It's not my Job to be Likable, the only Job I have is to be Myself

6 36
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Good evening dreamers!! How's your Sunday? I really hope that you are doing well. I'm also hoping that you able to find some rest yet you still productive somehow. I don't have a voice now since we also did some karaoke last night and most of the songs that we sing have high notes such as those song of Moiressete. But don't expect too much, I don't have a good voice haha. I'm only a trying hard singer.


While I am listening to Olivia Rodrigo's songs earlier because I feel like I am broken today haha, there's something pop up on the screen. I don't know if it is an advertisement or campaign but I love what I read to that particular screen. It said that " It is not my Job to be Likable but it is my Job to be Myself" were my title came from. The moment I read that, the only thing that I said is " Exactly". I don't know if you are agree with it but I believe that we don't have the obligation to others to like us. Because sometimes even we are too kind to them, they will still say something bad to us. So it's better if we show the real us unless be didn't fake ourselves to them.

What is the feeling of being likable? How to be likable? Is myself enough to be likable to others? Maybe this is some questions that we once ask to ourselves.

To impress or to express? Basically, I am in the part that want to express the real thoughts and feelings I have. I don't bother myself to impress someone especially that I know that it is not me. I don't want to portrayed someone who is not really me. Believe me, it is so tiring and suffocating when you show the personality that doesn't fit the real you. It seems like you push to wear size 6 shoes even you are aware that you are size 8. The real thing is people should like you because of what you are, not because of what they want to see from you. You should not push yourself to be in their circles if you know to yourself that it is not you. If they really treat you as one of them, definitely they accept you for who you are. Others might say that their goals is to impress someone especially those who belittle them but I think the best way to do that is by proving to them that you can still be happy and successful by being you. That you didn't need to be someone just to be accepted in this world. The right person will hugs you despite on your flaws and insecurities.

" My only job is to be myself". I know it is hard for someone to show their true self especially if they are surrounded with toxic people. I know how hard it is because at some point, I also experience that before. But I realize that it's not beneficial for me because I only let them to dictate what should I do in life. Yeah it's hard but I choose to show the Real Mayiee. I also realize that I should not change my whole being to become likable to them. If she/he didn't like me, okay. The right circle will surely be drawn to the type of energy you have so you don't have to worry about faking something that you aren't.

On the other hand, don't also forget that being yourself doesn't mean that you will be treating them base on what you want. Still, you should show respect and be kind to them. Don't let your personality deprive someone else being. " Ang totoong tao, nagpapakatao" so be yourself but don't forget to be also a real human, to show humanity. You shall flourish despite what people thinks about you.


Appreciation!!

Thank you dreamers for another day of supporting me. To my sponsors, readers and commenters, Thank you so much for always motivating me to continue my path here. Have a great night ahead!!

7
$ 0.64
$ 0.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Bisolammy
$ 0.01 from @Jeansapphire39
Sponsors of Mayiee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

True! In short you cannot please everyone to like us. Diyan mo makikita ang tunay na kaibigan ksi tanggap ka langga kung ano ka.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ito yung palagi sinasabi ko sa anak ko yie since dalaga na yung eldest ko na kailangan kapag meron siyang mga freind ay piliin niya yung hindi siya gagamitin I mean alam naman natin kabataan ngayon may mga circle of friends sila kaya sinasabi magpakatotoo lang siya palagi sa sarili niya kung may ayaw sa kanya huwag ipilit ang kanyang sarili.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree with you Mayiee :) We don't need to please other people to like us, we have to do things based on what we are and who we are. We don't need the approval of others.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree. We only have ourselves to please.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're very right. Trying to be likable is not needed. I always love to be myself. I won't force anyone to like me. I enjoy being myself and I will continue to be

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ang saya naman nun langga. Nagkaraoke pala kayo last night. Na miss ko na mag karaoke langga. Yan talaga din uso sa province namin yung kantahan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago