A simple meal

8 36
Avatar for Mercury1
1 year ago

You enjoy a food better when it prepared by you. When you do, you will value and appreciate every cook you meet be it your wife, your sister, daughter or a cook at a restaurant.

So, today I want to teach us all how to make a very simple but delicious meal. The name of this meal is Semovita. It is a commonly eaten Nigerian food. It is popularly called Semo which is short for Semovita.

Free image from unsplash.com

I love this food a lot because it goes with just any soup: ewedu which is spinach, efo which is vegetables, egusi which is called melon, Ila which is Okra and Ogbona soup. Semovita is just very unique. I don't have a favorite soup that I like to eat with it but for the sake of this article, I will be going with vegetable soup.

To prepare Semo let's say for two people. Make sure your medium size pot is already washed. Then pour some water, light your gas and put your pot on fire. For water, make sure it is not too much and not little too.

Allow the water to boil. But before it does, make sure your powdered Semo is in a plate with your turning stick ready as well. I prefer to use the flat turning stick instead of the round one for Semo.

Since you are preparing a meal for two, you can just measure two cups of your powdered Semo so you won't have excess.

Pour some out of the two cups into a separate bowl and mix with just a little water, make sure the water is not hot. Mix well. Your mixture will look like a batter.

The moment the water boils well, pour your batter (Semo and water mixture) into the boiling water and keep mixing it until you no longer see the water separately.

The reason you are not pouring your Semo directly into the pot is because you are still a beginner and parboiling is just the best thing to do. If not, you will have a lot of lumps in it.

The next step is the most important. Once your parboiled Semo boils well, start mixing it. Carry your powdered Semo and pour slowly into the pot and make sure you are mixing and turning it well with your turning stick at the same time until it is smooth.

Make sure it is smooth before you stop steering. In case, it is too hard, you can just add a little (hot) water to it and if it is otherwise, add some powdered Semo to it.

Cover for two minutes or less so as to allow it to rise and suck up the water. Steer very well but make sure it does not get burnt. It has to be soft and be drawing at the same time.

Super! Le repas est prêt. The meal is ready. Dish it out!

This is getting long. I will make the part two of this soon on how to prepare vegetable soup by God's grace. I hope your Semo does not become cold before then😁

Thanks for reading 😍

6
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.01 from @JRamona20
Sponsors of Mercury1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mercury1
1 year ago

Comments

I agree friend. We really do appreciate the food more when we're cooking it by ourselves. Also, we should not forget to thank those who cook for us, just like our family. Cooking is a meticulous work but it's enjoyable😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is indeed meticulous. Thanks for dropping by 😊 Do have a great day 🥰🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I did. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love it my friend. I love making foods. I am a certified food lover. I want to taste it the one you teach us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Food is good for the body oo You can try it out or once I cook it at home, I will send a pic of it to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much my friend. I will wait. 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Semovita is nice but I don't like it, I still prefer garri and pounded yam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You prefer garri? Are you Igbo? I like pounded yam a lot too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago