Time to Move On

8 34
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

I am reading a book about being offended and I stumbled upon a section that encourages the reader to move on. Move on from what? 

I am already a few chapters away from finishing the book The Bait of Satan written by John Bevere and I have gleaned a lot of insights that helped me realize a lot - from ministry, relationships, personal growth, and emotional management. But when the author talked about moving on from relationships that keep us hanging and are no longer helping us grow, it struck a chord. 

For context, I have a set of friends whom I used to hang out with since we were scrawny teenagers. We went on camps together, did ministries together, had fun sleepovers, and many more! 

But after college, things slowly went differently. As social media calls it, life happens. We had to look for jobs, some pursued a second course, and all of us had to take the steering wheel of our careers. We have to let go of our easygoing life. 

Then a few more years passed and half of the bunch are now married, including me. Though we have been each others' groomsmen, it can't be helped to notice that we all have different lives to live now. Schedules are now tight, permissions have to be secured. We can't meet without considering our calendars, as well as our budget!

We are already full-fledged adult men.

Back to the book. It mentioned moving on from the past. Whenever I am asked about my most memorable days, I always look back to the times when I was still a youth full of energy and time to spend with my peers. I consider those moments as my peak. The idea that it is my "best" has been living in my head rent-free for years - because that's what I think it is!

But I was rebuked that it doesn't have to be. I have to move on because people have already moved on. As of now, God has given me new people to spend my life with. Not to mention my wife who claims the most important spot, but I have met equally amazing people who are surrounding me and showering me with their presence now. 

There's no harm in looking back and reminiscing the good old days, but it becomes a drag when instead of pushing forward, it keeps you from seeing what's in front of you. And we all know what happens when you keep on looking back - you miss what's ahead, and there's a great chance of you stumbling. 

To be fair with my old friends, they are still around. They are just a message away. On my worst days, and at my best, they are around. But I can't demand them to stay stuck in the past like me. We have our callings to fulfill. Friendships don't end just because we no longer do the things we usually do. Friendships end when we choose to - and we chose not to! We still keep in touch, and we are still rooting for each other. We may not be meeting each other as often as we were teenagers, but we are friends no matter what.

And we are allowed to expand our horizons by meeting other people. It's time to move on from the memories of the past and start creating new ones. Life is dragging and incarcerating if we choose to stay stuck in the past when we have a beautiful life awaiting us ahead. 

How about you, are you stuck in your past? Join me in embracing new experiences. It's time to move on! 

5
$ 0.74
$ 0.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

That's okay, Kuya. It is fine to reminisce the past but don't ever stay on it especially if it's not a good memories. Me? I also do that kind of reminiscing as long as it will make me smile. ✨

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, no benefit in staying in the past especially if it drags you down

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's okay to look back in thr past pero wag masayong mag focus dun. Move on and look what's ahead of us. Let's continue to move forward, to the future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree. To the future! :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My friends also are like that, we can't spend time together just like old times because they have also their choose path in life, that they need to pursue to keep them going.

Sometimes I feel bad about it, but your right, we need to keep moving on, and also there are new people that we can meet along the way, who will become a new set of friends too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The good thing is, our circle expands as we meet new friends

$ 0.00
1 year ago

aww. You'll realize that everything is different when you reach a certain age and point in life. My high school friends always used to think that we will live in the same city until we get old or be neighbors one day. We would always recall moments when we were in high school. Now we are somehow sad that we will have to be apart, one will be going out of the country and I am in another province. Apart or not, our hearts are still connected like we are sisters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's good that you are still connecting with each other :) It's a gem to find friends for keeps!

$ 0.00
1 year ago