Getting Shy when there are Visitors

10 38
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago

Filipinos are known to be hospitable when welcoming visitors. The phrase "feel at home" is also being told to a relative, friend, acquaintances, or other people who visit at home. This is not only because to make the visitors at ease during their stay but also to build a nice relationship with them.

However, I believe that some of you might agree when I say there are those who immediately change their character when they have visitors in their home. This often happens to the siblings in a family as I do.

To be honest, when I am at home I seemed to be an extrovert. Sometimes, I am even shameless or "makapal ang mukha" in Filipino language. But did you know that I suddenly become shy when we have visitors at home? Who can relate to it?

That moment you are in your room but upon opening your door, you will see your parent's or your other sibling's visitors are there in your living room, and then you will just suddenly feel shy and end up closing the door again and trying to open it once more just to be sure it is not imagination.

Yes, I really become shy when that thing happens, and sometimes if I have no choice, I will just go out quietly and if they notice me, I will just smile or simply say "hi po." Then, I will become their topic in an instant.

Some common conversation would be like, "Friend, your son have grown so fast. It seems like it is only yesterday when he's so little. (Mare ang laki na pala ng anak mo. Parang kailan lang noong maliit pa siya.)

I don't know but I feel a little bit embarrassed. That feeling you couldn't express and when you come back to your room, you will just cover your face with a pillow while listening to their conversation about you. That's cringe.

Anyway, when they go home, there is somehow a feeling of relief not because of something else but because you can go back to your usual action again. You feel active again and the awkwardness you feel inside suddenly fades away. You may even wave your hand and say to them to come again soon.

Nevertheless, it is a human nature to feel that way. Even if the visitor believes you're shy, don't be bothered to inform them or just smile. Who knows, it could spark their curiosity enough to want to learn more about you on its own in a very nice way?  Isn't it true that you don't have to go out of your way to perform it? Anyway, just be ourselves because again, it is normal.

Hopefully, you enjoyed my article for today, and if you can relate with today's topic of yours truly, you may write down your thoughts below. It feels awkward but yeah, it is just a normal feeling.

Photos from Pixabay


You will also find me on:


Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 5.24
$ 5.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kingofreview
$ 0.01 from @Fiyinfoluwa
Sponsors of McJulez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McJulez
2 years ago

Comments

Sobrang relate akoooooo. Gantong ganto situation ko ngayon kasi nandito si tito galing probinsya. Halos 1 week yata syang magstay dito sa bahay kaya no choice kundi makipag socialize 😵‍💫

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol I can relate to this, back then most times I become shy if I am the visitor... Though I only get shy if I don't know everyone in the room, but recently I have learn how to associate with people including stranger but am a full time introvert lol I only speak when spoken to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, even when you are a visitor let's say at a friend's house, you would feel shy too. I think it's completely normal, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Sunday to you my shy Friend 😂. I also get very shy when we have a visitor in our house, mostly when my friends from school come over I'll be like BOOM my room should just be like Barbie princess room. Happy new week

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was young, I'm like you too. When we have visitors at home, of course I don't know th unless they are our relatives. When they are new to me, hide in our room. I don't get out until they are gone but my parents introduce me to them and I look at them and greet them. I make sure to know the face so the next time they will return, I can recall

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can relate so much in this I am really shy when there is some other people in our house I just also stay the whole time in the room when the visitors is still there I just hate when they purposely called to just to be their topic of discussion I feel really embarrassed everytime this happens.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know that feeling. But I have a technique. I pretend that I am sleeping when my mom knocks on my door. It works every time but it is up to you if you wanna try haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also already try it one time but didn't work out even though my father saw that I am sleeping he still wakes me up because he said my Ninong is looking for me even though I heard my father asking my ninong if he wanted to see me hahaha. I will be happy of my Ninong gives me money or gift when he saw me but he just said I am already grow so much then done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So much relate to this. When I was a kid. When my mom has a visitors, I prefer to lock in my room especially I'm introvert person. 😅 After few minutes mom called me to introduce me to her visitors and it's a big challenge for me. 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel that struggle po haha lalo na kung marami pa silang questions haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago