Last Shot Done!

16 36

09.22.22

Immunization for babies is essential. We know that they are very delicate and prone to diseases. Getting immunization shots for babies is one of the first steps in taking care of them.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

I would like to thank @Pinkchic for taking a spot on my sponsors' block.

I have shared a few weeks ago that we were looking for a pediatrician when we moved here to Tacloban.

We already found one but she was a pretty irresponsible doctor for not meeting us up on our appointment. Here's the full story, Not a pleasure to meet you, doc.

After that incident we kind of lost trust in some people here in Tacloban. Me and my husband are not generalizing but some professionals here feel so entitled or so important as if clients or patients should be the ones to adjust because we need them. We basically got pissed off and decided to go to the health center.

Private pedia immunization vs public health center immunization

The only difference is you can get FREE immunization from public health centers. However, not all immunization is free. Some immunization is optional and if you have the money to get them, why not?

You can also check this link for reference.

Why did we decide to go to a doctor?

My husband and I discussed where should we get Lil B's immunization when she was just a newborn. I gave birth to the same hospital my sister did and we also have the same pedia doctor, I got an idea of how much each immunization costs. I was shocked and I told my husband if we can just go the public health center. That time restrictions are confusing and we were afraid that going to a public health center may expose Lil B to more people. My husband decided to get the shots from our pedia doctor instead.

Then when the restrictions were not that tight anymore, my husband still wants Lil B to get all the vaccine that she can get.

MMR 2, done!

Since my husband and I decided to go to a public health center, I asked our neighbor because they have a 6month old baby. They told me where to go and we went there last Monday.

It was almost noon when we got there and they already had a cut-off. We asked instead and they told us to go to the Tacloban City Hospital on Wednesdays.

Yes, yesterday we went there. My husband had to go to Samar early and he just dropped us off to Tacloban City Hospital, then we can just commute going back home.

We got there around 8.30 am and we were third in line.

They weighed her in and measured her height, then waited for a few minutes to get the shot.

The nurse/staff there checked her baby book to see what else Lil B can get. Instead of getting only MMR2 vaccine, they gave her IPV vaccine and a dose of Vitamin A too.

Of course, she cried after injecting the vaccine but as soon as I let her hold her baby book she stopped.

I find it funny too because the nurse mentioned that Lil B looks like Solenn and Nico Bolzico's daughter, Thylane. Well, I am not sure about that HAHAHA!

Public health center vaccines are for free but they are also seeking donations.

My husband already mentioned this and when he gave me money, he doesn't have a small bill or change. He gave me his coin pouch and a thousand peso bill. Since I don't have a smaller bill, I was observing other people there on how much they will donate. I saw that the other mother put 20 peso bill/s there but I don't know exactly how much she donated.

Right after we get the shots, we seated outside to give way to the other babies in line and I also needed to sort out our things before going home. To my surprise, one of the staff followed me outside and asked for a donation. I wasn't dissing it off because I already noticed that she put the box on the front table after they weighed Lil B. I was just surprised that she had to follow me outside and literally ask for a donation. As soon as I sorted out our things, I checked my purse and see how many coins do I have. I decided to give them five 20 pesos coins instead. It's still a big savings for us since we got the vaccines for free. I just wished that they weren't that a little aggressive on donations.

I told her to smile

Off we go!

I feel like I need to explain why she's only wearing a cap while the sun is so up high. HAHAHAHA! My husband reminded me to get the umbrella but I told him no because I got my hands full already. I can't probably hold it while I have Lil b with me, because she walks for a little then asked to be carried, and then walks for a few minutes.

I decided to go to 7/11 just around the corner and saw something gold.

Yes! Coke! I know it's not the regular Coca Cola but that will do for I've been craving it for weeks now. That's enough to satisfy me.

Language barrier

I was actually shy to talk to locals here. I don't speak Waray, I know that they can understand and speak Tagalog but I am still shy for some reason.

There was a jeepney waiting across the road and I seated behind the driver just to avoid any misunderstandings. Handed the fare and where we will get off. Good thing that the landmark was just Robinson's mall.

That was our first and last visit to a public health center as the MMR2 vaccine is the last one for 1yr old toddlers. I know that there are still boosters available but due to our financial issues, we can't get them anymore. Well, at least Lil B's vaccine is complete for her age.

We wish you good health Lil b!

lead image from unsplash.com

pictures posted is mine unless stated

all original content. Micontingsabit

Check me out on
Noise.cash|Micontingsabit
Noise.App|Micontingsabit
Hive|Miconteangsabeat
PublishOx|Micontingsabit

8
$ 2.99
$ 2.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @MaeAntoinette
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Buti naman at natapos na rin ang vaccine ni baby. Pero may donations pala? Hindi ko naexperience yan. Libre lang sa health center ang immunization at walang mga donation box na yan. Siguro may purpose sila dun pero sana hindi naman pinupush na magdonate ka talaga

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Okay lang naman na magdonate ako sis, pero sinundan ako sa labas hahahaha. Baka pang meryenda nila. Char!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cuteee! You're daughter indeed look like Thylane poo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hala seryoso hahahaha thank youuu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

opo superr

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kami sis sa health center kami nagpavaccine sa dalawang anak ko, kasi Libre Lang naman, wala Kang babayaran, di uso ang pedia sa bukid sis, kasi magastos din.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Basta kung ano naman meron tska noon afford pa naman namin makakuha ng ibang vaccine. Mas malapit din kasi yung pedia namin doon ss marikina kesa sa health center

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, nakakauhaw naman ng mga softdrinks na yan.. Sana all marami pang softdrinks sa area nila.. Dito sa amin nagkakaubusan na.. Nakakamiss yung coke original.. Huhu..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako bihira nga makakita ng coke dito eh natyempuhan ko siguro kasi umaga pa lang nung nakadaan kami. Pero mas gusto ko yung originaaaaal. Tinitipid ko kaya inumin tong coke light hahahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Noon kapag mag papa immunize ako sa anak ko puro kaba at pag aalala ko sa bata dahil takot talaga ako magkalagnat xa pero normal lang naman yon pero kahit na. Buti naman at last shot na si lil b ang ganda pa naman ng ngiti nya parang anak ng artista.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lagi nga kami may libreng paracetamol or vitamins dun sa pedia nya kapag magbabakuna sya. Ngiwi ang ngiti eh hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe cute nya siguro pagsabi mo na mag-smile sya. Anyway, I remember noong nagpunta akong Nueva Ecija, nahihiya rin akong magtagalog kasi baka ma-weirduhan sila sa accent ko ng Tagalog hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako kahit di sabihin kapag nakita nyang may camera, automatic na ganyan itsura nya. Dibaaaaa di ko nga alam bakit nahihiya ako kahit naiintindihan naman nila akooo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda naman nung smile ni baby sis sa photo. Ang cute naman. 🥰 Oo sis nabasa ko nga yung article mo nun about sa doctor na hindi sumipot sa appointment.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nako minsan kunot noo lang smile nyan hahahaha. Kinulit nga kami last time nun eh pinappunta kami sa clinic kasi may patient din daw sya na ppunta para isahan nalang. I mean wala naman problem samin if ganun gagawin nya pero sana ininform nya kami, hindi yung biglaan tapos kelangan pabor sa sched nya

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yan nga sis. Problema yung biglaan wag naman ganun. Dapat inform talaga wag biglaan para Maka pag prepare naman yung tao.

$ 0.00
1 year ago