One day down, 19 to go!

4 16
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

As promised, I'm here to bring you juicy details about today's event. I wouldn't call it juicy though but it is an event. I woke up to some noises and whispering, which made me reach for my phone to check the time and I realized that it was just 2am in the morning. With annonyance and tiredness, I just simply turned and immediately went back to bed.

Although it was 2hrs later, it seemed like a few minutes in my eyes. Someone went about knocking on all the doors, waking everyone up so we could get ready cos we had to be at the farm before 7am and the distance from the house to the farm is quite far, up to 40mins walk

The walk to the farm was quiet as I was playing songs to help my mind focus. I was up ahead and my coursemates were all chatting behind. We got to the farm before 7 and we were ready for the day's activity. Sadly, 1 hour passed and we were just there sitting and laughing to one silly joke or another to while away time, but still we were still anxious to begin.

It was no longer funny when two hours had passed and the manager was nowhere to be found. By this time we had lost that seeming joy we came with and were anonyed cos this time we've wasted would have yielded good sleep at least.

A few mins later the feed mill manager came and shared us into groups of which I fell into the poultry group and then he took away the other guys and told us to wait for manager to come and further instruct us on what needed to be done.

As if we had not already had enough of waiting, we had to wait another 3 hours. This was painful because the other group was working and having fun while we were just sitting. I was even forced to sleep cos I was bored and to worsen it all, my phone was down.

It wasn't until about 1pm before we were approached to finally go and get some work done. By this time I was super excited cos I was already getting irritated by every little thing anybody did and I couldn't take the wait anymore.

We went to pick eggs from the layers section which lasted till about 2pm. The eggs we picked were stacked in crates of tens, which were later sorted to remove the broken ones and to separate them into similar sizes. The thing with this picking was that one had to be careful not to break any, and it tiring to bend and pick for a long time.

The next thing I did was to go to the baby chick unit by 4pm. Here I learnt alot about their feed and methods of handling as well as what certain things I saw there were used for. I also washed their drinking troughs and fed them.

The last thing we did before leaving was to pick eggs in the evening again and then a meeting with the farm manager who later came in and apologized saying he had things to do.

He already told us what we'd be doing tomorrow but we don't know who would be here or there cos he said he'd be dividing us into groups tomorrow. I pray I get the easy job, so wish me luck.

Because I'm too tired today, I would have given a tour of the place. I think I would get to do that tomorrow.

Author's Epilogue

I'm currently battling with sleep right now cos I got back and had to cook and wash and I've not rested.

I guess I should go to bed!

Thanks for reading, stay tuned as there promises to be more exciting things.

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

5
$ 2.04
$ 1.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
$ 0.02 from @Cogamedia
+ 1
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

Ohhh. Maybe, if I was in your position, I would take some eggs for my breakfast hahah. Just kidding.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Really, I wish I could.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You people don't use to eat for free eggs? πŸ€”

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nope...nothing is free, I even had to buy some eggs for myself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago