Let yourself learn other Filipino Languages/ Dialects

19 31
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Good evening dreamers!! Another Saturday night for us. This day reminds me that I overcome the struggles in the past week and now, I am here still kicking and alive. Despite of those negativities and overthinking, I hope that everyone keeps their positive mindset cause believe me, it can help you through. But since it is also weekend, I also expecting that each of us will take a pause and get enough sleep that we deserve. You did a great job for this week, so reward your self a rest tonight.


My topic tonight is so unexpected. Earlier, I admit that I can't still think a good topic to be discuss but after talking to my college friend's Mom, suddenly this idea pop up. I called my friend to asked an update about our report but her Mom is the one who answered the phone. Of course, I greet her and asked where is her daughter. Surprisingly, she speak a language that I can't understand and her tone is like that she is mad. I said to her that I can't really get it what she said since I can't understand the language but she still keep using that word. So I just told her that I will call later then I hang up the phone. I even asked myself if she is mad on me or did I say something bad? An hour after, that friend called me and I told her about what happened between me and he Mom. For real, she is laughing out loud haha. She said that her Mom is not on me, it is only her normal voice and tone. They used " Waray" inside their home since her mother can't speak Tagalog fluently. I was like ohhh, so it's Waray pala. On the other hand, her mother also thought the same way. She thought that I hang up the phone because I'm mad on her. This language barrier that happens results to a not so good first impression to each other.

I also opt to think that this scene is one of the reason why we should let ourselves to learn other dialects or languages. Besides Filipino and English, I also able to learn and understand 6 other international languages which includes Arabic, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Italian and Spanish. But I failed to learn dialects we have here in our country. I believe that Philippines consist of variety of languages and dialects. Although Filipino can easily learn English, I think it is also a must for us to know and understand their own dialects especially if you have a goal to travel around our country. One of the dialect/ language that I really want to learn is Bisaya since I know a lot of people who speak this one. Not only in this platform but also most of my college classmates. I also believe that by allowing ourselves to learn other Filipino dialects can help us to preserve and nourish the culture that Philippines have. And basically because more on my travel bucketlist places is literally speak Bisaya language.

Another good point why you should let yourself to learn other Filipino dialects is it opens to many opportunities and you can easily interact with a different kind of people without hesitating what language to used. This way, you can also let yourself to discovered the beautiful culture and history we have. So if you have a chance to learn and understand other languages, just grab that opportunity. It would help you for sure. Now, I'm asking my other friends to teach me some of the basic words on their dialects. I'm on the process of learning so I can't still speak it fluently. But I hope that I will be improve on it.

So I guess that's all for tonight's blog. Salamat kaayo and have a great night ahead!


5
$ 3.17
$ 3.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.01 from @Adrielle1214
+ 1
Sponsors of Mayiee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I am fluent at Visayan(bisaya) and Hiligaynon(ilonggo) dialect. Tagalog is given since we all know how to speak it. Hehe! I want to learn Chavacano, Zamboangeños dialect. It’s a Spanish like dialect, that maybe can make me leArn Spanish a little bit faster.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hello, so are you a Filipino pala, I thought you are from other country hehe. Yep, I also want to learn those dialects from Mindanao region but I first attempt to learn Bisaya for now haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It’s super easy to learn bisaya. Hehe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning the local language is fun. I belong to an Urdu-speaking family but now I can speak Punjabi, Hindko, and sairiki as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woow, that ohter languages is very new to me but that I hewed about Urdu before

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know ilocano but the convo wise needs improvement hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bisaya ako yie and sa Phillipine language tagalog lang din yung naiintindihan ko. Meron talagang mga dialect na hindi ko maintindihan I think somewhere in Mindanao although bisaya yung karamihan dun pero meron akong kakilala na yung language nila iba hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap nga po nung sa may parteng Mindanao, marami po talaga dialects dun like Chavacano na nahihirapan din po ako dun hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako guato ko din sana matuto ng ibang dialect kaso mo, katamad ko naman. Kaya iwas nalang ako makipag talk kapag bisaya or other dialect huehue

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahah sabagay mas madali ka ateng umiwas kesa mag-aral Ng dialects nila hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha mas super easy talaga yan HAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great article, I have difficulties speaking people language but when it comes to understanding it, I do try

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Langga hehe bisaya ako. Hindi ako nakakaintindi ng Waray. Ilonggo marunong din ako. Waray may mga words sila na ilonggo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy ang astig ate, ako po Tagalog lang po talaga since Yun lang din po gamit sa province namin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

San probinsya niyo langga? Marunong ako mag ilonggo langga dahil papa ko ilonggo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Quezon and Batangas po ate which is Tagalog lang din po ginagamit. Ala eh lang po sa amin haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga pala langga. Tagalog lang din pala ang language sa mga lugar na iyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True yan bhe dami kasi natin dialects kya minsan ndi tayo nagkakaintindihan, and some sinaunang tao/ninuno or mgulang natin ndi marunong ng Tagalog kya no choice tlga kundi mag-aral ng iba-ibang dialects

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True ate kelangan both of us mag adjust po para magkaintindihan man lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago