A greatest gift for an Artist

8 114
Avatar for MilbethMorillo
2 years ago

I've reached my muse!

Imagine you're an artist and you get so so hyped on a show that it becomes your comfort show, you fell in love with two characters, those two are your favorites, you feel the urge to draw 'em, something simple, just for you, just for fun, suddenly people also began to enjoy your fanarts and it grows so so deep that one day that artwork of yours reach to those two very characters you love so much... that just happened to me! and I cannot describe enough how it felt... it's an emotion full of euphoria. Let me tell you that story on this very first storytime.

Vikings was a show I started to watch back at 2017, like I've said on my previous articles, I struggle with mental health, I rely on shows and games to keep me out of my head sometimes. Anyway, I love historical shows and Norse Mythology is my favorite of all time, so decided to give it a try, didn't have anything better to watch at the time. I loved it at first episode, legit devoured that first season, luckily there were 4 season already when I got hyped with it. Inktober of that year came and I was planning to participate with a witchy prompt, my freelancing was beginning, I wasn't earning that much, my social media presence was small and I haven't too much interaction or a fanbase, I was stressed, sad, the depressive episode was kicking in, on inktober day 17 I was about to throw the towel when I decided to draw something simple, a chibi of the sons of Ragnar I've liked that much, I was just finished the season 4 and was waiting for season 5, well did that simple sketch (see below)

Those were the first chibis(Chibi means small in japanese so they are like cutesy child baby versions of the characters), they were pretty rough sketch looking but post it anyways on all my social media platforms. To my surprise they were well receive, so many people began to follow me and comment, they laugh a lot to my silly and adorable chibi parody of vikings, I let show my sense of humor on those drawings, I mean if you see the show you'll notice it is a bit gruesome, death, blood, fights xD and then I parody all that with a silly cute looking, maybe that's why people liked it who know.

I fixated on the Ragnarsons but there were two characters who caught my whole attention over the following years

Ivar the boneless:

and Hvitserk:

Created a bunch of comic strips of those two

They were fun to draw, I really enjoyed, but dunno why I have this though that my art should be more complex, epic, don't get me wrong I love both styles but the chibi comes so natural, I really should just embrace that this is who I am as an artist lol a bit of both. years passed and I even stop to draw 'em, I occasionally come back to them to rest between client work who takes most of my time since is my main source of income. The Vikings fans are supporting to me, specially one fan who collects almost every sticker or mug design I post on my Redbubble Shop, well that same fan had the idea of making Ivar( Alex Høgh Andersen ) and Hvitserk ( Marco Ilsø ) actors a gift, they were going to be at Wales Comic Con 2022.

And so she did!!!!

She recorded a video for Ivar... I still can't believe it... I mean, his awesome performance inspired me, I loved his character... those chibis were for pure fun, I've never imagined something like this could happen... to reach your muse, can't describe the feeling... now those two has a mug and stickers of their characters on chibi version... and I drew those... T^T OMG these are tears of joy!!!! this is... a gift... that lovely angel gift me this... can't thank her enough, this came just when I needed the most, I was feeling pretty low... but like really low and this... ahhh, I'm sorry I don't know what else to say than I'm hella grateful to her and that seeing him holding that mug makes me feel all warm and fuzzy and even more :'D

There's a link down below if you want to check the video, I'm also gonna leave a link to my Redbubble store.

IG Video

Redbubble

14
$ 4.21
$ 4.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.05 from @Reenave
+ 1
Avatar for MilbethMorillo
2 years ago

Comments

Like the drawings never watched that show. 💖🍀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trust me art is an expression of an artist ( personal art to be more Specific)... I enjoy art work coz my boss is an artist and not just an ordinary artist he is a good one.. I'd check your IG to see what I can find

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same to you I also rely on movies whenever I'm mentally sick. It really help me to not overthink all time of my problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's quite amazing.. I love drawings but drawings don't love me, so I am kind of amazed to the people who knows on how to draw.. 💚💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we are depressed we want something that will be the reason for our smile to get throughout the situation and you get that reason those characters are amazing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes! exactly!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Art is a beautiful form of expression. It take a leve of intelligence to dipict an image in an almost exact copy on a surface. Artist just have a genius mind. And not too many people are gifted with such

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's quite true, to make art it is necessary a level of intelligence, without it would be just a mechanical activity lacking of meaning and feeling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago