"The story of Friar Francisco"

2 50
Avatar for MiriannaLis
2 years ago

Blessed Readcashers present,

Time goes by pretty fast and today I was surprised because I realized that I already completed 6 months since I joined Readcash, although I have not maintained the level of dynamism that I would like, I look for spaces to build every day the image I want to have of my Blog.

Since I started I have shared motivational and reflective posts, and today I wanted to try something new that I have been experimenting with in the area of literature.

Lately, I have been inspired to write short stories, sometimes I find certain stimuli that inspire me like my children or some anecdote or experience of the day, I have also tried to awaken my muse with images or words making a kind of game, selecting words or images randomly and build a story on it.

Yesterday I was writing about a romantic story with a little twist in the direction of the protagonists life, with these random words: monastery, welder, remember, flowers and death, I want to share with you my creation so you can give me your opinion about this story that I called:

Banner created in Canva with elements available in its free version

I have the need to write my story and share it with the world. It's time to unburden myself and drain all this turmoil I feel inside and remember the reasons that made me stay in this holy place.

When I met Anne my world changed completely. I was a disoriented young man who until then had made the wrong decisions. To tell you that I dabbled in drugs is really a trifle for all the things I did against my body and my family and all the disastrous life I led.

Anne was a very special woman, she was able to put aside my history and see beyond the outward appearance, what even I had not recognized in 27 years of my existence. A woman who made me dream of a world of possibilities, of the best possible world. She was strong-willed, courageous, tough, and at the same time, warm, compassionate and loving, identified with feminist movements and a follower of leaders such as journalist Tawakkul Karman, 2011 Nobel Peace Prize winner.

Thanks to her encouragement and faith in me, I started working at the Monastery; they needed a welder to undertake different remodeling and repair works. I could say that it was the only good thing I inherited from my father, may he rest in peace. I had avoided the trade because I didn't want to be anything like him, but paradoxically it was the only place that gave me a chance with the chequered life history I had up to my 27th birthday.

Source: Unplash

When Anne proposed it to me, I felt it was my only chance to show her family, and everyone who knew me, my desire to better myself and change my personal situation; so I accepted the offer. What I lacked in pay I made up for with the beautiful scenery surrounding the monastery and its gardens full of red color with its many flowers. I spent hours contemplating the beauty of this peaceful place. Most of the older monks and also the novices treated me with great respect and for the first time I felt the appreciation of a community.

This work did not interrupt my relationship with Anne; with her there were no dull days: laughter and games abounded between us, and also very tense moments when our tempers and disagreements exploded. We were very passionate in every way.

My years with her were the happiest of my life, to the point that I swore eternal love to her and, in the name of that oath, I worked every day to be a better person and to have a way to offer her security and stability. I did nothing but dream of our future together. However, his family was always the reason for our arguments, they refused to accept our relationship.

In the monastery I began to read some scriptures and the monks allowed me to stay permanently, to take care of other tasks, after each day I met with one of the monks, almost always with Fray Luis and I managed to win his affection, although he had a cold and distant appearance, I discovered that he was very close, human and understanding.

From him I learned about philosophy and the difference with theology. Every day he challenged me to think and reflect on some existential question and this encouraged me to continue studying more and more. Our conversations became more interesting every day, many paradigms and mistaken beliefs I had about God changed in those discussions. He would assign me readings and then we would discuss their meaning.

Source: Unplash

I spent countless hours and days praying with Friar Luis for her recovery, but the arrival of death, besides being sudden, was implacable in its purpose. Days of restlessness consumed me, and the only salvation I found was in this monastery where I reaffirmed my vow of eternal love for Anne and began my priestly vows.

Since then 20 years have passed and I still remember her as if it were yesterday, in her name I managed to make this Rehabilitation and Recovery Center: "Anne Foundation" along with other brothers of the Congregation, we are dedicated to support the lives of many young people who are lost in the world of drugs and find a new path.

That is why I decided today to write these lines, in recognition of that oath of love, aware that it is time to let her go, and accept that energy was transformed, materialized in this great work of love to which I dedicate myself now on behalf of Anne, for you always dear my eternal gratitude.

With love and eternal gratitude to Anne, Friar Francisco
Sponsors of MiriannaLis
empty
empty
empty

I would love to know your opinion about the story, and even propose that we can play this game of "Awakening the Muse" with random words, what do you think?

I read you in the comments, hope you liked the story.

Blessings ✨

6
$ 3.21
$ 3.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Gracee
$ 0.01 from @cmoneyspinner
Sponsors of MiriannaLis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MiriannaLis
2 years ago

Comments

It seems to me that you have just awakened the muse, with the inspiration of only 5 random words, you have made an excellent story, continue like this and we will read other stories as good as this one, I do not promise anything but I will try to create a story from 5 random words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it is an excellent exercise, the words were given to me by a friend, and at first it was a little difficult to put those words together but suddenly this story came up and I ended up liking the exercise a lot.

If you want we can play to give each other some random words for other stories 😊

Thanks for commenting 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago