What Should You Learn From Me?

7 44

08.05.22

What kind of parent I am going to be? What type of parenting style should I do? These are some questions that will run on your mind once you become a parent or even if you have a baby on the way.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Hey, welcome to my day 21st of my 30-day writing challenge and it goes a little something like this....

What three lessons do you want your children to learn from you?

It's hard to think of things like these when you are new to parenting. I don't even know if the lessons I've learned in my life will be as valuable to my child.

I feel like I needed to think this through but since I am already sleepy, I'll post what comes to my mind first.

  • Respect is earned

In our family (father side), we are too many to mention and we were raised differently but the bad parenting parts were almost the same. I think it goes with the blood.

Anyway, our generation was a bit more open and we would sometimes discuss that we respect is not automatically given to people older than us. Regardless of age, we should respect people who respects us. Anyone who doesn't respect us, doesn't deserve our time and effort.

  • Giving benefit of the doubt

If there's one thing that I learned in life from my experience is to simply give benefit of the doubt to people.

Let's say giving benefit of the doubt is also like giving chances to other people in your life, especially new people in your life. You need to get to know them by not judging them based on your first impression, based on one instance, or even based on a happy/bad moment.

I've always believed that there are reasons for things that we do and how we act. Seeing a person act a particular way in a given situation may vary from time to time, or you get to see how they handle things. That's how you get to know them. We can't just know people just by looking or judging them or just by listening ONE time. We need to follow through and know what kind of person that is or what made them as a person.

  • There's always a right approach to things

Honestly, I may not be a good example to this. I was raised in a family wherein, your problems are yours and yours alone. Solve and deal with it on your own.

I am glad that I found friends who taught and showed me different approach to things. They serve as my accomplice, my partners in crime, my shitty life adviser, my sisters from another mothers, my besties, my soulmates.

I am gonna be honest with you that our friendship wasn't always perfect but one thing that matters to us is we value each other. Through time, we got to know each other more and we have different approach to things. We ask one of us or all of us about things that we should or shouldn't do for a particular situation. We have to keep our minds open and not be too sensitive if one don't side with any of us.

We've always believed that there are different types of approach in solving a problem. One could be quick, fast but doesn't give a Sh**T, one could be considerate but lots of things to consider, one would say ignore things like this but make sure that you get what gives you peace of mind, and one that we all love is solve it in a funny way and move on.

I just hope that I can teach these things to SassaGorl when she grows up. I am hoping that I would be the mother that I would like to be and to be not the parent that I have.

For now I just have to breathe, enjoy the wonders of having a 14months old little hooman.

LOLOVEs!

Lead image from unsplash

Closing banner edited from toonme.com

Image posted are mine unless stated

All rights reserved. Micontingsabit

6
$ 1.22
$ 1.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
$ 0.02 from @grey23espartinas
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Someday in the future, these are also one of the learnings that I want my children to learn to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a very nice things to teach to your little one sis and I believe you will be the best mother for her. God bless to the both of you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I really do hope so sis. Huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parenting is crucial. There's no manual as to how to do it well but it's always right to rely on God's words.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True, adjustment forevs na ituuu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Respect it is! Bless you, sis. You're doing an amazing mommy job!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako views ko pa lang yan. Di ko pa sure if magagawa ko talaga yaaaaan

$ 0.00
1 year ago