Tantrums

12 32

062022

Ompong..

Ompong was a made up name which came from sumpong. Since I was a kid, they made it sound a little cute that's why they came up with Ompong. My parents named my tantrums, Ompong when I was a kid.

I can still remember that they used to tease me 'Oh ayan na si Ompong' (Oh no Ompong is here) whenever I throw a tantrum when I was a kid. Other than that, I can't recall why did I throw a tantrum. Well I was just a kid so, I won't even remember.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Anyway, I just want to share how shocked I was when I realized Lil B was already throwing tantrums. A few days ago, I posted an article titled 'Bi-Annual Snap' because I realized that I snapped every 6 months char! I was basically having a motherhood tantrum (let's just call it that).

After my 2nd snap incident I realized one thing. Lil B was already throwing tantrums. I felt like it was too early, that's why I didn't think of it as a tantrum in the first place. How did I know? Because she doesn't act that way a few days before. If you have read my previous article, my mother and I had a fight and that resulted me to still not talk to her until now.

The next day after that incident, the same thing happened and I realized something. She did the exact same cry the following morning then before we go to bed, I decided to bathe her and she did the same thing too. I was talking to my husband at the same time and one thing popped up in my head, was Lil B throwing a tantrum? I was surprised, shocked at her age she already knows how to throw a tantrum. It can't be, it's too early.

Her tantrum trigger? It was the toothbrush. She likes bitting her toothbrush which I let her do but before she does that, I will need to brush her little teeth first and that's where she throws the tantrum. Same cry, same loudness, same actions. Yes, I am pretty positive that it is a tantrum.

My husband researched how to deal with it too. I did research about it too and that's when I confirmed that it was a tantrum.

Here are some indications that a child is a throwing tantrums:

Source

  • whining

  • crying, screaming, and yelling

  • kicking and hitting

  • holding their breath

  • pushing

  • biting

  • going limp

  • throwing items

  • tensing and thrashing their body

Yes, she did all of these. That's why my mother thought that she's crying in a different way and there could be something wrong. Clearly, my mother already forgot how to take care of a baby because all of her kids were grown ups now. But what she did to Lil B was exactly what the Lil B wanted. Lil B got what she wanted by throwing a tantrum, by doing negative things just to seek adult's attention.

All I need to do is to wait for her to calm down but my mother didn't let me. She gave in to Lil B's demands, which is very hard to follow through if you want to teach a child who can't talk yet a little discipline.

I don't want to result to being a naggy, loud mother who always yells to her child. I wanted to practice that, I don't want to turn my frustrations into her that's why I waited. But I can't do that because my mother thought I am mistreating her, as if she didn't hit and almost tried to kill me when I was in gradeschool. I don't want to turn into her. I basically want to be a different mother than she was.

She's growing up too fast.

That I didn't even notice a tantrum is already on its way. Well, the first couple of years of a baby is their fastest development and I shouldn't be surprised but I was.

Ways to respond to a tantrum

  • Stay calm

  • ignore tantrum

  • present other distractions

  • comfort

It's just simply not giving in to a tantrum. Staying calm and avoid getting frustrated. Other things, toys, or tv shows for distraction.

I am trying my best to not let my frustrations eat me and show it to Lil B. I know for myself that I may find gentle parenting too hard for me to do because maybe I have anger management issue. No worries, I am trying my best to stay calm and not let anything eat me. I know that this is just a phase, a long phase that I need to adjust, probably a lifelong phase in different ways.

Ompong's going to be back soon and I hope that my mother won't interfere with my methods anymore. I am the one who spends time with Lil B 24/7 and probably knows how she acts more than my mother.

I think I should stand my ground now.

6
$ 2.43
$ 2.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kli4d
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 2
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

sa kaptid ko dati kapag nag tantrum na sya, pinapatapos po muna namin bago sya pakalamahin at suyuin. kapag kasi pinansin mo, lalong tatagal.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Dun nagsstart nga maging spoiled or maging attention seeker ang bata. Tapos in a negative way pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes we have to wait talaga for the toddlers to finish whining, matatapos din yun, we have to just give them the attention , being there sa side nila when they do the tantrums and assure them that we are there, our presence is important.. physical touch can help din kasi di pa nila maunawaan ang emotions na nararamdaman nila, we have to guide them..

pero sana nga hinayaan muna ni mom mo and let you do your parenting part. that's why again, minsan mahirap pag same roof tayo ni parents.. ganyan din minsan si mama ko ....

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Eto na yung part na magiging magkaaway na kami ng anak ko ahahahha. Alam mo yung naiintindihan na pala nya yung ibang bagay bagay kaya sya nagiiiyak dn. Ang galing nga momsh eh. Naaamaze na lang ako minsan na ang bilis pala talaga lumaki ng babies

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ng part na magiging magkaaway na kami ng anak ko ahahahha. Alam mo yung naiintindihan na pala nya yung ibang bagay bagay kaya sya nagiiiyak dn. Ang galing nga momsh eh. Naaamaze na lang ako minsan na ang b

napaka bright ng mga babies momsh noh?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo momsh. Wonders of life nga naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

goodluck mare ayan magsisimula na mga tantrums nyan kaya more patient na saiyo. well okay lang yan sis if madisiplina mo sya. wag lang ung bang abubug berna na aabutin nya ha wahahaha charot lang kaya mo yan momsh bastaa kapag naiirita ka na, layo ka lang tapos hinga malalim yaan mo sya umiyak or mag inarte.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako yan nga ang ayaw kong gawin kasi may tendency talaga ako na maging ganyan. Minsan nga sinasabayan ko na dn sya ng iyaaaaak. Nako sinasabi ko sayo, baka paglaki nito artista to HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahahaahha okay lang yan mare kaya mo yan basta pigilan mo sarili mo na mapalo kasi sunod sunod na yan I tell youuuu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako minsan. Sis di ko Kaya mag handle ng tantrums talaga, Kaya ang ginagawa ko tatahimik muna ako at hahayaan ko sya, Para hindi ako ma emosyon. Hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yun nga dn sana gusto ko gawin, kaso minsan talaga may kumokontra na lola dito eh ahahaha. Kaya after na magtantrums sya mas lalo sya naging iyakin, nagpaparinig tuloy ako dito na ayan napagbigyan kase tapos sila dn mahihirapan kasi di laro ng matagal kasi matatanda na sila HAHAHHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, ganyan din ang parents ko sa mga apo Nila. Kaya sila ang sumasagip kasi Naga galit sila pag Yong Bata iyak ng iyak.

$ 0.00
1 year ago