Why be egocentric?

9 31
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Good evening guys, today has been filled with a lot of stress, drama, stress and even more drama. Don't worry, I'll let you in on how it all transpired and why it all occurred.

I knew man was indeed a selfish entity, but I guess what I had not yet understood was the depth or should I say the extent of the selfishness of man.

Due to the recent happenings around me, I'm forced to conclude that people only speak up and say something when they are affected by a thing or when the people they care about are touched by it. When the above mentioned is not the case, they feel unconcerned, because to them the people who are at the front of the issue have no ties to them. This is just sickening to me. As a matter of fact, I find it disgusting and socially unacceptable!

Why should one be comfortable to see a human like them crash and burn and turn a blind eye conveniently without one ounce of remorse or pain? What's even more sad is that it is now a socially accepted act that we all now indulge in either subconsciously or consciously.

I don't know if you've ever been in a situation where you're in your house and you hear someone outside your compound screaming for help, on top of their voice. Well in my country Nigeria where I am from, someone screaming for help outside is an alarm to lock up their doors and every opening that they have in their house and leave whosoever is screaming outside to decide their fate.

This is all so sad really! I've even heard people say that doing that is justifiable cos they want to keep them and theirs safe. Imagine the number of lives we could save if we all can just come together and stand up for what's right whether it will be of benefits to us or not. I think its time we let go of the mentality that if it won't help me in any way its not my business. We don't put into consideration that that little action that you will stand up to take might just be what will save you in the future or save someone who will in turn be of help to you later in life!

Everything in life cannot be about the present only. Life is too vast to focus on just this minute when you can think ahead and come up with ways to make the world a better place for the people you are yet to meet and know, as well as for your self.

How I wish the word self was non existent and we all had to do things for the other person and not for ourselves, I think this world would be a lot better. Because it seems like you and even I also we're blinded by the thought of how to enrich ourselves with all good things of life that we forget about other people.

Let me share what someone said to me a few years ago:

He said Ruth, do you know that most of the gifts and talents that you have are not yours for keeps? Do you know that you were equipped with those things to make a difference to people and enrich the world at large?

As funny as this may sound, I think its true. If you're a Christian, and you're familiar with the story of the talents, you may remember what happened to the man who had one talent and kept if unused and hid in the ground? The one talent he had was taken away and given to another to use and make profit out of it.

Here is another problem, money! We all want money and even me too, I probably need more than you do. We all want to use what we have and convert it to a money making means. Every profit in life doesn't have to be money related. This is where I think we miss it. There are some relationships and friendships that are worth more than silver or gold, that money itself cannot buy. I don't know about you but if I were asked to choose between excess riches and the people around me living peacefully and in joy, I think I'd choose the latter.

How about you, what would it be for you? As easy as I made my choice, I know it might not be for you so please do well to let me know your choice in the comment section.

Lest I forget, i promised to share the drama i saw today at the beginning of this article. Don't worry, i haven't forgotten. So here goes nothing!

Today was a day to do my practical called feed formulation and only a few of my classmates paid. I was among those who went to the market to get the materials we needed and it took quite a while and consumed all my energy that I had to stop somewhere and get a bottle of pepsi and eggroll to replenish myself. After all this stress, we got back to the farm only to face a panel that was ready to have us thrown into jail because they were not listed among the people to participate in the practical today. When it was their fault that they were absent from school all this while!

What I actually found funny was the fact that this same person was only speaking up because she was affected by what happened and not because what we did was wrong. I wish i could give you the full details but i think that will be an article for another day.

Closing thoughts

Life shouldn't revolve around you alone, it should include other people too and you should take into cognizance how your actions affect them and how they react to it. Above all, let love lead and don't forget do unto others what you want them to do unto you. Lastly as chic and flam like egocentricity sounds, its not good for your health!

My amazing sponsors are below, take out time to check them out!

Thanks for reading!!

Mhizutty the voice of truth🎵🎶🎵

5
$ 0.94
$ 0.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 1
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

The one bad effect of our society is one and only money that makes some people up or some down to equal to shoes, Actually that's not right to got furious in little problem and grown up as they can

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for stopping by, we look forward to a day our problems will get better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the sad reality of life especially in Nigeria. Everybody is only concerned about self and loved ones. Everyone is always minding their business and playing safe as if one day they wouldn't be in a difficult situation and would require the assistance if others. A lecturer of mine once said : A resident of abuja or port Harcourt would be more concerned and worried about his headache than the hundreds of lives been lost in Maiduguri on a daily. this is the sad reality of life ... And sometimes if you try to speak up against injustice as an individual, people around you would discourage and instill fear in you, saying that if you get into trouble with the powers that be, then you are on your own. Its a pleasure meeting you sis

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Its a pleasure to meet you too. I pray God helps us!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People should be willing to help other people out. It's the only way the society will grow

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! You are right, we need each other to survive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the past, people will always help whenever their neighbor is in trouble, but overtime people no longer care what happens to another person as long as it doesn't affect them and I guess it's because we are no longer close as we used to be in the past

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You have a point, it's easier to help a neighborhood that one knows and understand than a total stranger. It would have been nice to go back to those days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago