Lost Days

16 65
Avatar for MisakiLhaine
2 years ago

I am not a writer nor a good story teller.
I just love sharing some of my thoughts, ideas and experiences. I vent out my feelings through arts and writings, when everything is already too much for me to keep and handle.
I'm a self-proclaimed artist, before being a writer wanabe.

I used to make arts on my High School days, but I suddenly stopped when I started studying in College due to personal reasons, different priorities and some responsibilities.
I am not sure if "to stop drawing" was a decision I made or It just happened naturally.



College Days


I studied Bachelor of Science in Accountancy, it's my 3rd choice out of my 4 College course choices such as:

  • BS-Tourism

  • BSE-Mathematics

  • BS-Accountancy

  • B-Fine Arts

I studied as much as I can, though I sometimes question myself if this is what I really want.
I went to a Review School, few months after I graduated College in 2013. This was the start of me experiencing failures and being lost. Everyone around me are doing great in the review classes, as if they are all prepared to face a battle while me is still wondering why do I took up Accountancy?

Finally the exam days had ended and the result was released.

I lost my first ever battle.

I failed the CPA Board Exam.

I did cried for a moment, but then I moved on. I'm a bit disappointed at myself, but It was a well deserved Defeat.

Job Hunting

My life will not end with just one failure. Life goes on. It's now the beginning of searching a job.

Honestly, I had a rough start in finding the perfect job for me. My first job was a complete mess. There were no government benefits and we were paid in a daily basis. The whole business structure of the Company was a mess.
I am planning to resign, but still I can't decide when.

Then an opportunity came. I received a message from a friend. She asked me if I wanted to apply in their Auditing firm, since it's Audit Season they are hiring Non-CPAs (Non-Certified Public Accountant) for a contractual position in a Quality Assurance Department.
I grabbed the chance even though it's just a 3-month contract, aside from this is my chance to run away from my first job it's also a great opportunity for me to work on a well known Firm in the field of Audit.

My almost Dream job...

August 2014

I was referred again by another friend, after my contract ended in the Auditing Firm. His sister is working as a Chief Financial Officer in an E-Commerce Company, which is founded by a French National. I applied for the Accounting Assistant position and was hired.

Finally, I will be working in a company with a good business structure, with Manager that will guide me, with cool Bosses and with a friendly working environment. My days started great. I was in-charge with the Daily Reconciliation, other Financial Reports and I assist also in the Audit, it's overwhelming but I love my job.

2015

Suddenly, everything started to change. Our Company is facing a big crisis that resulted to a decline in our overall sales and changes in the Management; We are experiencing a drastic loss in income; Our CFO was removed from her position and my Manager resigned. I'm completely at loss, but I need to moveforward.

New CFO and Finance Manager were hired. They are German and Filipino respectively. My Manager and I have a great teamwork. He saw my potentials and gave me another role, from Accounting Assistant I become a Financial Analyst. Our CFO has a great leadership, I am reporting directly to him in terms of our Daily Cash Collections. It feels great to be part of a Team that motivated you to work harder and made you feel relevant. We may sometimes encounter difficulties but somehow we were able to overcome it.

I thought the Company is finally recovering, but I was wrong. Our CFO filed a resignation for personal reasons. The whole team was so sad about this news, but we wishes him on his future endeavors and career plans.

Our New CFO and CEO

2016

Another CFO was hired, he's a French National like our CEO. He is a great Leader too, approachable, well-organized and generous. He is someone you will admire to be your Boss. Few months after his employment date, The CEO/Founder of our Company was removed from his position it's a decision made by the Majority Stockholders. Our New CFO was promoted to be the New CEO. It was a joyous event to our CFO turn to be CEO but a sad news to our former CEO. I can't imagine how painful it was for him.
Being part of a Finance Team and someone that in-charge in the safekeeping of important documents, I somehow knew that the Company can no longer stand for the next years. We are losing day by day, Our Operating Expenses are greater than our Sales. The higher-up decided to lay off some staffs, It's saddening to see the empty chairs and tables of some employees.

Left Alone

Another news came.
Our CEO resigned.
Few months after his departure a teammate of mine also file a resignation letter. I am the only Accounting Personnel left that's been there long enough. I feel like I was left alone with too much responsibilities. My teammate who resigned was one of my closest co-worker, that's why I am so sad when he left and the changes were too sudden. Honestly, I got scared. Imagine, all these things happened in just a year.

Big Changes

August 2016

With the resignation of our Former CEO, a new CEO was hired. This time, he's a Filipino.
My Manager was promoted into Head of Finance and Admin and I was also promoted from Financial Analyst into Finance Admin Manager.
The Management decided to minimize the expenses, so we moved out from our office in Makati to much smaller office in Ortigas.
These changes is the start of more problematic, frustrations, disappointments and stressful days.

To be continued.


A/N: This is my First published article here in Read. Thank you for reading!
I wanted to write an Introduction first but there's not much to say about myself. I hope you were able to finish reading the whole article. I am so emotional writing this whole thing. It's like reminiscing the old me and the challenges that I've been through, but still more events are starting to unfold.

Own Image used.

10
$ 0.68
$ 0.50 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @MegaKyodaiBanrai
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 2
Sponsors of MisakiLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MisakiLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

Welcome to read! Oh wow looking forward to reading the continuation

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much. πŸ€—β€

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, Matematics and Accountancy - that's too much for my brain already. I never liked math because numbers are my enemies. πŸ˜… I'm amazed by people who do it willingly, so thumbs up to you!I understand why you feel lost, but I don't see any mistakes done by you...it was all unfortunate events happening around you (with the company losses etc.), you didn't do anything wrong :) thank you for writing this article and nice to meet you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those unfortunate things really affected me, and there's more things to come on the continuation of this story. Haha thank you so much, nice to meet you too. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, it's nice to see you here finally in read.cash! I am looking forward how your journey will turn out. Hopefully you are able to find something that you really want and monetize it, such as your artworks. πŸ’™

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hello there! Thank you so much. Yes, I somehow plan to turn my passion in arts into business. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome to the family, you don't have to feel like a stranger, you are part of us already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for telling me that. I appreciate it a lot. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are always welcomeπŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to read Lhaine! You work hard and always trying your best. Looking forward to the continuation of your journey. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much Ate! πŸ€—πŸ˜˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to Read.cash! I hope things improve at your job or that you can find another one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much! 🀝

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome to read.cash! Looking forward to your articles!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the warm welcome. πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking forward to this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago