonder why I stopped doing diaries though :)

And thank you for the mention :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks. I have a collection in the cabinet and in boxes. Some people find it weird though but there are those who likes the idea of collecting stationeries. All my used planners are also kept, want to see them once in a while. You are welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice :) It actually brings back the inner child in us especially those colorful ones with graphics and flowers and other stuff. I myself feel like a little girl again or a young teen when seeing some of them :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago