I should've..

17 55

10.18.22

Let me get back on track with the 30-day writing challenge. I'm done with a few more topics/days, and the remaining topics seem to be interesting. Hmmm... How long will it take me to finish the last 5 topics?

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Where were we? Day 26?

Write about an area in your life that you'd like to improve

This is a hard one to think through. I don't know exactly what I would like to improve aside from the fact that I want to improve my whole being. There are too many areas in my life so to say, but this topic should only be for one area in my life.

Money matters

Yes, that's my answer. I would like to improve my financial status or capability.

Most of us do. Most people would aim to get a job that can get them a high-paying salary or at least meet their needs. If you think that I may be the 'money can buy happiness' type, no I am not. I just want to live comfortably and when you get old or reached the stage of adulting, you'll realize a few things. I did realize a few things that I should've done when I was still single and had a job.

  1. Save

  2. Invest

  3. Insure

  4. Educate

*If you have thoughts to add, feel free to mention them in the comments section. :)

Past jobs

Let me give you a little background...

I am a graduate Bachelor in Office Administration, Major in Corporate Transcription it is a secretarial course and we can explore the world of corporate, medical, and legal offices.

I was a working student when I was in college. I earn minimum wage and just enough to get my daily allowance from my salary. I still ask my parents for tuition fees if my budget from my salary is short. Just to let you know, I graduated from a state university wherein our tuition fee is just around a thousand pesos (20$). Earning minimum wage (around 400 pesos or $8) per day for a part-time job is enough for me to go to work, school, and eat.

My first job after I graduated was as a part-time teacher for kids. It was just a 2-month deal but I managed to earn at least around 4,000 per class. I got around 2 to 3 classes in 2 months.

Project Assistant. I took my chances to find jobs in the working capital of the Philippines, Makati. I got hired by one of the known Telecommunications Companies namely, Smart Communications. I got excited to be employed by a such company but certain things happen and my salary wasn't enough. They offered new hires a minimum wage but you can work overtime at home every weekend if you like. The thought that it could be a good deal enough for me, I took the job. By the way, I wasn't a direct hire from that company but we were hired by a third-party company that deploys contractual employees to other companies. The contractual period was supposed to be 6 months and it is yet to decide if your supervisor would like to hire you permanently. Unfortunately, there were other Project assistants in other departments that weren't regularized after 6 months. With no assurance that we will be regularized and expecting a little salary raise, I left the company. I just want a little raise so I can have enough

Legal secretary. I tried my luck in a legal office wherein my friend recommended me to replace her position. I took the offer right away as it seems like they are a good company. Minimum wage salary with a few allowances, overtime rate, and hoping for a good working environment. Well, some expectations were met, but there were unexpected things too. I didn't like how my colleagues took advantage of me as a new employee and the senior partner in that firm was too arrogant as if no one can make mistakes in the first few weeks or months of hire. I remember him yelling at me 'nag-aral ka ba!?' (did you study?). I got offended that he yelled at me for the reason that I can't read his penmanship properly. Imagine encoding legal documents and reading his doctor-like penmanship which I will take time to get used to. It was fine if he stays in gives me documents all the time for me to familiarize his handwriting but no. He stays once or twice a week in the office. I can easily say that if you're such an intelligent lawyer, you could've studied how to use a computer too. Of course, I didn't say that, I just extended my patience for a few more weeks just for the sake of getting my 13th month pay and submitted my immediate resignation.

Call Center Agent. After that horrible experience, I felt at home when I worked as a call center agent in Quezon city. The salary offered was just enough for my needs, and wants, and helped my parents in the way I can most of the time with groceries. I stayed there for 3 years until I transferred to a different company.

I wish I could have...

I can say that being a call center agent got me a better-paying salary/job in exchange for my patience char! Although I got through it, I did regret not doing something financially. All I did was buy food that we can't afford before, drink with friends, and buy hair dyes, shoes, clothes, or other things that we didn't do or have when we were young.

I didn't even educate myself financially, thinking that I was too young for it and that I need to enjoy my salary the best that I can.

I didn't even save or even thought of saving. Spending all my money until the last peso was my need.

I didn't even invest in something for a long-term purpose like a house or perhaps a business.

I didn't even get insurance for me or my parents.

Now that I have my own family, I blame my parents for not teaching us such. There were not to blame by the way. Maybe I got used to doing what I saw they are doing, how they spend but not educating myself to save money for myself or my future. All I know back then was I need to get a decent job that can help us with our finances. But that doesn't assure us that we can have the same job and money while we are living.

It's not too late, yes, but I could've started earlier.

lead image and closing banner edited from Canva

pictures posted are mine unless stated

all original content. Micontingsabit

Check me out on
Noise.cash|Micontingsabit
Noise.App|Micontingsabit

Appics|Micontingsabit

Hive|Miconteangsabeat
PublishOx|Micontingsabit

CryptoTab - BTC mining
Free Bitcoin Cash - BCH mining
Pi Network - Pi

5
$ 0.07
$ 0.03 from @tired_momma
$ 0.02 from @DocLayla
$ 0.01 from @Adrielle1214
+ 1
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Relate ako han sis, im also a working student before jaya ng magkaron ng magndang trabho I pampered my self and family. Kain ng mga d nakkain b4. Gala . Ang pingakaiba lng nkakuha ako ng house & lot n hulugan pero saving wla😔

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow at least nakakuha ka ng investment. Yan ang di ko nagawa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You still have time p nman. Magkakron k dun nyan. Lalo n ngayon u are learning to handle your money in a right way

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually I don't have my own money kasi si husband lang ang nagwwork, pero buti nakahanap kami ng house na hinuhulugan naman namin ngayon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thats good. Atleast you have enjoyed your life before . And now focus na kau sa family nyo 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We learn and it's always never too late and yes wish we did it earlier. I have that sentiment too. God bless us more!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's never too late to learn and we are doing this not for us but for the kids. aja!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even i want to improve more on money matters. Our hardworks will surely pay, amen.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes more blessing for us!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life teaches me to save even a little for the coming days.

I had great experience before, the experience thought me how to save for the coming days

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yung regret talaga na sana noon pa nagawa ko na para less aalalahanin sana noh. Well we can still do it hanggang kaya pa ng ating katawang lupa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Financial, Family and even the mindset, that's I really wanted to improve

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We can do it one at a time sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Almost everyone passed through this challenge of not saving when the money was there...🤗. There's this feeling that comes when there's a regular inflow of finance, it pushes someone to spend because another pay is coming

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, I wish I could've known better or at least someone who taught me how to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You sure have dabbled for long lol. Like you said, it's not too late. Your experiences have made you known better. Lesson learnt.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, it was just too late for me to realize since we got used to living from paycheck to paycheck. Now that I have a child I will make sure to teach her how to save and my investments won't be for me anymore

$ 0.00
1 year ago