Should teenage dating be supported?

8 19
Avatar for Mercury1
1 year ago

If parents were to be asked this question, their answer would most likely be a 'NO'. They are not even meant to know that word or be concerned about it. If our dear teenagers were asked this same question, a resounding 'YES' is most likely what we would get.

Dating according to the dictionary is a form of romantic courtship typically between two individuals with the soon of accessing the other's suitability. Let me stop here. We are all accustomed to this wordā€”dating.

Above I said most parents are strongly against their teens or young adults dating, so who then are those in a relationship? Are they orphans? The answer is no. Well, you cannot blame us with different emotions raging in our bodies and the urge to love and be loved. I used us because I'm also a teenager.

I actually think even if parents vote strongly against dating, still, relationship talks, love, dating, sex should not be forbidden topics to talk about.

Up till now, whenever my dad sees me talking to guys, he will call me in. I wonder if talking to guys is now a crime. I can also remember when I was in secondary school and Facebook was trending. I did not have a cell phone then so I used my dad's phone to login to check recent posts and reply to messages. Then, one day I asked my dad for his phone but he refused to give me because someone sent me a if 'I'm your friend, bestie, crush' message. Mind you, I did not send the message. He did not care to ask further but just made a decision.

Sex education should be taught in schools, places of worship and in homes most especially. I feel parents have a lot of work to do. It's very important. We now have children in matured bodies. Ask your children questions, be open with them, let them be your bestfriend because if you don't, the world with open arms is willing to teach them and the outcome of that might not be good.

We are always asking questions not because we cannot keep our mouth shut but because we want to know more. We seek clarification. We will end up opening up to someone about our feelings, I just hope it won't be the wrong person.

Of course, there are parents that have a good talking relationship with their children. I envy these children. They don't know how lucky they are. My friend was telling me the other day that when she was in Jss2 a boy gave her a love letter and she showed her mom when she got home. Her mom explained gently what relationship and the -ish that comes with it entail. I opened my mouth wide. My mom would have followed me to school the next day. I won't tell my mom things like this because she will literally want to kill me.

So, to every parent out there, try to be there for your kids not just financially, spiritually and academically but also emotionally. I just wish things will be different. This is what's on my mind today.

Thanks for readingšŸ˜

8
$ 0.61
$ 0.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.02 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 2
Sponsors of Mercury1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mercury1
1 year ago

Comments

You're very right. Parents should be very close to their children so that the kids will share their emotional and sexual life with their parents and so that their parents will guide them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, parents should be able to tell what's going on in their children's lives

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is why parents should learn how to be gentle and be their children's friend as well, so the children would be comfortable on telling them about their personal lives.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, you are right

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parents are caring towards their child they put some restrictions to them but at some they should also council their child and should give them lessons properly

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, that's true

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parents need to be opened to their children so that they can feel secure coming to them to ask questions. Sex education should be talked and explained by parents because it is not a crime or bad thing but teaching your kids on what to do and not to do.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes seriously, that way we will have less unwanted pregnancy

$ 0.00
1 year ago