Appreciate your parents

20 39
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
1 year ago

I do appreciate my parents. On how they work hard for us just to provide material things, how they became a good example to become a better person, and how they came to be reasonable without controlling us. This is what I appreciate even before just by observing and recalling the good things they've done for us. But now that I'm a mother, I appreciate them more. Indeed, you can solely appreciate your parents if you become one.

I realized today as a first-time mom how my Dad and Mom love us. Not because they help us today on how to handle our newborn baby, but just because I experienced their struggle and sacrifices when we were just as little as my son today. From the moment my Mom takes care of me when I'm on her belly until I grew up, go to school, and decided to have my own family. It's not easy to be a parent. It's not easy to take care of a baby. You'll have to sacrifice every strength, time, and even your work... Just to provide everything to your child. These are the things that I didn't realize and for sure will not realize if I didn't become one of them.

Well, as a child, I didn't grow up in a sweet family that says "I love you" to each other. You can't hear us saying that word. We're not used to it. But that doesn't mean we don't love each other. That's just not the way we express ourselves.

So how do we show that we appreciate them? As for me, it's when their anniversary. When I was still in elementary, Mom and Dad used to celebrate their wedding anniversary. So I knew every year what month it would be. So as a girl without money that can be consumed to buy gifts for them, I wrote a letter. I stated there how I love them, how happy I am that they are my parents, and I said sorry for all the things that I did. Lol. As a child, of course, your parents will be mad for whatever reasons you and your siblings are doing. But that letter is my way to declare that I love them. And surprisingly, my Mom hide and treasured it in her wallet. She shows it to me when I was in high school and I got uncomfortable after reading the clingy messages. Lol. Well, I can say that I grew up as a sweet and beautiful child. Lol. How come beautiful is also there?Β πŸ˜‚

But now that I can buy gifts and cakes for them, I make sure that every anniversary is a special one. That's the time that I can express my love for them. With just a simple cake or some not-so-elegant gifts, maybe, just maybe they know that I love them. Especially today when I'm not with them, I can't monitor how they get old as time passes by. I don't want to repent in the end when I can no longer have a chance to show them how much I appreciate and love them. So now that they are still strong, but little by little struggling with their health, I want to let them know that I do admire the sacrifices they did for us just to provide us with a comfortable life.

Hope you do the same. Don't waste time. Do some efforts even their not that appreciative. At least you tried and in the end, you show them how much you love them. Coz time flies so fast. Don't wait until there's no amount of time to show it to them. Make time for them while you still can. ❀️

7
$ 1.41
$ 1.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Erickchristianmontajes
+ 3
Sponsors of Mayt
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayt
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

It hits me how I appreciate them the most when I finally got to take care of my nephew and realize how hard it is to take care of a growing child. As of now since I was able to buy some of my own things I usually baked for them or buy them food that's the only way I can show them I appreciate them coz just like you we weren't the type to say I love you to each other most of the time, we mostly show our love and appreciation with each other through silent actions.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah that's true. We just realized their hardships when we already experienced the things that they do before. Anyway, as long as we're doing everything today to show how much we love them, it's enough. Can you try to say I love you to them even once? πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I do try po just like what you did I do it by writing them a letter because I still feel uncomfortable telling them directly

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least you tried even not verbally. :) Naappreciate na yun nila. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Luckily for you that you realized the importance of appreciating your parents however i still have to work on improving this aspect of my personality.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least you're doing something to improve. :) That's good enough. Hope you have the courage to show them soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same realization. Now that I am already a mom of my own, I came to realise why sometimes my mom is so grumpy and nagger before, and that's because she also felt tired and exhausted from all the chores and being a mom to six children's. They really deserves our appreciation, love and care as they never stops caring and loving us as their love has no ending.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, same with my Mom. And I got amazed how other mothers managed their children without the help of others. While it was so hard to handle one baby. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Appreciation and realization in life When we get to experience what they experience back then raising us. I personally cant relate as I grew up with a broken family, dont know the feeling of having one but then again, I have my mom with me. Anyway ikaw pala si shullzz hahah shock ako pag click ko sa contnt mo sa noise.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's the sad part of our life if we're on the broken family. Anyway, you have your Mom, so make her feel special nalang. Especially that she take the role both of being a Mom and Dad. As for my noise.cash account shulzz, ako nga yun haha. Gulat ka? 🀭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yep shes my hero, oo na shock ako hahaha bago lang kasi ako dito sa read.cash eh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya naman pala haha, pero pano yung gulat? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung pwede lang mag lagay ng mukha , pakita ko pano ang gulat kong mukha hahahaa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede yan, post mo sa noise.cash daliii hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nako sorry cant post it on noise, anonymous akong tao, napaka secret ng mga detalye tongko sakin ahahhaa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, di man lang pagbigyan. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While our parents are still alive, let's show them they truly matter! Beautifully presented po!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true. Sad part today of appreciating our parents, is when they're gone. So make time while they can feel our love and care. :) Thanks for appreciating, btw.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We tend to appreciate our parents more when we are in their shoes. The love is overflowingπŸ’–πŸ’•πŸ’žπŸ’πŸ’—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So true. It's different when we also experienced what they were before.

$ 0.00
1 year ago