Parenting!

1 13
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

I almost screamed at a brother in church today who mentioned that parenting these days was way better than in the days of old. He even went as far as to mention that parents of this dispensation encourage education more than the parents of old, who cared less about the education of their children and more about their farms and the crops they grew.

I kept on thinking in my head what area or vicinity this brother lives in, cos where I have lived in and the places I've been, there were and are still alot of children who walk about with trays on their heads hawking different types of foodstuffs during school hours and yes, I'm referring to these times because I'm pretty too much too young to be talking out the olden days.

Without mincing words, I can assure you that the style or manner of parenting in the old is far more effective and efficient unlike these days. It does have its shortcomings yes, and so does this so called modern day parenting.

Well, so you don't think I spent the whole 2hrs which the service lasted thinking about parenting, I had an awesome time in church and I'm sure God accepted the praise I gave today cos I made sure to add those new dance moves I've been practising. Now that I've settled the fact that I praised God and was present in church both body, soul and spirit, let's get back to parenting...

A parent who sends their child to school, picks up the child everyday and gives the child everything he or she needs for school is a parent who supports education right? I'm sure you said yes. What about a parent who makes sure they set out time to go through the books of the child and find out what the child is actually learning at school, if it's the necessity or otherwise. What category does this parent fall into?

What we have these days are parents who buy fancy backpacks for their kids, the most expensive Lunchboxes and shoes but cannot shower same interest they have for outward appearance on the most important, which is the brain of the child.

There are parents who think that enrolling their child in the most expensive schools is all they have to do. Their child therefore becomes the responsibility of the teacher from that point on.

Just because more attention is paid on the frivolous things that do not really matter these days, doesn't make it better than the days of the old. A child who schooled in the old dispensation may not have belt for his trousers but he would dare not go to school and not learn because he knew he had no other choice.

Parenting has become something that anybody who births a child jumps into and this is one of the reasons why there are issues in the society because there is failure in this aspect.

During the time of our fathers, only girls of marriageable age would be given out for marriage. These days, anybody whether 12 or 19 can birth a child due to so much degradation in society and they have to take care of their child, hence they are parents.

I still think that this present society has a lot to learn cos anyone can be a parent, but not every one can be a good parent.

These are just my opinions, happy Sunday!

Author's Epilogue

Well, I'm glad you stopped by to read my article. You're loved!

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

6
$ 2.72
$ 2.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Talon
$ 0.05 from @Aimure
+ 2
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

That's right, few parents take a minute out of their busy schedule to spend time with their children. To know how their school went or at least help them with their academic activities. Particularly, I believe that education begins at home and at school they only reinforce that learning they should already have. Greetings!

$ 0.00
2 years ago