This is Why We Play

3 29
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

When I was still a child, I used to watch other kids playing video games. I haven't experienced owning a PlayStation so I satisfy myself watching them enjoy their games. During those times, the most popular games were Resident Evil series, Silent Hill, Rampage, Final Fantasy, and Brigandine. I told myself that when I grow up and land a job, I will play all the games I want to. 

Photo Credits: Unsplash.com

I am already a working adult, though I haven't the luxury of time to play all the games I want to. However, whenever I have the chance, I do open gaming apps. This is to the surprise of those who know me. All along they thought that I am just a book person - which is true! I love books and I will choose books any time of the day. But I do play, and I love video games. Here's why:

It is a form of celebration

I play video games whenever I finish a daunting task and I want to celebrate my little wins. When I have a pocket of time and I don't have anything to do, I celebrate with my favorite games. Games are perfect after a very tiring meeting, or after completing an exhausting bank reconciliation. You don't have to bore yourself to work and no play. From time to time, reward yourself. It doesn't hurt to be like a child and play like a child. 

It relaxes you

Playing video games can be relaxing. After a tiring day's work and before you snooze off to bed, have a few rounds of your favorite NBA game. Just don't abuse your body, else you'll end up tired than you should be. Play in moderation for relaxation. 

It stimulates your mind

Doing quests and challenges stimulates your mind. It is likened to a puzzle, it exercises your decision-making and improves your critical thinking. I love playing Role Playing Games, especially those with lots of riddles and puzzles and tricky storylines. It stimulates me and energizes me. If you have played Resident Evil before, there are lots of keys, riddles and, mazes you have to get through to finish the game, which makes it more challenging and exciting.  

It is a break from your usual routine

Our daily routine is like this: you wake up early, take your breakfast, take a bath, go to the office or school, do your stuff, get home, be a loving family member for a few hours then sleep. The next day is another round to do the same routine. It's just a little different now that we are still in a pandemic, but you get what I'm saying. It's the same thing every day. Playing video games is the break we can always accommodate so we will not get burned out by our recurring, boring, and routine dailies. 

It recharges you

Once you have rested your system from the tedious work you had the previous day, you are now ready to face another workload. Your rest may include playing video games. We are trichotomous beings - we have body, soul, and spirit. We do not just rest our physical bodies, we also rest our spiritual and emotional selves. I believe at least a healthy me-time (which may include playing your favorite games) is commendable. It recharges and prepares you for more of life.

Just a word of caution. Excessive time playing video games is not recommended. It is harmful and unproductive. Play only when time permits you to do so. Play when you got nothing more important to do. Don't let gaming take over your life. There are more valuable things to do than just leveling up your character. 

Play in moderation. 

What's your favorite game?


Hi, I am Marts! I am a writer, and aside from my stint here in read.cash, I also have my own blog - martsvalenzuela.com. I appreciate it if you pay me a visit! I plan on growing my readership as I learn to improve my craft and journey towards my passion to write and publish books that add value to people.

Let's rock!

7
$ 5.58
$ 5.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @lerkfrend
Sponsors of Marts
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Marts
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

i'm a big fan of deckbuilding card games like Magic: the Gathering and Hearthstone. i've also been playing a fair amount of low-stakes poker recently at https://blockchain.poker

it's great to have a mind exercise that is low stress but still engaging. games are perfect for this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember there are cards accompanied by tiny figures that one has to collect. Is this the one you're referring to? I love collecting Pokemon cards before, though I dont know the game mechanics hehe.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

there were no tiny figures, it is very similar to the Pokemon card game.

$ 0.00
3 years ago