Gone are the days 😢😭

25 45
Avatar for McAdeleye
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Story, Experience, Personal, ...

Good day everyone!

It’s been sunny for the past weeks now, but we still have to experience some cold weather during the early part of the day and the late time of the day too.

I had to wrap myself up with my blanket on my bed letting out my hands and face alone while typing this article. Maybe I should try getting a hot cup of tea after completing the write-up.

I have stumbled over some articles on the platform with the content from authors writing about their childhood days. So I decided to take that for today…


Most times I remember my childhood days, I remember the fun times we had together, the rough times, and even the scary moments. I would be sharing some with you all

Memories fade when it becomes something of the past, but most times we get a better image of them when we see things similar to what had happened in the past or maybe we were reminded of an incident that happened and how it happened then a perfect picture of the scenario comes to our view.

Not only in childhood do we get memories. The everyday breaths we take in life stand as a memory. Because our words and actions of today might not be similar to that of tomorrow or might not even occur again in a lifetime.

So it has been said to cherish memories and old times. One thing I appreciate about memories is the presence of photographers. Hehehehe.

They played a great role in bringing back old times. Right from photography to cassette and tapes, to video CDs and DVDs, then to the recent trends of social media.

I am sure I saw most of my pictures when I was little but I can’t say how everything got destroyed. Little did we know back then that all of those pictures would become something we would cherish to see so much in the future. We played with them back then, some got lost, some got destroyed with water and got washed away, some were taken away by visitors. It was a pain we knew nothing back then 😂😢

Some years ago after we grew up a little, we went to visit one of our aunts for her birthday. She was so happy to see us again after a very long time. The celebration was a great one and we all had a nice time with her. Then my brother saw a picture frame where she had attached some other few pictures to them, he went closer to take a look at those pictures then he called me so quick to come and check on something.


On getting there, I was surprised to have seen the picture hanging on her picture frame. I laughed so hard to the extent that she felt something was happening, she came out to us and saw that we were staring at a particular picture. The picture was of my graduation party at elementary school when my brother and my younger sister took a capture with me.

We were wondering how come she had a copy of it without even attending the graduation party then. Then we realized she picked it during those days. We never knew the value of those pictures and kept them safe for us. My elder brother got an android device with him then, he took a perfect capture of it and decided to save it online.


My childhood days; Flashback to old times

Gone are the days; when we enjoyed cookies, sweets, and biscuits.

My parents are not so rich but I appreciate them for always satisfying us. One thing I love about my dad is that he would always buy something for us when coming home, but this doesn’t happen all day. There are times he would have to give us money to go and buy any biscuit of our choice. I prefer that option the most but it doesn’t happen most times.

The reason behind us appreciating going to get our choice is that the one's dad would buy when coming home would have more quantity than the ones we would get ourselves but he buys the ones with less sugar content. If I could remember the name of the biscuit he does buy then, maybe “rich tea and cabin family biscuit” we would get a bigger share from it but the fact that it’s not our tastes won’t make us want to take them.

Those we would have to buy from the retailer's kiosk are more of sugar and at times I would love the ones with glucose (butter as I do call it then) in between them. I forgot some of their names but I could remember “chic choc, digestive, speedy, coconut, Okin and one kind of hard biscuit ( it have no sugar but the fact that I would have to use all the strength from my teeth to break the biscuit is the fun we derive from it).

Come to talk about taking sweets, my favorite sweet was “Eclairs”, I don’t know why I love to take it and I still take it till date.


Gone are the days; when we play so rough and get scared so easy

I remembered a day when we were playing the hide and seek game, so it was my brother's turn to be the seeker then we went into hiding. My sister would always be the first to be caught because she wouldn't want to risk herself going to hide somewhere far away. But I would want to prove to my brother that I can hide better.


Then I went outside the entire building from where my brother and sister are. There was an uncompleted building in the same fence right In front of our house. Then I decided to hide there by jumping through the window. On getting to jump through the window there was a rope tied against the wall beneath the window level, the next thing was to find my neck and body hanging on the rope instead of landing on the floor. By the time I would land I landed with my knee and elbow on the cemented floor.

I couldn’t cry out loud because I never wanted my brother to know where I was, but when the pain got more than I expected I shouted and cried. Then my brother came to my rescue. It was a terrible experience. We wished we would find a way out before Mum and dad got home so they wouldn't know anything happened. But our plan failed and my younger sister was the first to report what happened. We got scolded and were warned never to play so rough again.



Conclusion

The past would always happen to be the past, the more we grow the more we get exposed. There are some things we would do with joy while we were younger and couldn’t even dare to try them now. And the present day we are currently on, would surely become a memory to us some days in the future.

Am sorry I could just give two of my childhood memories in this article. If I were to continue writing about my childhood days and memories, maybe I would have to write an epistle. Gone are the days, sometimes I would think and remember those times then tears would drop from my eyes.

IT IS NOT GOODBYE BUT SEE YOU AGAIN 👋👋👋

Header image source

Image source 1

Image source 2

Join me on noise .cash

11
$ 0.56
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @HillaryPowers
+ 7
Sponsors of McAdeleye
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for McAdeleye
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Writing, Story, Experience, Personal, ...

Comments

That photo of you and your siblings is so pureeee. You should try to remake it ☺. I wish I could turn back time and cherish every moment I had as a child. Thank you for sharing this though ❤

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ze
2 years ago

That fall must have been terrible and very painful! Reading your anecdotes, I remembered with longing and affection those days of childhood when I used to play hide and seek with my cousins.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said.

Gone are those days. Hehehe. We hope for better days to come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those were really beautiful moments for every child and I do emphasize why parents must allow their children to enjoy their childhood life.

I remember playing football, racing, hide and seek, etc. These things make us really happy but it is not like these days, kids prefer to stay on mobile devices

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You said the pure truth. Kids of nowadays care less about those outdoor games and prefer to be on mobile Hahaha.

I have a little sister not up to 2year old and would always cry for her mum phone then take it to her elder sister to play her videos😂😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Technology and development is taking the fun away and I wonder what 10 years from now would like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We hope for a better future..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This makes me remember the good old days. I had lot of fun having fun with my brother. The goor old days 😔

$ 0.05
2 years ago

No cry no worries

One thing we should make sure happen is that our tomorrow is better than our today. The. We get a better future ahead.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our childhood gives us a lot to remember. Good thing in our end, we got to experience what the children now was not able to. There's actually a lot difference already because of the technology and the pandemic. It is really a good thing to look back all the memories we have from the past.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Well said. Time flies.

But our memories remained. One thing I know is that our today would surely be one a memory tomorrow. Such is life. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome Mc. I just find your article relatable as we all have memories that we wanted to look back from time to time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I appreciate that. We hope and pray our today be better than our tomorrow and bring about better memories for us all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The incident was terrible. Good they rescued you. But you had funny childhood memories. . I envy those who still have pics of their childhood.. We were all gone... By different typhoons. 😭 .that's why I'm saving the pics of my little siblings since they were young.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah. Nowadays pictures are even easier to save due to the fact that there is advancement in technology. But talking about the old times I don’t know what could bring back those images. Except from our imaginary views.

I hope your siblings could value them when the time comes. I am also keeping my younger siblings pics for the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That jump must've have hurt a lot! I can't believe you have held on longer than you should. I hope it didn't leave a lifelong damage.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehehe. Nop. It was just a minor damage. But due to the fear we had then it was like I got into a motor accident 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, that graduation picture of you and your siblings is a classic 😂 And the hard biscuits you were trying to remember was known as Kpako biscuits back then, used to be one of my favourites too. I could relate to your two memories of childhood. It's almost like every Nigerian dad has the talent for buying not so sweet biscuits for their kids. Lmao

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahahaha 😂😂😂😂😆😆😆

You got the name for real. It is kpako biscuit oooo 😂😂😂😂.

And that graduation picture ehn 😂. I am planning on giving it a photoshop and also making it a frame 🖼 lol .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. You really should have it framed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

But I don’t know how to go about it yet

Maybe just in my wildest dreams

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nowadays, the children of this generation are not given the liberty of playing the way we did in our time.

I most times wish I could change the hand of the clock and go back to those days so I can learn how to cherish them more.

Gone are the days I don't need to worry about money because I have got people to provide, for my every need.

Gone are those days I would play so rough and not worry about the aftermath of injury because of the fun and excitement, today I look back at those scars I got and wonder if I could still let myself get all those injuries now. Right now, I don't go near anything I know will end up giving me a wound.

Although I have got no pictures to use to remember those days but I have my mind to always go back to those times and laugh at myself.

The excitement in childhood then can not be compared to the excitement now. We had a lot to play with and keep us excited for the rest of the day even when others are carrying.

😔😔😔🤣🤣🤣🤣, this is a nice writeup, leaving us to grimace about our old sweet days.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

First of all, I really appreciate your comments. Hehehe.

And you said the pure fact about what these generations are missing. They are more into the use of mobile phones and systems

Back then I only see computers in textbooks Not to talk of now my younger siblings even can operate on them.

And you got a lot of memories too Hahaha sorry you didn’t got a picture. I almost had similar story if not for my aunt😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lucky you I will say. You are right, there is more to life than the use of gadgets and the other things that are coming into this generation.

I wish I had pictures ooo, but notwithstanding, I am still grateful for those days.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

💯 more life, more success. 🥂 to good life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago