Early or nocturnal?

10 27
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
1 year ago

I'm a nocturnal person. Being one means I used to stay up late and wake up late as well. This was me even before. I remember before, I'm setting my alarm, not for waking up but alarm for sleeping. I tried it too before. Sleeping early. But I give up easily. I can't make it. I can't push myself to sleep when I'm not used to it. How bout you? Are you early or nocturnal?

Being a nocturnal person, there are pros and cons. Same with an early person. But in this article, I'll focus on my nocturnal self. What advantages and disadvantages have I encountered in being one?

Pros
As a nocturnal person, my brain is more active at night rather than day. Reading at night before going to bed is my best option rather than reading early morning after waking up. I tried these 2 options before, but my brain won't understand what I read after waking up. Coz I'm so sleepy that I noticed myself falling asleep while reading. While doing it before sleeping, even if I'm a little bit tired, my brain functions so well. Not sleepy and my active cells do their obligations. 😅
Another thing I love at night is that people are so quiet and peaceful. All are sleeping so deeply that I won't be distracted by their actions. I have a lot of time preparing things for tomorrow's errands, and I can think of what priorities I need to handle next. See? Lots of advantages right?
Oh, by the way, being nocturnal is also an advantage to the party people. Parties used to end up till late at night. So having an active and alive self till the late hours, is more enjoyable than being sleepy all the time at parties. That's so boring dude. 😂

Cons
One thing that always comes to my mind for staying up so late is my health. They said staying up so late is not good for our body as it needs rest just like our gadgets. We tend to get tired and sleeping is the solution to it. At least 7-8 hours per night is the recommended time for adults to stay healthy and fit. And yeah, I'm guilty of not achieving this advice. Especially, now that I'm breastfeeding, being healthy is a must as my baby depends on me. So sleeping for complete hours is needed for a healthy mom and baby.
Also, being nocturnal means waking up so late. There are a lot of opportunities missed early in the morning. There comes the sunrise, the morning dew, the fresh and cold breeze, and the busy nature which you can only appreciate early in the morning. Being early in a meeting or event is also a challenge. As I'm not used to waking up early, preparing myself for an early meeting is a big hardship. And for sure, I'm getting late. No doubt.

See? Being a nocturnal or night owl is good for some, and bad for others. It depends on how you look at it. But in the end, it's still you who can discipline yourself. Just remember to choose what can make you healthy and fit, and live a long and happy life. 🥰

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Mayt
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I've been nocturnal since I worked on a graveyard schedule. Being a breastfeeding mom too, I find it hard to do other chores because I am always tired. Do anything what's best for your routine. Keep hydrated and full is the key?...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oohh.. working at graveyard shift needs to be nocturnal even you don't want to. 😅 Yeah... I'm trying to be hydrated... especially now that I'm always thirsty after feeding my baby.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not being able to sleep at night is a huge issue for me sometimes because I have to wake early in the morning.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a big trouble. I tried it before, didn't sleep even my body's so tired. Ughhh... don't want to experience that again. I hope you conquer that insomnia already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My insomnia is off and on but I have heard melatonin is a natural medicine for curing temporary insomnia caused by overthinking.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Did you try that medicine?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No haven't tried it yet however people talk about it a lot on twitter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being that on trend means it's effective in some ways.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just don't trust twitter needs some one legit vouching for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Try to research it on google, or on some sites that are more trustworthy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago