Morality

2 18
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

It's quite marvelling at how many definitions society holds about the same subject matter. Frankly, I don't think anything less is expected really because society is an umbrella covering alot of personalities from different backgrounds and different environments which no doubt contribute to how they define things.

Just to fill you in on how I am here in the great city of Lagos, apart from the stress of cleaning and the long trip which my body has not yet recovered from, I guess I'm fine. Fine not in beauty because I'm always beautiful but fine health wise and psychologically.

Moral decadence is something that society has been trying to fix since time immemorial but has really not happened. Instead of getting fixed, it gets more rotten by the minute. I remember those days when girls were not even allowed near the opposite sex as they were told that mere association leads would result in pregnancy and nobody dared break those rules.

I have thought about multiple reasons why these days are like this and I can't help but blame technological advancement and breakthrough in science. Promiscuity is now the order of the day because if push comes to shove, there is a ready solution. Teenagers readily engage in sexual flings because there are pills to take after so there will be no out break of pregnancy.

Moral decadence has eaten so deep into us that when a guy and a girl are seen together, the next thing that comes to mind is that they are brandished as immoral. I'm sorry I'm dwelling on only this part of moral decadence but it what I'm being presently exposed to.

Here in the hostel where I stay, the segment or more like bed space for girls are different from that of boys and the woman in charge has clearly said that no boy should be seen anywhere in a girls room. These are preventive measure we've been reduced to because of how bad things have gotten.

I just wish that trust would just reappear but I'm guessing that would be too magical to happen. What even hurts now is that the supposed room I was assigned to has no light and so we were told to use one of the rooms in the boys wing that has light. We are currently being castigated and put under pressure just for being in the same aisle with boys.

I'm so annoyed right now because whether we are here with boys or not, it dosen't stop immorality per say. I'm still surprised at how anybody would be so blind to this fact. Anyways, I'll just hold my peace. Well, I have one month to spend here and being angry is not an option as it is not healthy which is why I am writing about it to clear my mind.

This just brings into play the different views we have about the morality thing. Just as I see no need for this show which is not effective, someone else seems to think it is needed. Anyways we all want a better tomorrow but only it won't come from separating boys from girls.

Author's Epilogue

The stay here apart from the room issue has been okay. I am yet to have my Lagos tour which I might get to do on weekends or not but anyways it's nice to be away from my comfort zone.

Thanks for reading..

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

4
$ 2.77
$ 2.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 2
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

Should we tell her that she's can't stop it, some boys will still go to the girl's side without being seen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish we could convince her, but we can't she's as adamant as adamant can be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago