Marketing strategy in Malls you should be aware of.

12 50
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

***

Notes: Only in the Philippines 😆

Simply seeing agents in malls infuriates me. The one who'd asked you if you have atm with you, or what bank are you using. They look nice with their formal clothes but I really cannot stand them.

Being a probi, I wasn't aware how the world works in the City. I thought everyone in this world was nice. Everyone would help you. But my view of people changed after living in Manila for 4 months. They weren't the same people I used to live with in our province.

So for everyone's awareness I made this article to warn everybody who hasn't encountered the situation I've been into. As precautions as I see some of the individuals here are still students.

Agents who asked for your ATM

There was one time me and my friend were strolling in a Mall. I just got there once. And I believe if I come back, I'll curse every single thing I saw on that Mall.

It happened on a Sunday afternoon. My intention why I tagged along on the Mall is to buy a brand new phone. I was just 4 mos old in the City, the phone I'm using is just a keypad phone so I had to buy myself one because I badly need it for work. I got the money from my 13th month pay. I look and look but I can't decide what item I should buy.

So in the end we just strolled around and I decided to look for another mall the following week. And then an agent saw us walking and lured us that we have a chance to win a trip to Japan or a brand new car. Well, I like cars, especially free one. 😆 So we put our name to the card we fill up and put it in the drop box, to try our luck.

I don't know what happened but the next thing we knew we needed to get the receipt of our atm. And then we have to participate in an orientation for their insurance service and to get to know the company more. It feels like they have hypnotized us. The next thing I knew the money I got from working had been swiped by the agent, then they had to see my ID and sign a paper that I'm allowing them to get my money. I didn't know anything about swipes before. 🙈 I just know that they can't get my money because it's not printed yet. 😆 But my gash. They took it! And later that I realized they really took my money. 

I feel shocked and overwhelmed, I had to wait for my next payroll payment just so I could buy a new phone.

The company I am mentioning is an Insurance company: Cocolife Insurance. So if ever, someone approached you at the mall, asking if you have an atm and introduced you to a free promo, stay out of it. Because the next thing you know you are being forced to get Insurance even though you don't have any idea how it works.

Agents offer free kilay, free sample of make-ups, free everything.

I was walking on Farmers Cubao. If I remember correctly I went there to buy a calculator for my exam when someone approached me and said that they are offering free Kilay. 

I told them I don't like it, and I haven't done it before. But they had to push me to their area. So I am being polite and to avoid any controversy on the Mall's Hallway. I had to get along with the agent.

At first she told me a lot about her whole life. How she worked hard and how she ended up working in a cosmetic company. Then about their product, that is very cheap and it really works, specially the lipstick, the whole make ups. Even artists wear their product. 🙈🙈 And she'll give me a discount. Then beg me to buy it. 😅😅

I was so shocked I thought everything she'd do was free. Haha. 

But the world FREE is overrated. So she made me feel bad for doing stuff with my face. And in the end even though I don't do make ups I purchase one of their products. 

It happened to me once or twice more but I didn't give in to buying. I realized that those people are making money out of impressing me with their product. And If they didn't impress me, I shall not buy. I had to lie also that I don't bring my atm with me. 😄 And my budget is tight.

Also whenever I see agents in the mall wearing those formal clothes, I never look at them, even when they call me out. I literally avoid people whenever I passed by on malls. Haha. But marketing agents for house and rentals are more professional.

Literally, if you look like a probinsyana they will take advantage of you. 😅

Hey! Thank you for reaching this far! 💓💖

Did you also experience getting into this situation? How did you handle it? Let me know below!

Image source

Thanks to Steve Harvey @trommelkopf for making the photo attached photo available freely on Unsplash 🎁 https://unsplash.com/photos/oFWjD41CLxs

15
$ 10.16
$ 9.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Madami talaga naghahanap buhay ng ganyan. Sa katunayan, magulo sa maynila. (Sorry po sa mga taga manila) pero iyon talaga ang pagkaka discribe ko since nakapunta na din ako don. Akala ko, maganda ang Maynila kasi may mga matatayog na buildings, ganon. Yun din napapanuod ko sa mga TV minsan. Pero expectation vs. Reality nga. Mas madami pa mga naghahanap buhay ng mga scam kemerot.

Anyways, di lang yan dyan meron mga ganyan. Meron din everywhere dito sa probinsya at aware na tayo sa mga yon kasi taga probi tayo e. Nanibago lang tayo sa Maynila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's how they do their best to have a sell, whenever me and my mother passes by my mother will always refuse because she is kuripot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oii sinMama ko naka encounter na nong free kilay sa Robinson hahahaha. Nag oo sya free daw ee saka knows yong nang alok kasi. Tas after matapos baka namam daw gustong bumili ng product blablabla. Buti kamo si Mama di nagpadala hahaha saka sila naman may sabi na free ee tas biglang mamimilit hahahaha ambot.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha ay ako lang pala na fall sa ganiyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha ganyan naman kasi talaga lalo ang hirap din tumanggi no. Pero pag ako din yan diko sila papansinin HAHAHA snobber me. Bingi bingihan pa BWAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Long ago, in 2009, a company promoted by phone free air tickets - when the ticket arrived, it showed the charge per person was a tiny amount (2 percent), and the fuel surcharge was 98 percent of the total cost of the ticket. That means the tiny amount of 2 percent is free!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Halaaa dami ganyan po. Dapat matutunan mo sila hindian or ignore. Mahirap madaan sa sales talk lalo reserved na ang pera natin. Natry ko ung sa car dati pero napafill up ako lang ng ruffle promo nila para sa car, ung sa kilay madami din ganyan hinihila pa braso ko ng malakas. Todo tanggi talaga ako at hindi nga ako nagkikilay daming gumagawa tapos nagiging inday kilay. Haha Medyo oc ako sa kilay haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ahha ou madami talaga nung mga una kase ay di ko pa alam ang kalakaran. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok lang yan, charged to experience ika nga nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dami na akong na encounter na mga ganito sis.😁 Yung pipilitin ka talaga nila. Pag ako pag ayaw, ayaw ko talaga sis. Once na mag hindi ako, di ko na rin sila papansinin. Ang dami talaga nila sa malls. Ganyan mga ways nila para madala nila yung tao.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hala, may mga ganito pala talaga Sis? Dami palang scammers kahit sa mall, natawa ako sa cosmetics, ayos din tactics nila para makabenta ah haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahah ou meron talaga xD Grabe natrauma talaga ako ay dun sa cocolife haha isang lingo ako di makamove on doon haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago