Yes i am a old snob and i eat healthy!

10 39
Avatar for MicroReylatos
1 year ago
AI generated image

Humans have been on this planet for hundreds of thousands of years, and yet in the last century or so we have seen incredible changes in the way we eat and our general attitudes towards food. According to renowned nutritionist Michael Pollan, these changes are largely “cultural” rather than necessarily “nutritional” in nature – that is, they are more concerned with society’s desire for ‘convenience’ and ‘conformity’ than with any real, scientifically-backed health benefits.

This, in turn, has led to an increase in the prevalence of unhealthy eating habits among the population. As such, there are many people who would consider me an old snob for my preference to eat healthy.

I will admit that I do prefer healthier foods over their junk-food cousins. I’m a firm believer that you are what you eat. In other words, I firmly espouse the idea that to maintain a healthy body, one needs to feed it with nutrient-dense, ‘living’ foods. Eating healthy, in other words, refers to the consumption of foods that are rich in essential micronutrients, minerals, vitamins and antioxidants – several of which can help to improve the overall health of a person.

The problem is that, as a society, we are becoming increasingly disconnected from the reality of where our food comes from – as well as from its nutritional value. The ascent of the so-called ‘convenience culture’ thus means that, for many people, the idea of cooking a healthy meal from scratch is seen as both time-consuming and unappetizing. And of course, the abundance of cheap and convenient processed food – most of which is unimaginably unhealthy – only serves to exacerbate the issue.

I refuse to be part of this trend. I can appreciate a quick snack or light meal from time to time, but I will always strive to make sure that at least part of my diet is made up of health-promoting nutrients. To each their own, but I am of the opinion that being an ‘old snob’ often comes with health benefits.

At the end of the day, whether I am considered a healthy old snob or not is not the point. What matters is that I am making an effort to prioritize my health – something I feel is of the utmost importance. By incorporating a balanced selection of ‘good-for-you’ food into my diet, I am taking the necessary steps to ensure that I maintain both a healthy body and a clear head.

In closing, it can take a degree of courage to go against the grain and push back against the surging tide of processed food – but it’s usually worth it in the long run. Healthy eating habits need to start from the ground up, so it's important that we eat health and take care of our body. eat healthy and take care of our body.

8
$ 0.38
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.03 from @MaeAntoinette
+ 2
Sponsors of MicroReylatos
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MicroReylatos
1 year ago

Comments

Yes. Sometimes we eat those foods from fastfood but I also prefer cooked food at home. I love preparing the spices and vegetables before cooking. Also my family especially my children loves what I cooked even if it takes time. Eating healthy foods nowadays is essential. To be honest, some are sick because of too much unhealthy food intake.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Processed food gives me a bad heartburn. Can only ‘enjoy’ it on occasions and in small quantities 😉

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I try it once or twice a year at most, but I'm not a friend of it.

On the other hand, I really like rice and grains!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love good food, but man, it takes so loong to prepare 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really like to cook. I was the cook of a famous Italian restaurant in my city, for 18 months XD

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That’s so cool! Some people are just made for it. My ex insisted I have a talent and in truth when I really want to cook, the result is usually great, but it just takes so much time, which I’d rather spend doing other things 🙈 I often burn things, because I don’t wanna stand in the kitchen and wait, so I drift away doing other things and forget I was cooking 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I guess you are very anxious and you want to have things ready at the moment hehehe.

Cooking requires patience and a lot of technique. I enjoy doing weird things, and especially watching food channels on YouTube, that relaxes me a lot and I get ideas to do new things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eating healthy foods is indeed crucial to maintain a healthy life. However, I just can't really ignore a bunch of junkfoods and others hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I get you, a lot of those delicious foods include donuts, hamburgers, and whatnot.

Little by little I have been replacing them with fruits, although I admit that at least every 3 months I eat a hamburger, but prepared at home.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm amazed. Hoping I can be like that too hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago