Good citizen or bad citizen?

17 73
Avatar for MicroReylatos
1 year ago

Being a good citizen is a badge of honor in society. It is a cultivated sense of responsibility and obligation, which is demonstrated through ethical behavior and active participation in the affairs of the community. Unfortunately, not everyone is a good citizen for differing reasons.

The essential qualities and characteristics of a good citizen are often subject to a variety of interpretations, though the theory is ultimately centered on exhibiting social behavior that contributes to public welfare and the common good. A good citizen is thoughtful, honest, and puts the needs of others before themselves. Most importantly, a good citizen puts in effort to make the community a better place.

However, there are those that cannot or choose not to be a good citizen due to a multitude of reasons. Inequality and lack of access to education are two of the most common reasons why an individual may not be able to develop the necessary values and skills to be a good citizen. Not everyone is in a position where they have the capability to become educated and courteous, and due to systemic forces, certain individuals are more prone to lack the means to do so.

These individuals are often subject to poverty and the lack of basic social services that enable citizens to thrive and participate in the public sphere. Without access to resources and education, these individuals may find it difficult to contribute meaningfully to community life, to develop the ability to respect the law, and the ability to understand the importance of the broader society.

Likewise, those who lack values and morals are at risk of being a bad citizen. An individual who fails to act with integrity, who is incapable of recognizing the importance of justice and the law, and who continually disregards the needs of their fellow citizens runs the risk of slipping into problematic behavior that can have detrimental effects on the community as a whole. Such individuals typically lack respect for the law, have little to no regard for their own communities, and often have limited knowledge of civic engagement.

Finally, there are those who choose not to be good citizens out of sheer laziness and arrogance. This type of individual regards the concept of citizenship as trivial and unnecessary and fails to recognize the consequences that such behavior can have on the public and on society as a whole. Such individuals often expect to get away with wrong doing, and put forth little to no effort to be constructive members of the public.

Citizenship is a two-way street; and it is the responsibility of citizens to be aware of their abilities and obligations to the community.

Therefore, anyone who cannot be or chooses not to be a good citizen is a disservice to the public and their own personal development. Such individuals risk not only missing out on invaluable opportunities but also potentially creating negative consequences for the public that can be difficult to undo.

What side are you on?

8
$ 0.52
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.25 from @Coolmidwestguy
Sponsors of MicroReylatos
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MicroReylatos
1 year ago

Comments

Though I am in the mid point, but I try to be the good one from my side. Well, i am also using hive and my id is tibroo , hope to get support there!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes it's better to be evenhanded with things.

I've delegate to you 15 HP and so you can post and do some stuff. I will give you that help for a month, which is the time necessary to have your own resources to publish on your own in Hive.

Successes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much dear! I don't know how hp works or how to make it work but I will try to use it my best when I know. I love to take photos and I will make photography posts, I invite you to see my posts now and then. Thanks a lot!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think if we all become good citizens the world would be a more peaceful place to live. Like you said there are many variables for all to be such. I myself am a little towards the good side but I could be better. A matter a fact a lot of us could be better

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually, if you analyze everything carefully, being a good citizen earns more things, one achieves a favorable environment and in general there is a greater willingness of people to talk to one, or to help us.

On the other hand, if you are a bad person, you may get the immediate satisfaction of stealing or scamming someone, but in the short term this attitude leads you to remain isolated and alone, since the type of allies you get is quite toxic.

So there is a big difference there, but do you know what happens, friend? People nowadays only do things because they are convenient, it is more or less like that type of person who does not care if someone is sick with cancer. , until one day by the work of fate they get cancer and then cancer does become important, there is a lot of double talk in that, and humanity today must be much more rational about it and realize that that on the "add" side you gain much more than "subtracting".

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Being good vs bad will determine our social environment. Once a thief always a thief in most cases because there is no gain when you stop. Same with selling drugs or selling your body. Work to make an honest income, abide by the law, help others, and other good deeds leads to successful past to look back on. Also receive income and help when you hang up your working career.

Absolutely right about convenience. They get in the mindset that it's not worth it unless there is something for them to gain. They expect everything to be handed to them without earning it.

I also hate the "all about me" mentality also. I have seen this recently at an undisclosed employer. Its becoming how do I get my face out there and how much can I butter up to superiors to be recognized. It's sickening and it's such an encouragement to build yourself up on paper than it is doing the job at hand. The ones that refuse to be recognized in such a way are the ones getting the job done. It's unfortunate there the ones suffering. Much more on this but I'll keep it short and not get on a rant. I'm just glad I'm nearing retirement in the next ten years

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely being good makes a difference. Above all because you receive satisfaction that is not monetary, that feeling that you are improving someone's life, not because you feel like a hero, but because you really care about others progressing, that my friend is very important, I dare say that it is the essence of "good". When people have quality of life, they dedicate themselves to creating, to making advances that lead to the indisputable improvement of the quality of life of others, and to evolving towards a better world.

And people today prefer convenience because there is a big problem with this, and I am going to expand a bit because I have a lot to say about it...it turns out that today, the new generations (I mean all those born from the year 1990 to the present day), they are used to the culture of obtaining rewards immediately, that is why they complain that a video game has bad graphics, causing the company to have to make more realistic graphics each time; they complain that the games don't have save points, and since then they put checkpoints on the current consoles that automatically save the game from time to time so they don't even have to bother to save the game themselves, they cry because the progress in the game is very slow, and the companies immediately provide them with boxes or weekly events where they give them "boosts" for the game, and basically they are NEVER satisfied with anything... This is on the one hand, because on the other hand we have the apps "brain eaters" like Tik Tok that all they do is offer practically instantaneous dopamine releases, because the videos last a few seconds, most of the time between 10 to 15 seconds, and right away you get the satisfaction of seeing a woman flashing herself, to an idiot doing something ridiculous, or any other stupid thing that doesn't really add anything to your life, beyond a "temporary" entertainment and that is precisely where the drug of this yes acts stema: the dopamine discharge turns you into an addict unable to detach yourself from the app and you spend hours and hours watching videos without realizing how much time has passed. All this does is "stupidize" people, because they simply get their reward almost instantly, which brings us to the point of what I explain and what you comment:

"They expect everything to be handed to them without earning it."

They want to have everything in an easy way, because they have been turned into "functional idiots" through these apps and these technologies. And I am telling you that I am a technologist and I am the first to be in favor of all these technological advances, but as long as they are used "rationally", and in this there is a very important role played by education, the way in which it is It has prepared people for life in their homes, because that is what makes the difference: that they are prepared to question everything, to understand that if they want something easy and simple, they must earn it, they must work HARD for it and that You are not going to get a save point in a video game every 5 minutes if you have not spent at least 200 hours on that game to unlock that feature (if I were a video game developer I would put that feature that way so that these idiots learn to work hard). And I tell you my friend, that these things, although they seem sterile, are the ones that make great changes at a social level, promoting evolution as a species and as a society.

The same goes for those dickhead abusive bosses who want everything just for themselves. That is exploitation and labor abuse. A true leader is the one who accompanies the workers in their struggles, and takes them by the hand so that they overcome the obstacles, and thus, after so many years of service, achieve the dream of living in peace in a pleasant place, dedicating themselves to what they like the most, having a productive and healthy old age, having pleasant memories and many motivations to share with everyone who approaches them.

So that's where being "good" manages to make a big difference.

Unfortunately only a minority of us are the ones who think that way, and sadly the "minorities" historically speaking, take much longer to achieve the changes.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

Is the article way at the top or in the comments, haha.

The age group you mentioned 90 to now is correct. I can remember when the participation trophy came a thing. I can remember thinking whatever happened to learning from our failures.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, sometimes when I feel like writing I do it, as well as on other occasions my answers are one or two letters long, it's hard to explain why, it all depends on the mood with which I face the comment XD.

I remember the feeling of playing those games where you couldn't save your progress on the atari 2600 and you had to be really good... there were no checkpoints and no memory cards either... now they have everything too easy and they keep complaining for have more facilities.

Currently I watch several Youtubers from the 90s generation, but only because I enjoy seeing how they are so fags crying over anything in games, so I have a point of reference to evaluate how rotten the current generations are.

Am I rude? Yes, but I really despise people who are not capable of being rational and earning things with merit and effort.

Sorry for the previous mega comment, I'll try to control myself for future occasions hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember the original Atari. I played the Atari 2600 a lot so many memories. Missile command, asteroids, and a few others. I played the original Nintendo for a short time. There was another console I played a bit but forgot it's name, Sega?? I loved Mike Tyson's punch out. I remember blowing on the cartridges to get them to work, oh the days. What was your favorite game on those consoles?

Mega comment, haha it didn't lesson my reading pleasure :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I spent all my time playing pacman and Defender on the atari, and some time later I got the intellevision fever, it was great. I remember that she played a lot of bowling, dungeons and dragons, we ended up damaging the plastic that was put on the controls that were used so much hahaha.

Good times, very good times!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The graphics have changed and the term "joy stick" has been lost. I think I will use that term with my son. I'm sure I will get dumbfounded look, haha.

I'd still have fun playing those old games. Once there use to be many arcades, those days are almost gone at least here. My eyes would light up seeing all the line ups of games. Being a kid back than was more fun. A lot of kids now stay cooped up at home playing games because they can talk to thier friends through the games.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So here is

Doom

I still enjoy the classics, this is a screenshot that I just took right now on my computer.

I'm a lover of retro games, in fact I have a gameplay channel on 3speak where I make videos, currently I'm not active because I don't have a graphics card (I need one because the obs asks me to record videos, I'm from linux and I don't want to use no other software that is not obs, because it annoys me), but when I manage to buy one, I'll go back to my old ways, I dedicate myself to playing classic gameboy in black and white. I leave you the link of my channel in case you want to take a look, but I clarify that the gameplays are in Spanish, which is my native language.

https://3speak.tv/user/manclar.gaming

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Spanish is ok I know a little. Plus I've been wanting to improve it anyways.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice, please free to drop any comment or critize my videos! , that It will be very helpful for me!.

And if you need to practice Spanish, you're just a call away on Discord!

discord user : manclar#7816

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think that, like everywhere, there is not only black and white. I am neither good nor bad. I am average.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is a wise position, I also believe that the best position is to defend one's own interests and that this must be adapted to the scenario... the problem with this is that by assuming certain positions that are conventionally labeled as controversial, society is not going to stop criticizing you

And for that reason it is a delicate subject, showing his true position or not, to the world.

To do that you have to be very clear about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago