Can I still be successful if the people around are not happy about it?

6 36
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Good evening dreamers!! Another weekend is here again. But how's your Friday? I hope that since it is Friday, you can able to find some rest. Take a break if your body really need to. Don't be too selfish on yourself, prioritize your health always.


In the middle of the discussion, my Professor suddenly asked us " Could you still considered yourself as successful if the people around you are not happy about it?" It so sudden and unexpected to us. Our topic is all about investment then he suddenly asked this one. Actually, I already heard that same question somewhere but I didn't remember where I watched it. Since we are in open cam, we can see each other reactions. We are surprised, seems like thinking about if our Professor is brokenhearted right now or what. Then there is one classmate who voluntarily raised his hands to answer the question. .

" I can say that I am not successful if the people around me are not happy because I worked so hard to become successful for them. My success is also their success. And if they are not happy about it, I think that success is nonsense at all".

Honestly, I can fully understand were he came from. He have a point there, some people pushed themselves too hard to become successful because they want others to be proud of them. We can't invalidate his answer since we all know from the start that we study so hard because we want to be successful in life. And this success will not also for ourselves but also to the people who is precious to us such as our family and friends.

" I don't need someone's validation to say that I am successful in life."

A short but a deep answered came from my other classmate. Though she didn't explain it further, I already understand her point. The impact of that answer brought us to silence. At some point, it is somehow connected to my answer to that question. So I deep breathe before raising my hand. I also want to share my thoughts about it. Sometimes, speaking out your thoughts is actually good so other people will somehow learn or realize your thoughts.

" Nevertheless, I can still considered myself as successful even the people around me are not happy at all. Why? It simple because not all of them really wants us to be successful. Crab mentality. Some people don't want us to be the same level as them or they don't want us to be above on them. They might not be happy because they want to be superior than us. But one thing you should asked to yourself is are you happy with that success? If you are happy then it's good but if you are not happy about it, well there's a problem with it. Maybe you just called it success because you saw them applauding with you. Remember that you can say that it is a true success if you are happy with it. "

And by that answer, many also shared their thoughts about the question. Most of us agree on what I say. They even said that as long as we are not hurting or damaging someone's feelings or whole being, we can still considered ourselves as happy. Some shared that we can't totally say that we are successful since the world is not only about us, you should also considered the people around you. Admit it or not, you still need them somehow. You know what we are not intriguing or judging each other side, in fact we are happy to exchange our thoughts. Basically, it is normal to have different opinions in the same issue. Even our Professor admire us for sharing our perspective. He said that he asked that so our class will be awaken somehow. And he immediately continue the discussion proper. He really knows how to get our attention and focus. We asked about his thought about his question but he only answered " You already mentioned my answer to it " hahaha. But it is a good thing also that we talked about this kind of stuffs and to hear each other side, so we can evaluate the both side. And through this, we can communicate and get well know each other. It's been a good Friday to end for m because of that. But if you would answer the same question, what would be your opinion? I also want to hear your thoughts about it hihi.


Appreciation!!

Thank you dreamers for another day of supporting me. Thank you to everyone who never get tired to read, drop a comment and visit my articles daily. It's a big motivation to me. Thank you so much and have a peaceful sleep later!!

4
$ 1.00
$ 0.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
Sponsors of Mayiee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mayiee
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

You never have to be bothered by others in pursuing your dreams. You live for yourself, and not for them. They are capable to criticize you, but they never hold your future. Go, and chase your dream! ♥️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If the people around you are not happy of your success ,it means they are envy to you. Okay lang ,maging masaya tayo sa success natin ,whats important is walang tayong inapakan na ibang tao.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I totally agree with your contribution and that is the truth. We owe no man our success and for the fact that others aren't happy doesn't mean we aren't successful. We all have different races to go through. Though there are people who wants to see us achieving great things — these are definitely the amazing people who wouldn't want to see us settling for less. But above all, let's remember no one is responsible for our success, but God. Do your own and let me do mine.

Those who aren't happy are only being jealous and nothing more. As long as you are happy with your success, every other things doesn't matter.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I mean, who cares about other people. I am the one who work hard to be where I am right now, no one else but me. Other people opinion ia not needed at all specially if it's is my life that we are talking.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

💯 totally agree with you ate, sabe nga nila " My body, my life, my rules".

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your success has nothing to do with them. Go and work for the dream you long. Don't let other people who dislike you to be successful distract you. They will just end up destroying your peace and as a result, you can no longer focus on your goals.

$ 0.01
1 year ago