Back to Writing Letters

21 35
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

It's been almost 2 years that I did not write letters to friends and some penpals due to the pandemic. The letters I sent in late 2019 and early 2020 did not arrived the recipients, some were lost and some were returned to sender. Just like this letter which I sent to my friend in USA which was actually returned to sender because it was "unclaimed".

I sent this letter in December 2019 and it was expected to arrive in USA in late January 2020, but this time was the start of Covid-19. There were restrictions and the letter was not delivered, claimed and then it was returned to me around July 2020. It made me sad. Aside from it was costly and it was just returned to sender, the efforts in sending it seemed to be put to vain. But these are realities in sending letters, one can experience lost mails, return to sender mails and letters not responded by recipients.

However, I was able to receive a letter from Suriname which arrived to me at least 5 months after it was sent. It was a Christmas card for 2020 and I received it in May 2021. I know this friend from IG and she never failed to send me a letter every year for Christmas or my birthday. She is so thoughtful and mind you, all of her cards are handmade by her.

I was so happy when I received this letter card.

Why I love to write to penpals and friends?

When I was just new in this platform, I wrote these articles:

Pen pals? Is it still existing?

How to Start Penpalling?

The first one tells about my journey in writing to penpals, while the other one are the steps on how to have penpals. I am writing letters since elementary up to now.

I believe in the art of letter writing. It conveys a different message when it is written by hand. You got to know people because of the letters sent and received. I love to exchange messages to people through this way. It gives me happiness to seem talking to them through the every word written in the letter. It is a means of communication.

I missed writing letters.

So this month, I decided to start writing again. The first card I sent was for my aunt for her birthday. I did not use the Post Office for sending it, instead I use J & T since they have discount rates now and I also have some items to give her and I am happy that she was glad when she received it.

My aunt's post when she received it

And I am now preparing to send Christmas cards to some of my friends and relatives abroad. I know how these people missed Philippines and receiving cards from Philippines would surely brighten their day. I would also be sending postcards to penpals as well. I bought these supplies from a Japanese thrift shop here in our place and these cards were very affordable but have a good quality.

Want to receive a postcard from me? Just let me know how I can reach you so that I can have your address and I will be sending a postcard to you with high hopes that it will arrive your doorstep.

Special Note:

I was happy that I was able to read an article written by @Yzza0625 - The Last Time I Wrote A Letter. I just felt happy that there were also writers here who loves to write like me.

That's all for now. Keep safe!

~Miz Lhaine

7
$ 6.79
$ 6.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Ellehcim
+ 4
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

this is nostalgic. i have had a lot of pen friends in the country and used to pen Palling back in the 90,s. it was fun and that was the time i developed my writing skills.

snail mail these days is commonly used by companies to send to send notice and other billing notifications and the act of writing people has been revolutionized by emails.

I think this is more sense of value if we write people by means of this traditional letter sending via air mail. the connection between people is more valuable than with instant messages .

add me on twitter @bjorn_biorn

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hey, thanks for sharing. I am happy that I knew someone who experienced penpals too. I agree, through sending letters, we make a connection different to instant messages. I'll be adding you in twitter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wooow uso parin po pala ito hanggang ngayon. Di ko pa na try to maam. Anyways, I do love receiving letters.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehehehe, may iilan pa din kaming natitira na nagpapadala ng mga sulat through Post Office. Try mo, para naman maiba. Send me address sa twitter ko if you want to have a postcard sent to you. @Lhaine99116271

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't remember when was the last time I sent a letter via Post Office. Maybe 1990's before I learned to use Yahoo etc. 😁 And I think the last time I sent a card was via DHL or FedEx. I am lazy going out so I prefer couriers pick up services if I can't send online.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am availing post office services because its cheaper for the letters. Even overseas, I used the post office services. Yeah, going to post offices really needs time and effort, so I have to send at once for my trip to be sulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woww I do love receiving letters hahaa yes received tlaga! I find it so sweet.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If you want to receive a postcard from me, please send me a message in Twitter, my account is @Lhaine99116271.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aweee sayang. I dont have twitter. Been uninstalled it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sa pagmention ma'am.😊 I'm happy na nagsesend ka na ulit ng mga letter. I would surely be happy to receive one.hihi

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Please message me for your address sa Twitter ko. @Lhaine99116271. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala po akong Twitter account ma'am.😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is actually so sweet. The last real latter I received is way back from elementary days po. Hehehe. This feels sentimental.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehehe. very sentimental indeed. Si hubby din mahilig magbigay ng love letter, even until now, mga notepads.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww sweet naman po ahehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember the letters, I was little when we sent letters for the new year. We rejoiced when we were children. We could hardly wait for someone to send us a letter 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow, thanks for sharing your experience. That's really an exciting moment to receive letters from someone we love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing and receiving letters is something I am not used to, but my father often receives letters from his friends. My father sends it the same way, I either receive an invoice or a detailed document of some of my card transactions.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I can relate with invoice and other documents, not to mention Pag-ibig who is always sending a bill reminder. lol. Thanks for the sponsorship.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writing letters and sending cards is still a big thing here in the UK especially to the old. Mum loves to write letters and send cards on every occasion.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wow that's good to know. I don't have a penpal from UK but I saw IG posts of penpals from UK. I am happy that the love for letters still continue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago