Tears!

10 26
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Howdy read fam! Happy first Sunday of the year to you guys. How has your day been? Great I suppose? Service today was awesome, it felt great to be in the first Sunday service of 2022. There was so much joy everywhere and it felt good.

My day today has been long, after the usual service, I had a choir meeting, to strategize and prepare for the agenda of the year. That meet took alot of time as we discussed the wrongs of the previous year that were not to be brought into the new year, the mistakes that we made as well as the rights that we needed to improve on for more growth.

As much as the discussion was sacrosanct, my belly seemed to disagree as it kept rumbling and screaming cos it was very empty. I had to disregard it and do the needful. A tough choice but I chose it anyway.

The meeting ended and we got to taking photos. I don't know if you are someone who likes trend, but if you cared to pay enough attention, you'd notice that almost every status on whatsapp had a pic posted with the caption happy "first Sunday of the year". I'm not saying I got to take pics because of the above reason, but just to have a good time with my family and to make memories. Not that I'm saying that I did not get to post the pics on my status though cos I did😁

Home was the next thing on my mind cos as mentioned earlier, I was more than hungry, I was famished! I ended up shoving heavy spoons of rice inside my mouth at a speed on could call the speed of hunger 😁, without paying attention to the peering eyes of my sister who was somewhat surprised.

I spent the rest of my time with my sister who plans to travel tomorrow, so we were both making preparations for her journey and getting everything she needed in order.

Speaking about traveling, school is resuming for me Soon but sadly I'm not psyched or excited at all, I wish it was not happening so soon but what can I do? Sadly nothing!

I noticed something today while I was with my sister at the market that most of the shops were closed and the market was rather almost empty. This made me begin to think that I'm probably the only one who is not taking time out to rest for the new year.

I don't know about you but I have lots of activities lined up for me already that one would not even believe that the year had just started.

It almost seems that today's article is about my day and what I've been up to. Not what I intended though but what can I say I go where my fingers take me. This just made me remember what a friend of mine posted on his status sometimes ago;

We are slaves of the pen!

I think this happens to the best of us, having a line of thought or an envisioned picture to paint, but a few lines into it, you find out that you've derailed from your targeted story line. It has happened to me times too numerous to mention and often times, I end up just changing the topic and going in the path where my pen has chosen to lead me.

Most times, the pen is a reflection of personal experiences and encounters that are dwelling in our subconscious at that particular moment, and as we write, it just finds a way( how wired) to bring itself into expression. Surprising right? I know this may be wierd to some people who have not experienced it before but I also think that majority of the writers on this platform have experienced it times without number like me! And even now i like to think it's still in play..

To the business of the day

My niece has been with us since a week now, she came around for the new year celebrations. She's a little cute baby that's just two and a half years old. She's also a bit of a handful with a mouth too large for her age but we love her though. I'm mentioning her because she has this way of silently crying that makes her pitiable and innocent even when she's not at times. This leads me to my next question " are you moved by tears?".

Is it manipulative?

I've heard people say to others that they should be careful of people who cry alot, that they are very manipulative and that they are just trying to get you to do what they want by using their tears to get you.

Now is this notion wrong? Certainly not! I've seen people actively fake crying. Kids even do it alot these days just to avoid being punished. And many other worse scenarios.

But this doesn't mean that there are people who genuinely express their hurt through tears. I'm a very emotional person and quick to tears. I can even cry for the littlest of things like a song or a happy ending in a nice movie. I'm just a cry baby, I know right! I cry sincerely when I do, so I know that there are people who cry for just reasons!

Tears are more than a weapon for attracting pity or exthorting affection, money, pity and the likes. The fact that people have chosen to weaponise something so passionate and expressive into a tool for selfish gains is just sickening If you ask me.

Author's epilogue

It's wrong to sum up every teary expression you see as fake and pity seeking, some people just cry because they can't take things anymore. This is not to say that there are not others who use it for their selfish interests only.

I guess a thorough assessment of the person's life and character will help to completely decipher and differentiate the exthortionist from the expressionist( don't mind my Grammer, it's from Ruth's dictionary 😁)

Thanks for reading guys!

Thanks @Abubakar450 for the sponsorship today, what a way to start the new year. To my other sponsors, you guys rock!!

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

6
$ 2.45
$ 2.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Greatwolfman
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 1
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

I also noticed that markets and the streets are not as full as before, and that's probably because a lot of people travelled to their hometown for the new year celebration (especially the igbos)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right..full market activity should be expected by next or more!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish i had same power as you . writing through heart

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think you can have this power too, it's just writing without actively trying..thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The problem is nothing come up my mind

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't think about it too much, it helps!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi dear Ruth, it's been a long time I heard from you, I've always wanted to say hi on WhatsApp but been procrastinating due to being extremely busy and all. Will contact you soon. I do hope you're doing fine.

Happy new year!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm doing great Kris! I hope the new year is treating you well already? So nice of you to check on me, I'm grateful..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The new year is feeling really good on me, and I'm glad to be here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's niceπŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago