Magellan and Lapu-lapu

6 51
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago

****

Many Filipinos know about the battle between Lapu-lapu and Magellan, and as much as I want to tell a historic event about it, I am not a historian. All I know is that Lapu-lapu refused the conquest of Magellan and defended Mactan Island. And they both died on the battle at least that's what I remember during my elementary and highschool history.🤣🙈 And they did not found out who killed Lapu-lapu. 😅

What I am grateful for is that I can visit and roam Cebu and take a picture of both the historic remembrance of these two people, FREELY.

That's what we all want right?

Since it's Sunday, I am really determined to visit both the Magellan cross and Mactan Shrine. And I don't want to lose the opportunity to visit good places and experience the thrill when traveling alone in a foreign town. I am showing you the photos I took today! And some of the struggle I went through before going over the place.

My greatest Struggle on traveling?

Unable to speak Bisaya. BUT,

Thanks to the people of Cebu they would literally speak Tagalog when you say,

I don't understand Bisaya. Hehe. Can you speak tagalog po? Please. With matching puppy eyes. Lol.

Kidding! Just simply saying, pede pong tagalog?

And they would switch. But some of the people cannot speak tagalog fluently so you should be ready. As for me I can read gestures and yeah eventually understand what they are trying to say.

But it wasn't that easy.

Mactan Shrine

I am initially located at Mactan Cebu and is near to Mactan Shrine! So I went there first. I had to drop my laundry to the Laundry shop and then just walk myself to the area. The view wasn't really satisfying, because as you can see the building at the back is really an eyesore. Haha.

I don't know what happened and who agreed to construct tall buildings at the back of the Lapu-lapu monument. I knew it was an issue before or there is a law that prohibits it from blocking the background of every historical monument. But anyway, business is business.

If you have been to many monuments in our country you would notice that each of them is always accompanied by the Philippine Flag. So yeah. Mema lang.

I haven't taken the photo of the other side of the monument but there is a seaside at the back, you can see big boats and some yachts. It was probably the area where Magellan made his way to seize the Island.

Around the area you can see stores where you can buy souvenirs. I got an anklet and a little shot glass. Reminds me of someone who likes alcohol so much, specially kulafu. Lol.

There are also native bags, but a little costly so I didn't buy much. I'm just a poor traveler.

After buying and exploring the area I realized that there ain't much to do in Mactan shrine, so I ask for the store seller how to get to Magellan Cross.

So his instruction was to wait for a mini electric jeepney that has a sign board of Park Mall, then from there I would just have to ask how to get to Sto.Niño or the Magellan's Cross. I just follow the instructions and look at my google maps just so I know that I'm already there. It wasn't that hard, because I was born a commuter lol. Haha

I had to travel for like 1.5 hrs from Mactan shrine to The Magellan cross. But if you have a car it will only take you for 45 minutes

It was a fun trip alone. I've got a lot of photos. But sadly since I'm alone I got no picture of myself.

The Magellan's cross

I have a video of it! But I am unable to share it here. That little structure right there is the Magellan's Cross, a tribute to Magellan's contribution to Cebu City. I have to be honest here. I'm no historian and that's all I know. 😅

Inside the structure is a cross and a beautiful painted ceiling of an art made by Jess Roa and Serry M Josol.

Source

Since it is the weekend I didn't enter to the large old church beside it because there's a flood of people busy on roaming and some are attending the mass. I think there's a mass every two hours as I've heard from the announcement.

If you like visiting old churches and structures these one's for you.


Hi, thank you for reaching this far!

I had this written last night and was too tired to publish it. Haha.

If you are adventurous and know some places to visit in Cebu while I'm still here can you recommend a place to visit!? Please. 😊 Haha. I literally want to see whale sharks but Oslob is too far for me to travel alone. 😅

Photos are all taken by me! ;)

Thank you again. Xoxo.

I missed writing by the way! I'm out the dark! Maybe the trip this Sunday, remove all the worries! Love it.

7
$ 10.10
$ 9.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jnavedan
$ 0.05 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 4
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I want to try travelling alone too, pero hindi muna sa ngayon. At siguro sisimulan ko from the North, then going to South. Since I am here in Luzon eh.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Go power! Hehe. Uwu. Maganda yong work na dadalhin ka sa mga lugar na yan :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey Meyzee, It has been a long time. I hope you enjoy your trip. Have a nice time.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Heyyyyy! Nice to see you back to writing! How are you doing?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was on a 2 months break. I am well thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice! That explains why. Thought you aren't writing anymore. Hehe. Hope the break is great!

$ 0.00
1 year ago