Will you help a random person?

11 29
Avatar for Mercury1
1 year ago

Reading @Princessbusayo today's article 'Doing the good things even when it doesn't matter' really motivated me to write mine. She talked about helping people even when you know that they are in no position to help you back.

First, I feel asking these questions will help us understand well what I will be talking about.

So, do you help others? Or do you feel you need to be helped instead? Or do you think there is nothing you can give that is worthy of being received? Or do you feel you have less by helping others?

We have to know that whatever high position we find ourselves or whatever thing we own in abundance, it's a privilege. You may have worked for it or you are just blessed to be born with a silver spoon in your mouth, it's still a privilege. You don't know what God has done for you.

Therefore we should never underestimate the power of giving, helping and reaching out to others when we can.

Should we I Help a Random Person?

In case you are wondering why I ruled out 'we' used 'I' instead, it is because rendering help is first a personal decision before it becomes a collective action. It is about the love you have in your heart to see that people around you and those far in distance from you whether you are friends with them or not, whether you know them or you don't, are thriving and happy. And this love you have drives you to the extent that when those around you are not okay, you are moved to do something no matter how little, for them. It is about having compassion. That's what people respect anyways.

A simple smile, a nice compliment, gifts, checking up on others and putting smiles on the faces you come across goes a long way.

I can remember a day that I went to get snacks. It was during school period. I was tired and hungry as I hadn't eaten anything from home so I decided to buy an egg roll, a doughnut and a sachet water. One egg roll costs N150 while one doughnut costs N70. I gave the sales attendant N500 but she said there was no change. Then a man came and told me not to bother that he will pay for it. I was very happy. I thanked him and left. You need to see how happy this made me. It really boosted my mood.

I am just a random person to this man yet he decided to help me without expecting anything in return.

I came across a guy recently not physically though. It was on Instagram. He goes to places affected by the food and ask them how he can render assistance to them. He gave some people freezer, some new apartments while some money to start a business. Those that needed medical help, he gave them thousands of naira to help them but drugs. He even assisted the homeless, took them out to eat, took them to a salon, a beach and even gave them money.

He posted all of this on his Instagram page. Watching this moved me to tears. His generosity still amazes me.

Be among the kind people today. Be that kind person. Don't do it because you are expecting something in return.

Thanks for reading 😍

9
$ 0.44
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 2
Sponsors of Mercury1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mercury1
1 year ago

Comments

I would help a random person and I enjoy helping a random person which I call Random Act of Kindness. I like it because I know I might never see the person again and I won't be faced daily with loads of thank you when I come across a familiar person that I help. I help familiar people too and they know I don't like being thanked that much either so once is enough...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! You're very kind sir. You don't seek self-glory.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nah... I see helping people as a privilege...not something I have to lord over them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Helping is a good deed and it always bring happiness in our hearts. Anyway the guy has a good heart for all those in need. May God bless him.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He has a good heart my friend. It's really good in our hearts that someone help us even we are a random person to them only.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

He does have a good heart. We should always remember that it's more blessed to give than to receive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true helping people doesn't mean you should know them first, knowing them makes it look like you will need something in return...great article

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's it! Thank you very much

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's a joy that genuinely fills the heart when one renders help to a needy. I know this and that's why I always make myself available to render help, but in a wisdom based 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah we need to apply wisdom in everything even when giving

$ 0.00
1 year ago