You are what you Eat

10 24
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Food! Food! Food! The first thing that comes to mind when we hear or come across the word eat. Basically anything we put in our mouth and swallow down into our stomach is food.

What is food?

Scientifically and medically, food is any substance that can be ingested into the body which contains nutritional entities or nutrients per say which are capable of sustaining growth and other vital processes in the body of an organism and most importantly, provide energy.

Undoubtedly and unquestionably, the above definition is accepted and contains elements of truth pertaining to what food is across the globe. Nevertheless, the striking question is; "is this definition being practiced?", "does the average man apply this definition when choosing what to eat?". I'm afraid its a big, fat NO.

I love eating junk, it's my trademark and its what I'm known for. When I complain of stomach ache in my house, the first thing anyone says is "stop eating junk and sugar". But the truth is I love it, so I can't stop, I can only limit it and I'm trying so hard. It hurts to be away from my junky junks, but I try to! Don't like junk like me! Just thought I should add a little note about myself. Now back to business!

To the starving man whose hunger is stepping up a notch by the minute, "food is anything edible and tasty, nutrient based or not, that can fill his stomach and quench his hunger". To the student who has series of classes and tons of assignment to cover with no time, "food is anything edible that can be picked up from a convenience store, eaten instantly or prepared in less than 5 minutes". To the extravagantly rich Spender, "food is anything edible that is grandiosely arrayed and costs a fortune".

Irrespective of which of the above definition you apply, all of them say that food is edible. what differentiates them now is if the food to be consumed will give the body the right things that the body needs or if it will cause harm to the body.

I know you might be laughing and wondering, how can food cause harm again? Yes! food taken into the body can harm the body if it is not properly observed and consumed in the right proportion.

The irrefutable effects of the senses, especially the Eyes, Nose and Tongue on our food choices is massively gaining more stand with every moment that passes by. Every one wants to eat what looks nice and smell nice and taste nice. The synergy of these 3 senses almost makes it too easy for just about anyone to consume anything. The fact that it produces a nice aroma, can take one to heaven with just one bite and to put icing on the cake, it looks so inviting and captivating that one cannot take their eyes off it, is enough to compel anybody to eat it, whether it is healthy or not.

The fact that a particular food has the above qualities, doesn't make it entirely fit for consumption.Now you may ask:"what then should I eat?", "must food be bland, ugly and colorless?". Definitely a NO! sweetheart. Even Dogs won't eat that.

**THE WRONG REASONS TO MAKE A FOOD CHOICE

• Any food item should not be chosen and eaten based on how beautiful and inviting it is. Don't forget all that glitters is not gold.

• Ah! Its so tasty can I have another? And another? And another?. Darling! You are doing yourself more harm than good. There is no crime in having good taste and nutritional content, so be wise!.

• Band wagon effect. "Since I can't make a choice and others are buying this, let me join them. After all, if its good for them, it will be good for me also". Once again you have chosen without considering if such item is worthy to be consumed or not, this is wrong!

One of the things that makes us human are our wants and desires for the future. "I want to be a model", "I want glowing skin when I'm 30", "I want to be on the cover of Forbes by the time I'm 70'',"I don't want to use glasses in the future", "i want to have a flat tommy" and so forth. These are all positive demands for our future. You'll never find anyone wishing other wise. "I want wrinkled skin", "I want to be obsessed", "i want to look haggard" its impossible!

We sometimes forget that we need to be in good health to even come close to actualizing any of these dreams, and good health comes with good food!. If you've been unmindful of what you eat, turn a new leaf today. Welcome on board veggies, nuts, fruits and berries, meats, grains, legumes, tubers, diary etc, and say welcome to your dreams. Say no to junk, live right and eat right. Always remember...

"today you are what you eat, tomorrow you become what you've eaten".

Thanks for reading!!

5
$ 0.44
$ 0.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
+ 1
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

Imagine, I'm reading this while eating junk foods. Lol! I will drink more water and do exercise, just I miss to eat this:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can imagine😁. At least you are conscious of it and will make the effort to balance up right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Sis, I'm trying. Specially tomorrow another week to start:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eating the right food is very important for our health but the thing is, healthy food is actually expensive. And judging by the present economic state of the country, lots of people are ok with eating foods of low quality, as long as it gets them filled

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are so right zee, its what the economic conditions of our country has caused. Well, we will try our best to eat right at least once in awhile.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I once followed my friends to a popular restaurant to taste a trending food. I spent lot of money on it and waited with anticipation for the waiter to bring it to our table. It was a disaster. The taste and smell was something else. I couldn't eat it but my friends ate it with smiles on their faces. Later one of them told me he forced himself, he detest the food but wanted to keep his face in public.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow...so much money wasted. Well I'm glad you didn't chose to forcefully eat it up. Its better to let the money go that endager you health by eating what's inappropriate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like your title, what we are/do is to a large extent as a result of our diet. But in low income countries like Nigeria, you don't really get to be choosy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We just have to try our best in order to keep our health in check.

$ 0.00
2 years ago