Until We Learn How To Do Them By Ourselves And For Ourselves

10 66
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
2 years ago

My opinion on why Africa is impoverished

Some are born with golden spoon in their hand, while some are born without any spoon. That there are some without spoon from birth doesn’t mean that there’re no spoons around, it could be that there’s no one to drop the spoon in their hands.

Opportunity remains for everyone to pick a spoon of his choice. Blacks or Africa has grown to discern between good and evil, and to know what’s best for them.

This is how I see some countries of Africa; I see them as people without golden spoon in their hands from birth, but they have gold. Now, some of this countries are expected to to have known better by now, but yet they’re playing oversight with their future.

If you have gold, go ahead and make for yourself a golden spoon of your choice. Most countries of Africa are rich with natural resources but yet they’re still impoverished.

We black people refused to see life from the right perspective. It’s my earnest desire to see this narrative changed. An average black man thinks that his problem is just money in his pocket. Poverty in Africa has changed many people’s perception of life; an average black man thinks that his problem is poverty. And anytime he sees money around him, he think he has arrived.

So an average number of Africans are only trying to escape poverty, so escaping poverty has become our main reason for living. This is not right in my opinion. I think we need to change our view of life. Becoming economically stable starts the day we realize the importance of solving problems and not creating problems, producing more and consuming less, importing less but creating more to meet our demands.

Creativity and invention capabilities lies in bosom of the wise.

What is difficult about this piece of rod that my country goes on to import?


I went to a shopping mall to pick a toilet tissue hanger for my bathroom, and I noticed that it’s ‘made in China’ product. I also noticed that a piece would cost me $6 to secure; so I’ll need up to $24 to purchase 4 pieces that I need. I looked for ‘made in Nigeria’ toilet tissue hanger but found none.

I wept inside of me considering the fact that my country imports almost everything that they’re using, and yet producing millions of graduates each year on numerous professionalism. Those graduates ends up becoming consumers like their predecessors, no one produces nothing. I later picked just one of toilet hangers. My purpose was to take it home and examine it so that I can build the remaining 3 by myself seeing that there’s no spectacular thing about it.

I also went to pick some curtain hangers, and experienced same; I couldn’t find ‘made in Nigeria’ curtain hangers. All hangers were imported from foreign countries, and very expensive for that matter. It was a humbling experience for me, and I went home sad.

Coming back home, I decided to build curtain hangers by myself and for myself; doing such by myself could save hundreds of dollars for me considering the number of curtains needed in my house.

Having a creative mind is the beginning of prosperity in my opinion. So I looked for some pieces of aluminum offcuts from my workshop; yes, my house is my workshop, and it’s where I conduct many experiments.

I opted making my curtain hangers from this leftover materials

Living life in some part of Africa could be so hard and expensive; especially in a country where almost all their markets is filled with imported goods. I’ve decided to solve most of my basic needs by myself without spending much in imported materials.

I realized that I needed just a few aworking tool to construct enough curtain hangers for my building need.

Why should I spend hundreds of dollars in something as simple as it is?

I went ahead and cut the leftover alluminum profile to the measurements that could form my desired curtain hangers.

I started with the base.

After slicing the materials to my desired measurements, I formed the base by cutting some portion those profiles and bending the angle into 2 opposite sides. As shown from the picture, this base was drilled a hole 🕳 on it to enable screws pass through to the wall.

Cutting out hanging positions for the pole

The next stage was the creation of spaces that holds curtain poles. I spent few hours and was able to form all hangers needed for my windows.

I was able to build something that could have taken hundreds of dollars if I should go for the imported ones.

Life is meant to be lived simple, but humans decided to complicate many things; making things difficult for many. The ability to make and create things in Africa and use them in Africa is the same ability that can take us out of impoverishment.

At the end, I was able to hang all my curtains

I noticed that my own version of curtain hanger comes stronger than those imported ones. Though I still lack tools to make this as these smoother and polished products, but one can improve from doing it this casual way.

I was able to solve a problem without spending much

I’ll advise my fellow Africans, especially those in mismanaged economic countries to stand their ground and change many things to good. We should start thinking on ways to create and build wealth rather than consuming things all the times.

It’s unfortunate that our leaders has become so insensitive to honesty and genuine love for their people; they prefer enriching themselves with public money, and sending those money back to their colonial lords who ends up lending them back their money.

It’s unfortunate that some African people doesn’t feel good seeing their people prosper, they’re easily enticed by filthy lucre and selfish interests. He prefers to kill his brother instead of seeing him prosper.

If I were the president of my country.

I’m still surprised why the obvious things to do by the government which can turn our country around for good doesn’t cross the mind of our leaders; or is it that they posses seared consciences and becomes so stiff-necked.

If I eventually becomes the president of my country Nigeria, the first thing that I’ll do is to stop crude oil exports and foreign refineries work. It’s a shameful thing for me that my (rich) country doesn’t have working refineries, and our government prefers to sell our crude to foreign countries and end up buying it back from them. So if I were to make policies for my country, I’ll stop crude export and enhance refineries. Nigeria is a big market that can consume whatever that is produced in Nigeria, by Nigeria for Nigeria.

It’s ill not to be patronizing locally made products. Our leaders would prefer to spend billions on Medicare abroad instead of fixing our health care system. So if I am the president, I’ll put to a stop leaders going abroad for medical treatment.

Conclusion

Africa should unite and stop fighting each other. Africa should be ready to fight corrupt leadership. Africa should start thinking of industrialization and self reliance; building what they need by themselves, employing Africans, and stop importing and consuming foreign products.


15
$ 23.40
$ 22.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.11 from @Telesfor
$ 0.20 from @Amazing-grace
+ 2
Sponsors of Maxdevalue.BCH
empty
empty
Avatar for Maxdevalue.BCH
2 years ago

Comments

The truth is that people sometimes refused to see life from the right way. Thanks so much for your support , I am reading your articles for the first time , these enables me to go deep into my mind thinking on the way to create and build wealth for my country Nigeria, rather than consuming things all the time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know about your positive vibes on making things work for you and for the next person (your neighbor)

Wishing you all the best that life offers OfficiaIrosh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much sir , I really appreciate you ❤️❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If some other people like you are present in Nigeria I bet they will change the whole situation in the Nigeria. As one(1) person is one and two person become 1 and 1 become 11. I mean when one(1) and one(1) Combine thy become eleven (11). When other people like you combine and become such a strong force that can change everything. But first we have to walk alone then people join us. And I am happy that finally I meet a people that thought unique things and all rounder by makin things. You are a great observer and made things by analysing them. And it is really true that country's progress based on the import and export. As one who export more will be more rich country. Who import more will become poor. I think it is enough ☺️ You are great thinker.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great points there Abdullah143. Togetherness is strength! Then fairness is bond. We need sincere leaders to fix the mess in our land.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is Awesome Word and I really appreciate you dear friend This is one of the best article today which i read morning Sometimes I read different article different stories like you This is tremendously nice

You can change everything because you have a enthusiasm to ChaNGe you're life to change the country but you can have a just regularity

Best wishes for you Best of luck Have a Good Day dear

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I appreciate your courage and kind words. Thanks for those good wishes Abdul.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. This is a standard article. I am perplexed. More anointing sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Toda nación debería estar unida y así combatir y luchan contra todo lo corructo y lo mal echo. Sean valientes y levantense contra cada corructo.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

¡Estás absolutamente en lo correcto! Veo la corrupción como una enfermedad mortal en nuestra sociedad. Gracias gracias por comentar. Soy fuerte para enfrentar las críticas al hacer lo correcto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago