The Hypocrisy of Self-Interest

1 46
Avatar for MicroReylatos
10 months ago
photo.jpg

Today I reflected on how people seem to consider an issue important only when it affects them or better said, especially when that issue affects them.

For example, if a person their whole life has not cared about people who are sick in the lungs and who need any organ transplant to be able to keep living, if a person does not have any type of problems with any of those organs, well obviously they are not going to have awareness of the importance of this until the moment arrives that life makes them become sick of sight, of lungs, of liver, of kidneys, of pancreas, of any organ that may need to be transplanted.

Then this leaves me a lot to think about what I said at the beginning, that people only clamor or worry about an issue when this issue is something that really affects them, that notably harms them, otherwise it will be very difficult for the person to feel concern.

I think this reveals a lot about how our society is these days, how plastic, how hollow people are for not worrying about issues as important as this.

And this is not something that I am going through currently, no, I do not need any transplant nor any person or relative or friend of mine needs a transplant at this moment, but precisely for seeing different situations of this type in the last weeks I have realized, I have put myself to observe how people behave.

For me, people of my generation of 68, someone of 30, 35 years old continues being a youth, they are young people, seen from our point of view and the point is that we see how these new generations do cry themselves and clamor for mercy and empathy when they face one of these situations.

And this is my writing for today and the reflection that I wanted to make. In reality society increasingly produces and impels me to distance myself more from it and it is for this reason for which the circle of people with whom I converse, to whom I respond and with whom I like to speak is quite reduced because by now in my life I have only accustomed myself to tolerating the people that I already know.

This has been my reflection for today, many thanks for reading me and I wish you have a very good day.

3
$ 0.37
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
Sponsors of MicroReylatos
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MicroReylatos
10 months ago

Comments