Collecting Postcards and My Postcrossing journey

15 44
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

From stationeries, keychains, now I am going to share my postcard collection and my journey as a postcrosser. Postcards as defined in Oxford Languages is a card that is used for sending message with a photograph or illustration on one side and you can write a message on the other side and then send it without using envelopes.

I am fond of collecting postcards and sending some to my penpals and friends. I started this hobby when I was in my 20's. My collections comes from different sources. Whenever I go to a place, aside from buying keychains, I also look for Postcards. Some are bought online https://pinspired.ph/, some are from a Japan Surplus (most of my collection are from here), some are from national bookstore and some are from my friends and penpals. I have a collection of more than 100 postcards with different designs and sizes.

What I love about postcards is that its designs are mostly about the scenic spots of place, trademarks, culture and even events. One can use a Postcard for invitations, memorabilia or for sending short greetings and messages. Some people send Postcards on special holidays like Christmas and New Year.

One activity that postcards are really used is through Postcrossing. Postcrossing allows people from different sides of the world to send postcards. There are actually sites that promotes Postcrossing just like : https://www.postcrossing.com/ and also some are through social media sites like Instagram and Facebook groups. Through Postrossing I received postcards from different countries like Korea, Singapore, Suriname to name a few.

So if you are interested in Postcrossing you should know first the basics of postcards and Postcrossing.

First you should have someone to send your Postcard. It could be a friend abroad, or you can join Facebook groups or use the Postcrossing site I mentioned for you to have recipient . Then you should have a Postcard to send. You can buy postcards from the stores I mentioned like bookstores and online shops. When you have the postcard you can now start writing.

Let's get into the details of the Postcard. In the left uppermost part you can put your address. Then write your short message or greetings. You can decorate your postcard by putting stickers, washi tapes or making drawings. On the right side, you will write the name and address of your recipient. If all are done, go to the post office for mailing. They will put a postage stamp on it in the right uppermost part. The cost of mailing is Php 17.00 - Php 20.00 in the Philippines.

The postcard will arrive to your recipient for around 1 month or more after mailing depending on the location. So if you plan to send it for greetings on an event better to send it ahead of time.

What I gained from this hobby? I find joy from this hobby and I also I gained friends and pals from different places. I feel I also visited their places because of Postcards and messages they sent. With these also I can share the richness of our country and of course support our local post offices.

So that's all for my Postcard collection, I hope that you can relate to my passion and maybe it will ignite that Postcrosser spirit in you. If you want to see the details of my collection here's my video in YouTube.

If you find this article interesting to you, please leave a comment below. Take care.


LINKS

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

πŸ‘‰https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

πŸ‘‰https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine

6
$ 10.26
$ 10.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
+ 1
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

What a nice story,ako din hilig ko din mag collect maam ng mga pictures,kaso sa tuwing titingnan ko yung mga collection na mga picture,naalala ko yung magagandang memoriesπŸ₯°πŸ˜Š

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yay, maganda din ang picture collection, go lang for that hobby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May tita ako na nasa Canada na mahilig magpadala ng post card sa amin. Minsan may nakasiksik pa na dollar.😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Buti naman, di napagdiskitahan sa post office. Marami kasi ganyan di na makakarating sa recipient.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala.. grabe..πŸ˜²πŸ‘ Ikaw na talaga Ms. Lhaine...

Napa-isip tuloy ako, "Ba't hindi ako nahilig sa ganito?" hihi ... Hmmm..siguro hilig niyo din po talaga noh? Na.e.envy ako sa part na, ang dami-dami niyo po'ng souvenirs na magpapaalala sa inyo nang mga masasaya na memories.. Woow..😍❀️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, very good talaga sya for memory keeping dear. Each of them has a story, lalo na yong mga pinadala sa akin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha ako naman i love sending post cards especially pag nasa trip ako 😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yay, my Korea postcard is from someone who travelled there, ngpost sya sa IG na andon sya sa Korea and sino ba dw gusto makatanggap ng postcard from her, and I am one of those na napili. happy ako.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woooww. Na aamaze po talaga ako sa mga collection nyo. I never tried postcard and stationaries but I really find the cool.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat! Maybe you can try sometime and see if you like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is an Express means of communication then before technology was introduced but now that everyone now uses smartphones, tablets and so on, we can easily send through emails, whatsapp or text messages.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Before technology, this is a means of communication but now, it is for the hobbyist and enthusiasts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its so cute. I also do have collections but not like of yours. Its a bit different. All I collect was really came from my love ones. What they give to me, I kept it. Even its just a piece of trash for them. But for me its a treasure.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow, good to know that. I am just like you, I am fond of keeping cards, letters, for others those are trash but for me, they have their own stories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po. At wala akong pake alam sa sasabihin ng iba kung bakit ko ginagawa ang mga iyon. Basta ako masaya ako sa kung ano ang ginagawa ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago