I had a dream 💭

12 42
Avatar for McAdeleye
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Story, Fiction

It’s been a little while since I got something to write, yeah, writing isn’t something so easy especially when you have to make your original content to avoid spamming and plagiarism. But I am so happy we still have a lot of people who are always ready to put out something on the platform, if not for you guys then what is the platform there for.

Readers and writers made the platform a place to stay and enjoy the fun it brings.

Today being the 4th day of the month, practically, physically, and spiritually we are all taking the 8th month of the year to an end. We are counting on and on. But the reality is that days we’ve counted would never come back to us ever again

After some morning rest I decided to quickly get something to write and not be so lazy all day. I could say what exactly to write on but I think the title made me have some to put down.

I Had a Dream

I stretched my arms and yawned, it wasn't easy to keep sleeping on a sack under the staircase of an incomplete building for years. Maybe the owner of the building would have made it a home for me to live or just a delay so I could still have a means to survive for the couple of years to come. It has been said that when a man has no place to shelter then he never got a place to call a home, even animals in the wild get some place to shelter.

Image source
Every day I had to hustle the street to put something in my mouth, who would want to be a collector and not a giver, when everyone knows what the giver gets in return. I would rather prefer to earn with respect than to get a penny out of someone’s sweat. But the life of a street hawker isn’t that of luxury.

I have been going through the streets all day and night to find something to eat. In the past I have sold edible products but I discovered I am the one taking them all at the end of the day, no profit but loss. Though I get tired of them but it would leave me no option than to keep taking this same thing twice a day

Most times I would have to hawk my way home just to cover the transport fare and get some more profit instead, walking the street isn’t my choice but a chance.

Most times I look at people I sell to in cars, some at their homes and some in their shops, who wouldn’t wish to live in such comfort?. But does complaining ever get a destination? Maybe when I trek someday I could be much more lucky to encounter it.

It’s night again, lots of pain in my body, my legs are just so dusty like an abandoned car by the roadside, maybe when I get some more money I would buy myself a new pair of slippers so I can now rock the street again, my trousers are still okay for me, the ones I bought from a secondhand store using my weekly contribution for two years and the one a street guy gave to me out of love. Maybe someday I hope I can repay his kindness. 🥺 I got three shirt and I one round neck, I bought the dark colored ones so it would last me a little longer, the round top my guy gave me alongside the trouser.

I would have to take my bath, but why would I still have to pay for the water I am just going to pour on my body and it would sink into the ground again? That’s so frustrating, If I could see a well to fetch from, maybe I can take a bath to my satisfaction without having to pay for the water I want to use to bathe again. My legs are seriously aching me, but I would take every Wednesday and weekend to walk down the end of the town to take my bath by the riverside.

Most times I cry my way home and most times I console myself with a poem while I nod my head to the imaginary beats giving it some flow and chorus.

🎵🎵life is cool by the way🎶🎶

🎵🎵we all have our hopes and dreams🎶🎶

🎵🎵Happiness is free🎶🎶

🎵🎵Not until you got some more 🎶🎶

🎵🎵No matter where you are🎶🎶

🎵🎵No matter what you do🎶🎶

🎵🎵Look and at those below🎶🎶

🎵🎵Keep your strength and keep moving 🎶🎶


To be continued…

NB: This write up is completely fictional and has nothing related to any true life story

IT IS NOT GOODBYE BUT SEE YOU AGAIN 👋👋👋

6
$ 0.41
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 3
Sponsors of McAdeleye
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McAdeleye
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Story, Fiction

Comments

That's really sad but at the same time there's lesson and hope in that that we learn. No matter how hard life is, we should keep moving and doing what we can to survive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This one feels so real. But does complaining ever get a destination? - And this one says a lot. Instead of complaining; move, do the thing and there will be something waiting at the end of the tunnel.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said and I agree. Why delay oneself on what won’t move one further Instead of moving on.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing it's just fiction.. Coz it seems real..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As fictional as it is, it touches the soul because a lot of people are going through this everyday

They have no shelter, they look out for things to do to feed, clothe, and survive.

And console themselves with the fact that someday, it will be over

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah hope work alongside with dreams and keeps the future brighter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Made me imagine the situation for a few minutes only to find out it was a fiction :D Good one!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. Thanks so much. I appreciate the read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really thought it was based on true story. Good thing it's just a fiction. But there are other people who face the same fate just like what you wrote. It's a good story sir. I'll definitely wait for the continuation.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right. Many are in such a mood too So such is life when we found to be in a position we should be rest assured that there are some below us. And the continuation would come 😅😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago