Living in the City or on an Island

19 68
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Life, City, Island, Culture, Prompt, ...

***

City vs Island

My vacation last holyweek on our province reminded me again on how different life is, between the City and the Island. It was not simple as you see it but rather a solemn and content one.

Each morning, I would be greeted by the sound of the chirping birds, or the chickens, or my Family calling me out for breakfast, at 7:00 am. Or the bark of the dogs asking for food. Or the small talks between two neighborhoods. It was kind of like everything was in slow motion. You wouldn't mind the time. But you'll base your time on the height of the sun. You wouldn't believe it but most of our neighborhood don't have clocks on their walls. But they stood up very early in the morning to prepare for the day. 

Whilst each morning in the City if you work as a regular employee, it's as if you are running out of time. You have to make it fast, you can't even have a good meal for breakfast. Time is like the speed of lightning. Once you miss a minute on a train or bus or jeepney, you'll be late. And everything would be affected. Not only that, instead of the sound of birds, you'll wake up with the sound of the busy street and the rush. The urge of staying in bed is much more enticing yet there is still an urgency that you need to do something. 

Though living in the Island is practically all the people wanted --relaxing, contentment, away from the rush, I found it uncomfortably comfortable. It was a mix of something, I could still do more than just simply cooking for each meal a day and not just continuously live that way. I think I am capable of doing more than sticking to myself and doing the usual things. 


Don't get me wrong, I love the Island vibes.  I love to live there, but the opportunities would not sustain the kind of life that I wanted for my parents. I wanted my parents to have a yearly check-up, my brother to finish college, and a simple house and lot where we can spend our time together without worrying about rent and fees. And we all know that If I work in the province and live there as early as possible it is not enough for my idea of a simple life.. 


But living on the Island it is way more peaceful, less pollution, lots of love and care for the environment, people are compassionate. Not only that if you are stressed out with the people around you, you can easily go for a walk on the beach as it is surrounded by seawater. And there's a lot of land to cultivate and plant veggies. The cost of living is a bit low compared to the City. It is also free to catch fish! And the thing is fishes are very fresh, like most people. Chour.

Meanwhile, living in the City will help you find a faster way to get money if you know how to handle your expenses and know how to sell your skills. Opportunities are everywhere. But you cannot really expect people around you to at least show some empathy. There are few but there's only a few of them. Also you'll spend more time on roads.

But the way I see it, Covid opens the eye of everyone that it is way safer working home, lesser transportation budget, lesser pay for office rentals, utility expenses and many more expenses drop down.

How about you? Do you like it rush or a bit slow? Haha. No pun intended! 😅 I mean do you like the city more or the Island?!

I truly admire those people who plans to stay at the City for good and the people who is contented to the life in Island that didn't want to explore Manila even once.

For me, my retirement plan is to live in the Island, build a business where I still have time to travel back to Manila to see the tallest buildings around Metro and for Jollibee supermeal with Sundae. 🙈🙈 Only that If I'm still allowed to eat that. 😅

Whatever may be, I hope that the world is still alive and all of the issues regarding climate change will be resolve in the coming years. For our next future generations.


  • And yet again, thank you for reaching this far!

Lead Image

Lead image is edited at picsart and photo taken by yours truly! Xoxo

19
$ 11.60
$ 10.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 14
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Life, City, Island, Culture, Prompt, ...

Comments

5 years ago I would have chosen the city. Today I am choosing the island! The pandemic has shown me that the most important thing in my life is peace and health, that money can't buy happiness (it obviously helps otherwise you can't afford things you need) but to wake up every day with just nature...ahhhh I can't wait!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like the slow paced life. Maximize the potential you can have in the city that will make you leave and live in the province or an island for life :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love our island snf I love the way I'm living now. Happy and contented, not sure lang if how long this will last pero sana hanggang nabubuhsy ako, charizzzz haha. But tbh, I also want to experience the city. Just for experience lang. Gusto kong maka relate sa mga City girls and boys out there. I want to see if I can also live there for good. Kasi base lang sa nakikita ko ha at naririnig, the struggle there is sooo much compare if when you're in an island. Tamo kahit wala ng makain dito basta may tanim kang talbos ng kamote at isang de latang sardinas ee digat save kana for that day. Maglako lako kalang ng gulay kapag may nagka gusto, o di may kita ka. Pero di rin pala laging ganyan. Kasi, basta. Pero I still prefer our island than anything else. Mas prefer kong mapagod ang braso sa pag pump ng bomba to get a water ehehehe.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yaaaz! Maganda sa Isla. Tahimik at payapa! Kung sana ay may maayos na trabaho. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

there are a lot of differences in living between a city and an island, before i went to manila and currently living here, my childhood to adulthood was spent in the province which the way of living is similar living to an island.

its a matter of choice wether we want to live in a peaceful place or in a busy street.

i have been living in one of the largest city in metro manila for more than 20 years and i am planning to move back to my hometown as feel i have enough stress accumulated here in the busy hiways and streets of Quezon City. 😄

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Wow we are on the same City! And its really terrible living here! Haha. So stressful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha, mismo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa akin Sis mas advantage talaga ang city. Easy access kasi e, pero di naman dun sa city na magulo. Just like sa amin sa city kami nakatira yet peaceful naman din hahha. But then, if gusto ko talaga mag relax, perfect yung province, lalo na pagtabing dagat, super nakaka relax.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it is very exciting when living in an island area, almost the same as a village which has a complete level of peace, but most of life in an area like this is often not suitable for the work atmosphere if you are an educated person, of course living in this area is not suitable for finding a source of income because most people are islanders. the work is all derived from nature while the urban are office work, manufacturers, companies etc.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I could say, I prefer living on the island where peace is given freely, nonetheless, some parts of me want to stay in the city for the reason that, most of my resources are found. I am providing for myself and the family while living in the city. When everything feels suffocating in the city, I just go home and spend my time in the place I really call "my home"

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Same my friend. Since my hometown is a bit far and not only that, the fare is really something, I only go home whenever there is a vacation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For me, if I have the opportunity, I will love to live in the Islands. The peace and serenity found in the Island cannot be compared with the noise and pollution we see in the city.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Truly! If only there are lots of opportunity, I could have stayed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My Japanese professor (sensei) used to live in the hilly village of Hachioji. He used to drive almost one and a half hours every day to come to his office at the University of Electro-Communications, Tokyo city. BTW, the principal manufacturing place of the Olympus cameras is also Hachioji. So, big corporates also choose the countryside to locate their working space.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Wow. I didn't know you are from Japan! I want to explore Japan. Uwuuuuuu! Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No, I am from India and had a research stay in Tokyo between 2000 and 2002.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I relate sis. Pag dating sa mga relaxation then gusto mo to commit some peace of mind. Perfect talaga ang province kaya yan ang dahilan gusto ko mag vacation sa amin sa province namin kasi marerelax ko dun pero pag sa mga opportunities naman. Gusto ko talaga sa cities dahil maraming mga opportunities compare sa countryside.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hirap pati sa probinsya kung wala ka backer pay hindi ka makakapsok sa government.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis sobra. Totoo yan. Dali ka makapasok pag may backer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago