The Cabal....

9 29
Avatar for Maxline
2 years ago

Hey read.cashers, how are you? Hope your day was good and not as intriguing as mine? I certainly hope not. Setting out to school this morning as usual, I thought it was just going to be another school day (although, I should have known better).

Well, to fully grasp what I am about to tell, lets go back one day (and a little further, maybe a year or two). So, late yesterday my class rep scheduled a meeting for today, so the class can iron out some issues and obligations imposed on us by the Faculty . Over time, experience has taught me not to say much in these kinds of meeting because it always end the same way: in chaos.

Let me quickly and give you a little background story. I am currently studying for a degree in Aquaculture and Fisheries Management (a five-year programme). During my 100LeveI(freshman year), I was pretty isolated, as I was a hardcore introvert (I remember not saying up to 20 sentences to my parents in a space of three years. I was that bad. Looking back now, It’s kind of funny😂😂). But in my 200L, I kind of well, let’s say started leaving my nest, it was mostly because of one person really, why I thought I could or should make that exception for her, I still can’t answer. Well, the thing is over the next two years, I made a number of friends (note : I am extremely particular about those I call friends). In that two years, I made just five friends, of course there were a lot of acquaintances, but I never saw anybody other than the five as friends.

Back to present day. Like every other day, I walked to school with my friends. On getting there, I opened the storeroom of the farm and did all my coordinator morning duties ( yea, I forgot to tell you, I was appointed the student farm coordinator of my university experimental farm at the beginning of the semester), while every other person was doing an assignment on what was given two weeks ago, to be submitted today ( as per we are unserious students).

At about 10:00am, the meeting that was called the day before, scheduled for today finally got underway. A lot of items on the agenda were laid out ( not discussed), a number of us had objection, but were respectfully bidding our time. We had been asked by our professor to spawn in four groups as we had four hatchery tanks available ( but two needed repairs, very costly repairs at that). My class rep, out of his own wisdom said that the two groups who picked the two bad tanks were going to fix it themselves (me in my head: Yeye talk), and at that point, the objections began to fall. The two groups would have nothing of it, and the other two would not have it any other way.

At this point, people were no longer careful about their choice of words, but interestingly myself and my friends stayed out of it. But they had to just pull our legs (because that is the real intent of every meeting we have ever had in the past three years). The table was been gradually set, when one of my friends called Gift was accused of trying to question the class rep’s decision. Another of my friend and @Mhizutty was accused of lack of financial transparency. The table was ready and the bombshell came: me and my friends had been accused of imposing our will on a class( 5 students imposing on 40, shameful talk). In a matter of minutes, we had gone from being just friends to being a CABAL(as christened by someone right there in the meeting) . It was really hilarious. If I was to detail this story, it would be so long rusty will be forced to walk past it 😂😂.

Let me introduce you to the cabal. There’s the dick, Gift, there’s the angel @Mhizutty, the funny one @Kushyzee, the I can’t kill myself one, Karen, and there’s me, just me. Five friends who chose to dedicate their time, money, strength, body and soul to do that which they came to school for: learn, and for this, they had earned the respect of every staff member of the department, and for this the five had earned the hatred of the forty. I will complete this story tomorrow as my eyes are red and really heavy.

Closing thoughts

You may not have the whole story yet, but one thing you can take from what you have so far, is that not everyone will like you, no matter what. As a matter of fact, if too many people like you, you are doing something wrong, like allowing yourself to be used/taken advantage of.

3
$ 0.14
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.04 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 1
Sponsors of Maxline
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Maxline
2 years ago

Comments

I was called and angel🙈. Anyways, its true that everyone cannot ever like you. I usually get hated from Afar most times, which I find funny because if you knew me you'd know that I'm a darling!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your class rep funny o. So he dey expect make una just accept am without any objection 😂 na mumu dem dey like

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The thing nor tire you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great that you guys stood out for it, I think it's just unfair, i would do the same. I don't care if the forty hates me. Anyway, i hope you guys pulled it off.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sure going to tell you that when i finish the story today

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true, everyone can't like us except they are expecting something from us and after they get that thing, they begin to hate again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

On point

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People will always like to pull you down when you get to a higher position than them but their plan won't work. I don't know where the bitterness is coming from, but holding such a thing in their mind and over a long period of time is really funny because on the long run, it won't even affect us and we will keep going higher

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Them nor know

$ 0.00
2 years ago