Language barrier

15 63
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago

****

Have you ever been to a foreign place and you don't know anyone around, the words they are saying, the culture or even the place?


I have been in too many places but never have I ever thought I would feel embarrassed of speaking Tagalog in my own country. 🙈

I really thought that I could walk around the Philippines with only knowing the tagalog language, but experiencing it first hand in Cebu made a lot of difference.

To be honest, the only language I can speak fluently is tagalog and a little bit of English. And I'm quite ashamed of myself whenever I want to ask people around me if they were to go around Mactan what place would it be? And whenever I want to stop the vehicle, tabi lang po, para po, others would speak visaya for me. Haha. Just so I could go down on the jeep.

Also there was one time, I order mc float on mcdo, and the cashier misunderstood me. Its hard to explain. Haha. I mean Mcfloat is a coke with icecream right? 🙈

One time, in savemore, I asked someone if they know any Market around the area and she said she don't know. 🙈 The other one answer me with Visaya and walk away after. 🙈

Awhile ago, I was buying Ice candy on the store, I was stunned when she told me, "Pila", and I started to look around. Haha. I'm the only one buying so I told her 'Isa lang?" And I point my thumb finger on myself. Then she gave me one Ice candy. Later I ask my colleague about it, she told me pila means ilan?. Hahaha.

Because of this I have been challenged to learn about Cebu's culture and language. And since weak are those who retreat without even trying a little, I'm gonna learn and practice speaking visaya/cebuano dialect from now on. Why?

  • One, because I would understand my workers and people around me better. Haha. And I'm really having a hard time right now to talk to my men at work. Specially it was a little hard for them to speak tagalog fluently. But hey some of them speaks, japanese and korean! Haha. Well sana alls.

  • Two, I would learn another dialect and hopefully it will help boost my confidence. Nothing is more precious than learning a new skill!

  • Three, I would be able to speak with them and communicate better.

  • Four, I want to beat the language barrier.

One of my workers, volunteered to teach me while I am talking to them ahhaha.

What are the things that I realize before moving on a foreign place by personally experiencing this first hand?

  • One, I realized that before you go on others den make sure you have enough bullets to survive.

  • Two, you should learn to adapt. Because no one, or maybe there will be but a small group of people will help you overcome this difficulties on dealing with foreign words and culture.

  • And you are alone, they are many. So you are the one who needs to adjust. Haha.


Anyway, I would love to show you guys that I have been visiting the area for how many days now. Last saturday I went to Sto Niño De Cebu-Mactan parish church and it looks awesome. My gambler self saw this as a spade shape church. 🤣 I wasn't able to go inside but maybe next week.

I think I'm loving the Cebu vibe, its just that I can't travel alone because I can't ask people. Hahah

Sto. Niño De Cebu-Mactan Parish Church

I also bought a little souvenir awhile ago. Hehehe

My mini wallet found in Cebu yieeeh

Patalastas/some random thoughts

Also I'm a bit sad with the election result. But anyway it is already expected as I have met a lot of people who wants them to come back. I still wonder why and I don't know what to believe now.

Also, the global market is down, crypto market is down to the highest level, even stock Market is heavily affected. Hahaha. Rawr.

Hmm. Anxiety level is real. Haha. Me and my friends are talking about Canada and migration. Haha. Though I'm not a fan of going out of the country I'm actually reconsidering knowing that there are free health care in there and a little bit harder to acquire citizenship. But bezzt of luck to us Pilipens.

Maybe this Cebu thing is a sign. Lol. A guide to move into a different country. A free travel pack. Ahhaha.

Well whatever! Haha. After all I'm just a peasant like everybody else.

Thanks for reading yah all! Lezzz go get that retirement money with insurance and just chill. Hahaha. Thats the goal right?

18
$ 22.59
$ 22.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
+ 10
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Hahaha medyo cool na nakakatuwa yung kwento mo😆 hindi din ako marunong magsalit ng ganan but I really like learning new language.

"Nothing is more precious than learning a new skill!"

I like this quote haha

They said Australia is one of the best country for Engineers😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Akala ko visaya ka meyzee, pwede kitang turuan mag visaya😊 Maraming magagandang tourist spots sa Cebu.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hayyys sanaol nakapag cebu naaaaa. Turuan kita mag Visaya meyyyyzeee. Pero infairness tama naman yung sagot mo dun sa pila HAHHAA. Kyut2 ng expression mo siguro nun 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tagalog, English and Jeje lang ang pamilyar ako na language. Outside the 3 wala na ako, kaya hirap din ako when people around speak in a language that I am not used to. I can relate, since medyo masama ang ugali ko iniisip ko at the back of my mind na baka bina bash ako hahahhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I learned Bisaya from my friends who came from Leyte. Yeah, pila is ilan. Like tag pila sa iyong order dong? Hahaha. Like I would answer duha lang. Awiee. Daming tourist attraction sa Cebu eh.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Duha lang means dalawa? Haha. Kaya nga maglalagalag ako every weekend ahhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm from leyte peru nung pumonta ako ng manila before talagang mahirap din magsalita ng tagalog, but the good thing is nakakaintindi unlike to tagalog people talaga na di alam ang bisaya mas nahihirapan talaga .

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Waw san yang leyte? Pero yung tagalog since naiintimdihan madali na pag aralang bigkasin hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Meyzeeeeeepot, tumama ka naman dun sa 'pila' kasi ilan pala un tas isa lang sagot mo. Kala din siguro ng iba Cebuano ka. Pero ang hirap nga pag ganyan. Para kanang nasa alien world na di mawari ang mga sinasabi nila 🤧

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahaha hirap ngaaaa T.T jan ba pure tagalog?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Samin naman tagalog ee. Pero may halo din ata pero diko sure basta Tagalog kami hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I commented on an old post. I stayed in Tokyo and learned Japanese for a one-semester intensive Japanese course. I visited China twice, and I don't know Chinese. I traveled on a bus in China in 2017, and my SIM card was not working! I requested my co-passenger (a boy) who waved his hands "No for English," but I could convince him to help me call my Chinese friend! Finally, that kind boy waited with me at the terminal bus stop (Hangzoe) before finally, my Chinese friend arrived to pick me up!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe wow what a good boy! But yeah simcards on your country don't work to others hehe thats what I've learned from my friend.

For sure you know a lot of Japanese words now! Hehw

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I could speak nicely in Japanese with near-perfect pronunciation! But now forget most characters and vocabulary.

I had paid an advance roaming for China for the SIM card, but it didn't work! It was cheating in our country agent at the airport. When I returned, I made an email complaint and got a refund! It took one month to get the refund.

I found Chinese people very friendly and polite.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow. Hehe. I have never met any Chinese, but I'm glad they are friendly hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago